We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Giotto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza Giotto
Ranked #153 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for one night and got a balcony with a great view of the Duomo. Location was great and really close to the train station, Duomo, Baptistry, Piazza Republica, San Lorenzo Basilica and the market. Also a mini mart close by. Best gelato - Grom - also close by. Food all around the area. Will definitely come back and stay here longer. Continental breakfast also provided and snacks during the day. Barbara and Sylvia - thank you so much for a clean B&B. You were so friendly and accomodating. Had a wonderful stay!!! Your friends from Canada - Ricardo and Cynthia

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsc1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    97
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
253
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our first visit to beautful Florence. Convenient location, if a bit of an 'adventure' since the inn is situated in an unexpected location... You must 'buzz' a set of doors to enter and use a lift to go to the 4th floor of a building where the inn & lodging is located. All of that was a surprise to us, all we knew was the street address when we were dropped off by a taxi after many hours of air & train travel, a bit bleery-eyed, but eventually noticed the Residenza Giotto bronze sign among others on the wall of the building nearby. I had communicated with Silvia, the innkeeper, by email prior to arrival, and wish she had mentioned a little more detail, but once we met, she was delightful, friendly, helpful, and a gracious host in every way. Oh well...

The inn is clean if a bit spare, very well-priced. The location is superb--walking easy distance to great restaurants and markets and high-end shopping and Ponte Vecchio and Duomo and you-name-it... There is a lovely outdoor rooftop patio for breakfast overlooking the Duomo... The views are spectacular and nonstop.

Great value, super location, not luxurious, but comfortable & clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

After spending two weeks in Tuscany, our last two nights were in Florence. We were fortunate to get two rooms at the Residenzia Giotto right around the corner from the Duomo. It was a little difficult to find since it's on the fourth floor of the building, but once we found it we were delighted. (The gold hotel plate is just above the doorbell you need to buzz to get in.) Although we arrived just a little early, Barbara had one room ready, and told us the other room would be ready shortly. The hotel is in the middle of everything. You can easily walk to the train station or, as we discovered, the ladies will call to have a taxi ready to meet you at the door (which was a benefit on the morning we left at 6:30 AM). The patio area has a wonderful view of the Duomo, tower, and baptistery. We picked up a couple of birras at a nearby store, enjoyed the cool night breeze, and took in the beautiful view. Even though you're in the middle of Florence, the muffled street sounds below give you more of a pleasant feeling of being in the city center. Unfortunately, we were only able to enjoy the breakfast they provide one morning, but it was a nice way to start our day.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms in this hotel. Two look out to the Duomo. Make sure to designate your prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 305Hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This little B&B surprised us with very friendly staff, super-central location, and cleanliness.

The hostess Silvia helped us out carefully when we took the rental car all the way up to the address, something which isn't allowed unless your'e a resident. But she fixed with the permit and reported the car afterwards - super! She also recommended a typical non-touristy restaurant for dinner which was superb.

The place it self is nice, with decent sized rooms and typical Italian breakfast - it offers about just what you need + the nice view of the Doumo.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view of the Duomo - I think there's only one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The reception closes at 5 p.m. and they have 0 flexibility, which is actually required if you work with tourists that come from abroad. We arrived at 6 p.m. and were unable to call to postpone the check-in. The reception was closed and there was no emergency number to call. All they did is to call me with an unknown number, which I ignored thinking it was some advertizing company. They could have called with a visible number, left a message, left a phone number to call back or even left the keys at the reception. But they did nothing...all they did is to CHARGE the room! So we had to look for a new accommodation in Florence. Great service :-(

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilaria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

If you look up PERFECT LOCATION in the dictionary, you will find a picture of Residenza Giotto! Simply amazing. The staff was also wonderful! They will email you prior to your arrival asking what time you plan to arrive. Our room therefore was ready where as most hotels in Europe don't allow check in until later in the day or charge for early check in. Also helped us reserve tickets to see "David".
We stayed in room #5 which was fantastic. Very comfortable bed and a fairly decent sized room, with a balcony facing Giotto's bell tower and Duomo!
Overall I'd highly recommend Residenza Giotto. Great prices, better staff and location!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a great Boutique B and B , entry next door to Gucci store , easy walking distance from trais taion right on the centre of florence . Duomo and bell tower right next door. Amazing veiw from outdoor balcony. Sylvia and her stff are so freindly , the breakfast is beautiful nd they make great coffee. The rooms are clean and large with a very comfortable bed.
Fast wifi .
I highly recommend this B and B to all . It is fantastice and have no negative comments at all ..
Loved it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#181 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Soggiorno Battistero
Soggiorno Battistero
#89 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#131 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#13 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Giotto

Property: Residenza Giotto
Address: Via Roma 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza Giotto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n the very heart of Florence... six bedrooms elegantly furnished with genuine and antiques, provided with all comforts and a terrace with a breathless view of the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Residenza Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Giotto Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing