We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, friendly, helpful staff”
Review of Palazzo Gamba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Gamba
Ranked #25 of 311 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our room looked out into the duomo, yet the room was quiet when shutters were closed at night. Very clean, high ceilings, friendly, helpful staff! Wonderful place, would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear Caludia,

Thank you, from all the Staff, we'll wait for you next time.

Thank you
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Gamba
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Definitely the best location in Florence with a view over the forecourt of the Duomo. Marco is an excellent host and will take care of your needs promptly and cheerfully. We were there with another couple and made use of the two bedrooms and bathrooms. Ample space for us without tripping over each other. Splitting the cost made the apartment affordable otherwise it might be considered a little expensive. No toaster supplied but the oven grill works fine.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear John,

Thank you very much for your review, just to inform you that now our apartments have the Toaster, So we'll wait for you next time!

Thank you
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My "stay" started roughly, since due to a booking issue management put me in a nice nearby apartment (2 night stay). After the first night, they gave us a room - - with a fantastic view of the Duomo - - for free to use as we wished. Overall, an initially bad situation was more than compensated for. I would highly recommend Palazza Gamba due to the location, the rooms (many with views), and the proactivity of management (Marco)!

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get the view!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 771Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for your review, we'll wait for you directly at Palazzo Gamba next time.

Regards
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

So happy I picked this apartment. Everything about it was perfect. Great rooms, super view, brilliant service. The city noises at night were deadened by the ear plugs provided by Marco. The complimentary bottle of wine on arrival was much appreciated. We loved enjoying the view from the balcony. And the location meant it was so handy for dropping in for a break between sights and art galleries. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The first floor apartments have lovely balconies
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JanK439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear Mrs,

Thank you very much for your review, we'll wait for you next time.

Thank you
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The location of this apartment complex is perfect, we had a Duomo view with balcony, and having the magnificent cathedral right outside was just perfect! Also short walking distance to all the other major sights. Noise not an issue for us - from the back bedroom we couldn't hear a thing, front rooms were fine with the doors closed. Internet can be a little sporadic, but most of the time okay. Very happy with our choice and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear Tanya,

Thank you very much for your review, We'll wait for you soon

Best regards
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My family stayed in a two bedroom apartment. It had high ceilings and big windows that opened onto the main square. It was perfect. We could sit in our suite and sip wine and listen to all the activity below. The young woman who sat at the desk was very pleasant and helpful.
One minor issue that they can do nothing about is the noise level which can be rather loud although if you shut the windows it is not too bad.
One issue that they could probably fix is that the internet was not very good.
I still recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again at Palazzo Gamba, to have your new "Florentine Movie".

Thank you
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is very centrally located right across from the Duomo. Here are the good things about the hotel: Spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath, very clean, Marco the manager is absolutely delightful and helpful, a large free bottle of water and wine was provided. A TV in every room if that is important, only CNN and BBC in English.

Some items to consider: At night it could be noisy and so they provide you with ear plugs. Our room was on the 6th floor. The bathroom could use better toiletries. For example, the soap for the sink and shower was as small as my pinky and only one provided. You are given a very small bottle of shampoo and bath gel. The mattress was too hard for our liking. The pillows were also hard and very, very thin. Uncomfortable. Due to this I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mmgsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoGamba, Direttore at Palazzo Gamba, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for you rewiew, I apologise if the comfort was not the best for you, and your items to consider, will be very useful to improve our apartments. For sure I will invite you again, if you like to see our changes. In any case if a guest, have some troubles, we,ll do our best to resolve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#186 of 411 in Florence
394 reviews
Duomo
Granduomo Charming Accomodation
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#4 of 311 in Florence
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#18 of 656 in Florence
990 reviews
San Marco
Residence Hilda
Residence Hilda
#5 of 311 in Florence
539 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Alfani al David
Palazzo Alfani al David
#18 of 311 in Florence
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Gamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Gamba

Address: Via De' Martelli 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 311 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: £99 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Gamba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
His property of luxury apartments and suites boasts an unrivalled and breathtaking location of the Duomo piazza, with Florence Duomo and Brunelleschi's dome almost within a touching distance. Palazzo Gamba offers apartments with view featuring charming Florentine style and all the latest comforts of home and beyond, including extremely clean and well equipped kitchens. Palazzo Gamba is designed to provide all the freedom of a private apartment, the comfort of full hotel services and plenty of space for individual and family vacations or group travellers. Palazzo Gamba apartments are surrounded by Florence's most beautiful attractions, romantic spots like Ponte Vecchio and some of the world's most important museums like the Uffizi Gallery, as well as internationally renowned boutiques, the most refined wine bars, restaurants, clubs and typical outdoor leather and food markets. Classic Apartments, for 2 persons, or Comfort Apartments, for 2-4- personsand Penthouse Suite 6 persons, all consist of a bedroom, a living room with kitchenette and bathroom. Apartments offer: Fully equipped kitchenettes with refrigerator, cooker, oven, microwave and dishwasher. Flat screen satellite TV (International channels available), Free WI-FI internet connection, direct dial telephones, air conditioning and heating, courtesy kit, bed linen and towels, air dryer and safe. Important information: the reception is open solely from 8 a.M. To 7 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palazzo Gamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Gamba Florence
Palazzo Gamba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing