We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the key to this one”
Review of Hotel Alinari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alinari
Ranked #333 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location is the key to this one”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I had jumped ship from an expensive activity holiday and just needed to get to the city. Alinari was my base for three nights, before I headed to the more expensive but less central hotel I'd booked for my last night stay.

Location is ideal- you can walk everywhere- but do bring sensible footwear- Florentine streets are not heel friendly.

Breakfast was on a roof terrace with a view to the Duomo, and it was like Room With A View. My rooms view was of the streets, which was actually entertaining. Christiano gave me the my torus brochure and sorted out bookings for the galleries which saved hours of queuing. I soon found the amazing gelaterie one bridge down from Ponte Vecchio, and some great cafes.

Luxury this place ain't- but for location and easy access to culture- it gets my vote

Room Tip: I liked being able to see streets below
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northstar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    98
    93
    54
    32
See reviews for
41
116
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I wish I could recommend this hotel, its charming and has a very central location. unfortunatly we they have bed bugs... so now we all have bed bugs, and have to wash/freeze our entire luggage.

Tha manager is also not very accomodating, breakfast is just OK.

Until something is done about the bugs; dont stay here...

Room Tip: rooms 136 has a separat balcony away from trafic. single room, small but OK. When pest control remov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mejamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were forced to change our holiday plans late afternoon and this was the only hotel that had a room available for that night.
Christiano at reception was very friendly, and although the only room available was a 4 bed family room he still gave us very reasonable price.
It was room 139 and has a wonderful view from window of Duomo.
The bed was comfy, shower and bathroom good and a very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAoutofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Had a nightmare trying to check in. The manager was away and the people at the front desk were completely incompetent. Also, this is on the 4th floor of a building and looks more like a pensione with attached bathrooms rather than a hotel. If you are willing to pay a bit more, there are some nicer options. For what it's worth, I ended up cancelling my reservation here. Buyer be aware.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

It's an average 2 star hotel with no luxuries but its central location (a few steps from the bus station and 5 min walk from the Domo cathedral) outweights it. We got two single beds instead of a double one so we had to put them together and tie the legs with the laundry rope. The breakfast was very nice and the view from the balcony was lovely too (our room was facing the yard rather than the noisy street), so our stay was not too bad altogether. I must say that Florence is absolutely amazing and no visit to Italy can be complete without it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_123654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellent location. Vey close to Florence main station. Easily accessible. Well placed for further travel. Neat and clean room. excellent breakfast. beautiful family room. very supportive staff. However, collected "city tax" and gave no receipt!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Srinivasa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is located a block from main train station .easy to find as the name of street is same as hotel. Rooms are clean and large for Italy. Breakfast typical Italian bread yogurt some cheese and meat. Near outdoor leather market and some good restaurants. Staff very helpful will carry your bags and do it with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkStar18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#173 of 422 in Florence
413 reviews
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#238 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#296 of 422 in Florence
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#195 of 422 in Florence
1,137 reviews
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#286 of 422 in Florence
196 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#281 of 422 in Florence
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alinari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alinari

Property: Hotel Alinari
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alinari 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the hotel Alinari you have the pleasure of waking up in a charming room with a high standard of confort, enjoying a good buffet-breakfast , whilst admiring the panoramic view of Florence. Hotel Alinari is located in a historical Florentine Palace, convenientely situated in the heart of Florence at 300 mt. from the train station , from the Congress Centre and a few minutes from the Duomo and from museums. All the rooms have private bathroom, air-conditioning, colour tv (cable and satellite stations), mini bar, hair dryer, and direct dial phone. The best location for your business trip and your personal holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alinari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alinari Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing