We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palazzo Gamba
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Duomo Firenze(Florence)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Bigallo(Florence)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Costantini(Florence)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villani(Florence)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Spadai(Florence)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Benivieni(Florence)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
De Lanzi(Florence)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Perseo(Florence)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
239
55
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
55
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo bedroom apartmentmain bedroombedrooms and two bathroomsspacious living areabeautiful duomoincluding a coffee machinethese apartmentscentral locationwell equipped kitchenoutstanding locationperfect apartmentnoisy at nightself cateringcan't beat the locationbit datedplace to stayolive oil
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

On our first night when our hotel had water problems, they booked us here instead. We were scared as to what we would find but were pleasantly surprised and did not want to leave!The hotel is located in the heart of Florence by the Duomo. The rooms were large and charming, and they gave us a free bottle of wine! In addition, the front desk staff were very accommodating and super-friendly.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you very much for your rewiew, we hope to see you again in Palazzo Gamba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The location of Palazio Gamba couldn't be better. Staying at Palazio Gamba you are at the center of everything. The view of the Duomo outside your window is breath taking. The rooms are spacious, clean and attractive. Marco, the property manager, and his staff are so friendly and helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants were superb. They kept my luggage, found a new room for me when I wanted to visit Tuscany and arrange for a taxi to come in the early hours to take me and my suitcases to the airport. It was like clockwork. I didn't have to worry about anything, but to enjoy the beauty of Florence/Firenzia. Please don't tell anyone about this wonderful jewel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic rewiew, we hope to see you again in Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We are stayed in the 5th floor apartment facing the Duomo, and it was absolutely amazing. The view was superb, and we can just sip some coffee while people watching. It was a very nice experience. The apartment itself was also very clean and well decorated. The towels they provided were also of good quality.

Location wise, it was unbeatable. Right at the center of everything. Shops, eateries, souvenirs, Duomo, Baptistry, Campanile.

The staff of the hotel was also friendly, helpful, and spoke english very well. Overall, a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the Duomo!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you very much for your rewiew, we hope to see you again in Florence at Palazzo Gamba.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here with a bunch of friends. The location cannot be beat, right next t Duomo. The kitchens were well stock with pots dishes etc. We were able to get some things for breakfast and the odd lunch very close by at the market. The rooms were quiet and well maintained. It was kind of nice being in a place that has such history and timelessness.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fritz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Sirs,

Thank you veru much for your rewiew, the word "timelessness" is exatly what a guest needs to be impressed, about his experience in Palazzo Gamba.
We hope to see you next time.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We (wife, 13 year old daughter and myself) stayed at the Palazzo Gamba for 3 nights during August. Based on all the reviews we were really looking forward to our stay and we were not disappointed.
We drove from Rome and had arrange parking for our hire car with Nora via countless email (she was great in answering my MANY questions I emailed her) We were told in her email where to park as due to the central location you cannot park outside the apartments. Nora arranged for the car parking company to send someone to me to hand over the car which although I had to wait over 40mins I accepted that August is a very busy period in Florence.
We were given the Michelangelo suite which was HUGE and had a perfect view of the Duomo and the Baptistery.
During our stay we benefited from the central location and the high quality of these fantastic apartments.
Now for the payoff: As stated the location is both central and comes with one of the best views of Florence. However what comes with this location is that during some nights the noise from the local bars and restaurants was loud until the early hours which did keep my wife awake. I on the other hand was exhausted from the day’s heat (41 deg) and sightseeing so slept like a baby :-)
So is you are a light sleeper just bring some ear plugs and you will be fine. Please don’t let this put you off staying here, just come prepared. As in the daytime you will really benefit from this central location. We enjoyed coming back in the afternoon for a drink and loved opening the huge windows to enjoy the fantastic view and to people watch with the AC blowing on our faces..
Overall we all agreed that the Palazzo Gamba is perfect and would highly recommend it to anyone. Remember that you can’t have a central location with fantastic views and then moan about a little noise from the bars and restaurants that you yourself only hours before were enjoying.
Thanks again Nora for your high standard of service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brummy-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you very much for your positive rewiew. We hope to see you again in Florence.
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews