We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want to repeat the experience!”
Review of Palazzo Gamba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Gamba
Ranked #21 of 326 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Perfect location..glorious views.. our family apartment was unbelievable. It was spacious and well proportioned with casement windows opening out to the gorgeous cathedral and square.

If you are driving, it wont be easy to get close to.. (we drove through pedestrian areas illegally! Ignorance is bliss! Good old GPS!)..but Nora at reception was amazing, following me out to the car in the pouring rain (to my waiting clan) and organising for a local parking attendant to take the car. It was beyond what I'd describe as good service. Thanks again Nora.

Our 2 bedroom unit was private, beds firm but comfy, quality linen and the ceilings were gorgeous. The only complaints are that for the price we paid, the shower in the main ensuite should be fixed. It appears to be like that for some time. (There is a 'sorry" sign on the shower screen and I soon found out what the apology was for! I was trapped in the shower but my other half managed to get me out!) The fridge didn't seem to work either.. we didn't get around to saying anything because the people who work there are wonderful. Hey, there was also another nice shower to use anyway… I fondly think back to this hotel experience, remembering the gargoyles from the cathedral being almost within touching distance. Bliss.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BulldogsFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Sorry for the little problems in the room, just to know that we change the shower box, and, also we renovated the shutter, fridges. We already started step by step, a "road map", to renovate, when is possible, air conditionig, hot water, windows etc...,
We hope to see you again. Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

The location of the apartments is just perfect - next to the Duomo, centre of town and within walking distance from the railway station. We were there as a family and loved it. The kids had their own room and we had a lovely high ceiling room as a couple. The "living room and kitchen" was fairly large and comfortable. The staff - were very friendly and helpful. Great value for money and an ideal base for a Tuscan visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a two bedroom flat. Go for the high celinged floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you very much, for your positive rewiew, we hope to see you again in Florence. Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

On our first night when our hotel had water problems, they booked us here instead. We were scared as to what we would find but were pleasantly surprised and did not want to leave!The hotel is located in the heart of Florence by the Duomo. The rooms were large and charming, and they gave us a free bottle of wine! In addition, the front desk staff were very accommodating and super-friendly.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you very much for your rewiew, we hope to see you again in Palazzo Gamba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The location of Palazio Gamba couldn't be better. Staying at Palazio Gamba you are at the center of everything. The view of the Duomo outside your window is breath taking. The rooms are spacious, clean and attractive. Marco, the property manager, and his staff are so friendly and helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants were superb. They kept my luggage, found a new room for me when I wanted to visit Tuscany and arrange for a taxi to come in the early hours to take me and my suitcases to the airport. It was like clockwork. I didn't have to worry about anything, but to enjoy the beauty of Florence/Firenzia. Please don't tell anyone about this wonderful jewel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic rewiew, we hope to see you again in Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We are stayed in the 5th floor apartment facing the Duomo, and it was absolutely amazing. The view was superb, and we can just sip some coffee while people watching. It was a very nice experience. The apartment itself was also very clean and well decorated. The towels they provided were also of good quality.

Location wise, it was unbeatable. Right at the center of everything. Shops, eateries, souvenirs, Duomo, Baptistry, Campanile.

The staff of the hotel was also friendly, helpful, and spoke english very well. Overall, a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the Duomo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you very much for your rewiew, we hope to see you again in Florence at Palazzo Gamba.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here with a bunch of friends. The location cannot be beat, right next t Duomo. The kitchens were well stock with pots dishes etc. We were able to get some things for breakfast and the odd lunch very close by at the market. The rooms were quiet and well maintained. It was kind of nice being in a place that has such history and timelessness.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fritz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Sirs,

Thank you veru much for your rewiew, the word "timelessness" is exatly what a guest needs to be impressed, about his experience in Palazzo Gamba.
We hope to see you next time.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We (wife, 13 year old daughter and myself) stayed at the Palazzo Gamba for 3 nights during August. Based on all the reviews we were really looking forward to our stay and we were not disappointed.
We drove from Rome and had arrange parking for our hire car with Nora via countless email (she was great in answering my MANY questions I emailed her) We were told in her email where to park as due to the central location you cannot park outside the apartments. Nora arranged for the car parking company to send someone to me to hand over the car which although I had to wait over 40mins I accepted that August is a very busy period in Florence.
We were given the Michelangelo suite which was HUGE and had a perfect view of the Duomo and the Baptistery.
During our stay we benefited from the central location and the high quality of these fantastic apartments.
Now for the payoff: As stated the location is both central and comes with one of the best views of Florence. However what comes with this location is that during some nights the noise from the local bars and restaurants was loud until the early hours which did keep my wife awake. I on the other hand was exhausted from the day’s heat (41 deg) and sightseeing so slept like a baby :-)
So is you are a light sleeper just bring some ear plugs and you will be fine. Please don’t let this put you off staying here, just come prepared. As in the daytime you will really benefit from this central location. We enjoyed coming back in the afternoon for a drink and loved opening the huge windows to enjoy the fantastic view and to people watch with the AC blowing on our faces..
Overall we all agreed that the Palazzo Gamba is perfect and would highly recommend it to anyone. Remember that you can’t have a central location with fantastic views and then moan about a little noise from the bars and restaurants that you yourself only hours before were enjoying.
Thanks again Nora for your high standard of service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brummy-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you very much for your positive rewiew. We hope to see you again in Florence.
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Granduomo Charming Accomodation
San Marco
Residence Hilda
Residence Hilda
#7 of 326 in Florence
541 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#3 of 326 in Florence
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Alfani al David
Palazzo Alfani al David
#18 of 326 in Florence
385 reviews
Duomo
Be One Art and Luxury Home
Be One Art and Luxury Home
#9 of 326 in Florence
245 reviews
PopArtment
#20 of 326 in Florence
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Gamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Gamba

Address: Via De' Martelli 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 326 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: £82 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Gamba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
His property of luxury apartments and suites boasts an unrivalled and breathtaking location of the Duomo piazza, with Florence Duomo and Brunelleschi's dome almost within a touching distance. Palazzo Gamba offers apartments with view featuring charming Florentine style and all the latest comforts of home and beyond, including extremely clean and well equipped kitchens. Palazzo Gamba is designed to provide all the freedom of a private apartment, the comfort of full hotel services and plenty of space for individual and family vacations or group travellers. Palazzo Gamba apartments are surrounded by Florence's most beautiful attractions, romantic spots like Ponte Vecchio and some of the world's most important museums like the Uffizi Gallery, as well as internationally renowned boutiques, the most refined wine bars, restaurants, clubs and typical outdoor leather and food markets. Classic Apartments, for 2 persons, or Comfort Apartments, for 2-4- personsand Penthouse Suite 6 persons, all consist of a bedroom, a living room with kitchenette and bathroom. Apartments offer: Fully equipped kitchenettes with refrigerator, cooker, oven, microwave and dishwasher. Flat screen satellite TV (International channels available), Free WI-FI internet connection, direct dial telephones, air conditioning and heating, courtesy kit, bed linen and towels, air dryer and safe. Important information: the reception is open solely from 8 a.M. To 7 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Gamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Gamba Florence
Palazzo Gamba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing