We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible - We couldn't wait to leave...”
Review of Abatjour B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abatjour B&B
Ranked #405 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible - We couldn't wait to leave...”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a horrible, HORRIBLE stay here!!!

First, we paid £97 for a triple room, but they gave us a double and wouldn't change the price or our room. Furthermore, the receptionist said we hadn't paid one of the nights and owed her money and was going to force us to pay another £97. We talked to the owner who said the same, but thank goodness I had enough credit to call our bank who forwarded us proof we had already paid, after which the owner 'suddenly' found our receipt.

I'm not saying they were dishonest, but this is at least a very, very poor set-up.

After we got into the room, the floors were dirty, the shower doors didn't close all the way forcing water all over the bathroom, and worst, WORST than anything else are the beds.

The beds are made of ancient iron and squeal and squeak on any movement. Every time you breath, every time you roll over or move at all you hear a sound like nails on a chalkboard. It was excruciating, and we were unable to sleep for two nights.

We told Paulo (the owner), and he wouldn't do anything nor switch our room.

Oh, also, we called them a month ahead and explained our dietary habits, and they said okay but refused to cater for them once we got there. Told us we were stuck with what we got, no vegan options as we were lead to believe we would have.

Also, this place says it's "Eco" but took no efforts to make itself "Eco" opposed to it's name. Nothing is energy efficient, especially the bulbs, all the gross food is individually put in plastic-wrap, no saving measures are taken for water, etc...

Please avoid this place at all costs!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xnegd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    52
    23
    15
    8
See reviews for
20
73
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Abatjour B&B was very nice. They were gracious and helpful hosts and it was within a mile of the train station and the downtown historic part of Florence. The rooms were big by normal Italian standards and the rate is very good. I suppose the great rate justifies the pre-packaged breakfast which was not really sufficient by most B&B standards. All in all, a very nice place and very nice hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Nice place, 10 min away from the city center on foot. I spent one night with my boyfriend. Very quite despite its closeness to center. Comfortable and clean. I'll go back there for sure.
I also got a good price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vampetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Charming area. You feel very welcome at Abajour B&B.
We went to Florence for the Marathon, and
Paolo was SO helpful. With busplans, taxi and so on.
The room we had was i bit small, but very very nice.

There is bus nearby, and it takes about 5-10 minutes to go Down town.

I can give my warmest recommendation to Abatjour B&B

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeloo2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent two nights in Florence in this Hostel. For the price we paid, we doubt we could have found a better deal. Paolo, the owner is very friendly and gentle, and the concept of the hostel is cute! The breakfast is left inside the bedroom. Wifi is good. It's very close to one of the best gelatarias we tried in Italy!!! To go to downtown of Florence, you go by bus, in a 5minute ride!

Everything went perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro_Pereira83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

It was a shame we only had one night here as the hotel is superb, set in an old building with loads of character, the rooms are spotless and well appointed and Paolo was very helpful with advice re his city and local restaraunts,he also happily swopped dates around because of a mix up we had without the loss of a non refundable booking, this would'nt have had an influence on the hotel tho, just wished we could have stayed longer recommended hotel if you want clean , with character this is it

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Thankfully our overnight train from France was late because we rolled up by taxi to the B&B at 9 am right as the owner, Paolo, arrived. This was lucky for us because we didn't have WiFi to check when the place opened and Paolo gladly let us store our luggage until our room was ready. We instantly received such warm vibes from the place. Paolo is quite possibly the nicest most accommodating host ever. We went and had a full day in Florence and returned to an adorable room with a comfy queen sized bed (two mattresses pushed together). On our last day we rented bikes from the B & B for a full day. They were perfect for town and since Paolo used to be a champion motocross rider, he knew exactly how to prepare us for the terrain ahead. The only con was that the breakfast was mediocre, it was all prepackaged carbs. Not a big downside to on otherwise fantastic accommodation! Not enough to reduce our 5 star rating. Thank you Paolo, you made our stay lovely!!

Helpful?
Thank kelseyck
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ape Rosa Relais
#218 of 675 in Florence
172 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
La Corte dei Principi
La Corte dei Principi
#287 of 675 in Florence
326 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Faceroom Bed and Breakfast
Faceroom Bed and Breakfast
#371 of 675 in Florence
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Firenze Citta
#182 of 675 in Florence
39 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Antiche Armonie B&B
Antiche Armonie B&B
#162 of 675 in Florence
150 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
BandB Firenze 8 Cittadella 8
BandB Firenze 8 Cittadella 8
#137 of 675 in Florence
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abatjour B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abatjour B&B

Property: Abatjour B&B
Address: Viale Dei Cadorna 12, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Abatjour B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Abatjour B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing