We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful spot in Florence”
Review of Palazzo Gamba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Gamba
Ranked #21 of 300 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most wonderful spot in Florence”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Our family of four has stayed here two years in a row and cannot wait to return. I almost hate to post a great review in case in cannot get an apartment in the future!!!! The apartments are spacious, elegant, and clean. The location literally cannot be beaten. The staff, especially Marco, are so amazing and kind. They are helpful and knowledgeable, always ready with a smile. We ADORE Palazzo Gamba!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pagefamilymason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your rewiew, I promise to find a place also in the future for you.

Enjoy your stay at Palazzo Gamba.

Best Regards
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    52
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
148
60
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stumbled across the front door to these apartments when I found myself unexpectedly needing a last minute place to stay as members of my family had travel delays in getting to Italy. The pictures of the room outside the door made me look twice and upon seeing them I thought this was going to be over the top expensive given the location - right next to the Duomo with the most fantastic views. I decided to take a chance and after a disastrous day travelling and a day filled with uncertainty if my sister would arrive at all that day - and was greeted by Marco - who I refer to now as my Florence life saver. He turned my day around in an instant - gave me a 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor for a very reasonable rate for 3 of us and even said that if my sister and her boyfriend did not arrive he would decrease the rate and not move me from the large apartment. He then showed me around the large, spacious, beautiful apartment which was spotless and opened the shutters to reveal the view they are famous for - the beautiful Duomo and the apartment looked onto the main square. So not only was the apartment clean, modern and exceptional (I had stayed in an awful place on my prior visit for almost the same cost) - Marco was so friendly, went out of his way and nothing was a problem or an issue - so welcoming! Do yourself a favour - if you come to Florence- stay here...you have access to a well equipped kitchen in case you do not want to eat out all the time and views that do not require you to leave the room if you want to just sit on the sofa and drink wine taking in the view. Due to its amazing location, perhaps take ear plugs with you as the square in front of the Duomo seems to have people visiting it at all hours and the church bells do ring early - but this one tiny negative is well worth the overall experience. Thank you Marco, you really did make my day and I am so happy I took the chance and came and asked for a room!

Room Tip: Request the 3rd Floor with views if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKIRK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much for your rewiew. It was a pleasure welcoming you at Palazzo Gamba.

We hope to see you next time, to enjoy our City with all the family.

Thank you again
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Perfect location. Upgraded to two bedrooms, two bathrooms with windows that opened. View of Duomo right there! Agree that it can be a bit noisy at night, but worth it for the location and wonderful staff. They were available to answer any questions we had. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your rewiew, I hope to see you next time in Florence.

Thank you
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

How could you not be impressed by the first floor apartment with the balcony overlooking the Duomo. You could almost reach out of the bedroom to touch it. A location which means you can walk around to all the main sights and return for some lunch in your apartment. The Uffizzi is just down the square and make sure you book your tickets in advance so you can get in quickly. The staff on the reception were both really courteous and helpful. Well done the beds were comfortable and the apartment well equipped with blankets, hairdryer, dishwasher etc, everything we needed for a great stay. Thanks very much. It was cold when we came and the apartment was warn and cosy, well done

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your positive rewiew, we hope to see you again here in Florence.

Thank you
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

You couldn't really get a better location than Palazzo Gamba. Our spacious apartment looked right over the Duomo. Comfortable, clean and has everything you could want including a fully equipped kitchen. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you stay on the first floor you can have an apartment with a balcony looking over the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyEJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much, for the positive rewiew, I hope to see you again, at Palazzo Gamba.

Best Regards
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Magnificent view of the Duomo from the grand windows in this immaculate apartment setting with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms spacious living room perfect kitchen beautiful furniture. We especially loved the muraled ceilings in each room. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. I can't wait to return.....

Room Tip: There is not a bad view from any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali-flore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you very much for your rewiew, I wait for you as soon as possible, Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Superb accomodation in the heart of city and in the middle of points of interest.
Paintings on the walls and ceiling, and magnificient view to Duomo and Baptistry, help you to feel and imagine moments from rich middle age history of Florence. Appartment is fully equiped, very clean, fridge is loaded with welcome items and supermarket is very close.
Extraordinary manager will give you excellent support for all activities you plan during your stay. Feel free to ask. In case you have a car, parking issue is completely resolved by staff from moment of arrival.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nenad_Jovanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs J.,

Thank yhou very much for your rewiew, we wait for you! Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#59 of 411 in Florence
1,123 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,747 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#45 of 411 in Florence
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
510 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Gamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Gamba

Property: Palazzo Gamba
Address: Via De' Martelli 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 300 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Gamba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
His property of luxury apartments and suites boasts an unrivalled and breathtaking location of the Duomo piazza, with Florence Duomo and Brunelleschi's dome almost within a touching distance. Palazzo Gamba offers apartments with view featuring charming Florentine style and all the latest comforts of home and beyond, including extremely clean and well equipped kitchens. Palazzo Gamba is designed to provide all the freedom of a private apartment, the comfort of full hotel services and plenty of space for individual and family vacations or group travellers. Palazzo Gamba apartments are surrounded by Florence's most beautiful attractions, romantic spots like Ponte Vecchio and some of the world's most important museums like the Uffizi Gallery, as well as internationally renowned boutiques, the most refined wine bars, restaurants, clubs and typical outdoor leather and food markets. Classic Apartments, for 2 persons, or Comfort Apartments, for 2-4- personsand Penthouse Suite 6 persons, all consist of a bedroom, a living room with kitchenette and bathroom. Apartments offer: Fully equipped kitchenettes with refrigerator, cooker, oven, microwave and dishwasher. Flat screen satellite TV (International channels available), Free WI-FI internet connection, direct dial telephones, air conditioning and heating, courtesy kit, bed linen and towels, air dryer and safe. Important information: the reception is open solely from 8 a.M. To 7 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Gamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Gamba Florence
Palazzo Gamba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing