We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Residenza Giotto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residenza Giotto
Ranked #135 of 661 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We stayed 3 great nights in Florence in April, 2008 at the the perfect location for sightseeing. Everything we wanted to do was with in walking distance, We really enjoyed our stay at the Residenza Giotto. The staff was very helpful, the room clean, had absolutely no problems, would positively recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jazzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2008

We booked 2 out of 6 rooms at the Residenza for 5 nights. It should be nearly impossible to book in a more centrally located spot. Go just a few steps around the corner, and you are in the Piazza del Duomo standing in front of the Romanesque Battistero, likely the oldest building in the city. Shopping, museums, and restaurants are in all directions.

The Residenza is in the upper floor of an 19th century residential building with a small, old-fashioned lift. From the street, only a small brass plaque and a doorbell on the wall beside the door shows you that you have arrived. From the large common terrace at the back of the Residenza, guests get a fantastic view of the polychromatic facade of the Duomo and bell tower. A couple of the rooms share this view from their windows. The others overlook a shopping street in the pedestrian zone (though taxis, trucks, and vehicles with business in the area are admitted).

The interior is very simple with hardwoods, long curtains, cheerful paint, and it is kept clean though it shows a bit of wear. Our room was a nice size, especially given the very reasonable room rates. My mother's room was a bit smaller, but it was big enough for 2 beds and not too crowded, and the ceilings are very high. Her bathroom was on the small side but functional. Ours was large with daylight and bright, white tile but strange. The shower curtain hung in a small circle from an arm - like a clingy, skinny, cylindrical tent with a drain in the floor. Since this arrangement flooded the bathroom anyway, we forwent the curtain, had a comfortable, roomy shower, and mopped up a bit with the bath towel. Problem solved.

Since the Residenza has limited common space, breakfast is packaged toasts, bread, and corn flakes on a tray in the room. Rooms have a mini-fridge with milk, juice, and yoghurt. There is a fancy coffee machine in the small common area for use any time during the day. If this disappoints you, plan to stop by a bakery and stock your room with goodies.

Wireless internet is available once they send you a password.

The staff is usually one person plus a housekeeper. They are nice and speak English very well, though the desk is unmanned after about 8pm (?) and during lunch on weekends. Guests get keys and an RFID fob to let themselves in and out of the residential building, though you should notify them if your check-in could correspond with a time when the desk worker is not there. Otherwise it could be difficult to get in.

Some parts of Florence are sketchy at night. We felt safe in this area. The gypsy beggars that plague the Piazza are easy to avoid once you get the knack for it, and they go home for dinner.

I would consider staying the Residenza again. Our rooms were around 105 euros - a great rate given the location.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

We loved the Residenza Giotto in Florence. The location is fantastic, literally at the corner of thePiazza del Duomo. The rooms very large and clean, and the staff is outstanding. I spent hours on the internet looking for a place to stay in Florence, and after reading many reviews, decided on the Residenza Giotto. We were extremely pleased with the hotel. We traveled with our two teenage daughters and stayed in two rooms. The views from each were amazing, especially the views at night of the Duomo. There was a common room that had helpful books about Florence sights and also about Venice, our next city to visit. I will say that the steps can be daunting (4th floor, up 5 stories), but the elevator does work - even if it is small. The breakfast was a variety of packaged items, with juice and milk available daily. We loved Florence and never lost sight of the Duomo which led us home each night. We would highly recommend the Residenza Giotto.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

I heard about this place from Rick Steves' website. I think he used to recommend it and then took it out because of some issues with the front door. Let me explain: It is true that this is a somewhat unusual reception to a B&B. First of all, it was a little bit hard to find only because the plaque is small. The location is OUTSTANDING, and we actually walked right by it a few times. However, it was a little unusual when we couldn't figure out how to get inside the 6 story residence. We pressed the buzzer over and over. No response! We were worried!! Then a resident left the building and allowed us in. We finally found the B&B on the top floor. (I think it was the top floor, anyway) And I will tell you what, whatever concerns we may have had were immediately put to rest!! This B&B is such a wonderful value!!!! Clean, clean rooms. Large rooms. The folks at the front desk, all of them, were so so so helpful. They made reservations for us, suggestions, directions, etc. Our traveling partners' room had a wonderful view of the Duomo!! Our room faced the street!! It was quiet, so do not worry about that, but all we had to do was open our window to view Florence-at-night action!! I will miss that the most! I don't even know which room I liked better. Loved them both! And they have this coffee/cappucino/tea/hot chocolate machine that you can help yourself to with a lovely relaxation spot. The continental breakfast is mediocre, but that is Italy in general, and the price is so reasonable, who cares??? Just buy your own breakfast treats for the morning! Oh, one other silly little plus is the fact that since it is a residence and the sign is hard to see, so you look like you are entering your own, private apartment when you come home at night with your own key!! Highly reccomended. Rick Steves needs to definitely put this one back in his guide book, (if he has not already done so!)

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

This is a wonderful little B & B that I would recommend to friends and family. The customer service at Residenza Giotto was unparalleled. The staff there is amazing and spoke English very well, and their recommendations were always spot on. It's also within walking distance to everything! The view of the Duomo from the patio is amazing. We also found it close(5-10 min walk) to an internet cafe, a small grocery store, and a self-service laundry. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would stay there again if we return to Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dreamtrip07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

I believe we booked this B&B using Ratestogo.com and received a very good last minute rate. Giotto is in a fantastic location...neighbour is the Gucci store! Turn the corner out the front door and you are in the middle of Piazza del Campo.

The rooms are very nice and clean. The bathrooms are large, but the shower (as in most places in Italy) epresents its own set of challenges. There is a curtain that doesn't really do much, but we finally managed to work out a strategy that only wet a portion of the bathroom floor.

The manager is very helpful if you need assistance in planning out your stay, directions etc.

As many have already commented on the site, the breakfast is basically a combination of pre-packaged goods...croissants, cereals etc. If you are big breakfast eater I recommend you find a cafe down the street and enjoy. I was fine with it.

I would definitely consider staying here again while in Flornce.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank arado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

As part of our honeymoon, my husband and I arrived in Florence at the Residenza Giotto, Silvia was really nice and she arranged our tour to Siena and San Giminiano. This B&B has an excellent location and it is also clean, but something that you will always remember is the view from the balcony, ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, having our wonderful capuccino, PRICELESS.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#58 of 410 in Florence
1,217 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#95 of 410 in Florence
1,137 reviews
Duomo
Il Bargello B&B
Il Bargello B&B
#82 of 661 in Florence
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#288 of 661 in Florence
210 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
#22 of 661 in Florence
390 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#12 of 661 in Florence
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Giotto

Address: Via Roma 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £75 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza Giotto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n the very heart of Florence... six bedrooms elegantly furnished with genuine and antiques, provided with all comforts and a terrace with a breathless view of the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Giotto Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing