We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing spot, Amazing host!!”
Review of Residenza Giotto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residenza Giotto
Ranked #148 of 672 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing spot, Amazing host!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We could not have asked for a more wonderful place to stay in Florence. Giorgio, our host, was very accommodating from the beginning as he used English to direct us to the inn (we were driving). The view is wonderful and the location couldn't be better. Breakfast on the terrace was substantial and we were very well attended to with some extras from Giorgio that were most appreciated. He was very social, excellent with pointing out places to see and more importantly restaurants to visit. Stick with the restaurants your host suggests--We will definitely be back for another visit and it's too bad we didn't spend more time in Florence. I would fly direct next time and skip Rome if you've already done the sights.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gngarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    97
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
256
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2010

The room was roomy and comfortable and the view was great...the staff are not there 24 hours/day but were very helpful. We didn't stay in our room much but slept well. The room was clean and the view from our room as well as the terrace was great. The air conditioning worked well and we didn't have any problem with noise.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktrgmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed only one noght but would have loved to be there longer. Excellent location right next to the Cathedral Square and three Republicca, stores, museums and the markets could not ask for any more except the roof top terrace for morning cappuccino. Very clean comfortable and a delicious continental breakfast. Highly recommended by friends and could not agree more.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Giorgio and Sylvia couldn't have been better hosts. They made us feel like it was our home. Tip: ask them about wonderful places to visit that aren't in the tour books. -richard

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuesprough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Staff is really on top of things for the entire length of your stay. We spent six nights enjoying a relaxing romantic time in Florence and Pisa. Georgio and Silvia are fantastic hoteliers and do everything to accommodate your comfort. The room and common areas are very clean, well stocked, and the location could not be better! Some occasional night street noise from a few party goers but very minimal. Every care is taken to guarantee your stay in Florence is wonderful. Staff will assist you with Maps, Taxi reservations, Train schedules and more. This is a bed and breakfast and not a five star hotel chain so don't expect that. If you want an authentic feel of Florence, and want to interact with locals, then stay here! We would definitely recommend Residenza Giotto and we would definitely stay here again. Grazie! Georgio and Silvia - Generoso ospitalita! Regards, from Southern California

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petroglyphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

The best location in Firenze, spacious room, cleanesse, friendly people, good price, nice baby cot for our 16 months baby, air conditioner ok, breakfast ok, beautiful view of Duomo from terrace! We hardly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2008

Residenza Giotto is a stone's throw from the Duomo and Giotto's Tower. It is on the fourth floor of a building that houses a Gucci store, a doctor's office, and other businesses. Its staff is incredibly helpful. They secured reservations for us to the Accademia and the Uffizi Gallery before we arrived. They also printed out our boarding passes and stored our bags the day that we checked out so that we could visit a few more places before we left Florence.

Our room was clean and spacious and overlooked the Duomo and Giotto's Tower, which was especially gorgeous at night. The room also had a flat-panel TV and a mini bar. The prices on mini bar items were very reasonable (after having been in Rome).

The bathroom was tiny by American standards. The shower was only barely wider than one's shoulders. The very excellent air conditioning and view more than made up for this, though.

There is a breakfast room with a complimentary coffee. Just outside of the breakfast room is a patio with views of the Duomo.

The door to Residenza Giotto is to the right of the Gucci shop. One must press a button to get it to open because it is a huge door. Once inside the building, one can either walk the four flights of stairs or take a very small elevator (fits two people with backpacks or three people with nothing). This was a fun adventure for us, but it might be difficult for people with disabilities.

While the front desk is only staffed during the day, they give you a key to open the main door on the street and the door to the residence. You are able to come and go as needed.

  • Liked — air conditioning, view, cleanliness, staff friendliness
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil_Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#188 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#186 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Soggiorno Battistero
Soggiorno Battistero
#82 of 672 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Duomo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#160 of 672 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#144 of 672 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Giotto

Property: Residenza Giotto
Address: Via Roma 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 672 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza Giotto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n the very heart of Florence... six bedrooms elegantly furnished with genuine and antiques, provided with all comforts and a terrace with a breathless view of the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Giotto Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing