We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than described in different websites”
Review of Villa la Stella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa la Stella
Ranked #87 of 333 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Never had such a clean room and bathroom, parfume in every area, a very quite garden. Receptionists are good mannered and ready to help in any way. I was there for job, and I was 5' walk away from my job.It is far from the centre, but it is good even for holiday, to have rest and fresh air in the evening after a tourism day. I can absolutely recommend it. A sincere thanks to Luca for his professional welcoming, Emanuela

Room Tip: Per chi è interessato, chiedere una stanza con il segnale wi-fi più potente.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panocchietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of December with a group of 45 student travelers. It is located on a hill which is not accessible for a bus therefore, we had to trudge up and down with suitcases and various bags.The hotel is a maze and has numerous steps at every turn. I shudder to think what would happen in case of an emergency evacuation. Rooms were clean, breakfast was adequate, wifi was hard to connect. The deal breaker was the fact that there was no hot water at all in any room the first night or next morning. An ice cold shower at the end of December is hardly acceptable. When our group complained, we were told they were experiencing problems with the hot water heater. The problem was resolved when a phone call was placed to our travel company. Hmmmm...This property has the potential to be a gem, unfortunately it has a ways to go.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Florence have a spectacular view of the Duomo, campanile and the olive trees surroundin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfessoressaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Unfriendly woman receptionist, plastic cup in room which was very mean and in a hostel i would have got a glass, terrible breakfast , lukewarm water for tea, poor wifi , stale cereal, hard apples..... Overall v disappointing for the price!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godlessiop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Let me start by saying, this was not the original place we booked for out stay in Florence. We arrived in Florence around 6:30pm and arrived out our destination to find somehow our reservation was mixed up and we did not have a place to stay. Panic began to set in. We called home to explain our situation to a friend who spoke Italian. He graciously called our original destination and was suggested to try Villa la Stella. A kind man named Thomas took pitty on our seemingly desperate situation and maneuvered things to allow us to stay for the durration of our trip. We found out after booking that the hotel is owned by the Missionaries of Mary Immaculate and "3% of the fee paid by you will be destined to financing and supporting  projects and developments in the third world countries". We were able to pay it forward. The staff members were very helpful and willing to assist in setting up various tours. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and there were various options to choose from. Had the weather been cooperative we would have taken advantage of the outside terrace. The location was perfectly located for our need as we could walk down to the bus stop to catch the #7 bus down to Florence or even up to fiesole. We will stay here again when ewe return to Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I love this hotel, staff were very accommodating, and the grounds were lovely. I felt like I was in Italy. The hotel was a bit of a maze but the 3 rooms that we had all had views. A couple of rooms had a large balcony in common, lovely views of the hills, but we did have to go out the windows (I wouldn't change it). The rooms were large and very clean. Bathrooms were modern. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but they were freshly made, with pastries and croissants still warm.
If you are taking a taxi to the hotel make sure it takes you to the door, we rolled our suitcases up the hill. Not really a bad climb except it was hot, and I'm not as young as I use to be. I plan to return to Florence and this is where I would like to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to offer a view of Florence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lourdescouto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel was recommended to us. We were looking forward to staying at Villa La Stella. This was part of our 8 week European holiday. We were booked in for 5 nights.

Om arrival the staff (Thomas) was not very friendly, nor welcoming and was not very helpful with any sort of tourist information. This included where to get lunch nearby after having travelled four hours to get to the hotel. We found this hotel to be outdated and more in keeping with a backpackers hostel than a tourist hotel. The breakfast was poor and was not restocked to accommodate all the guests. The table cloths were dirty and were not changed in the time we stayed in the hotel. The kitchen staff was rude and not helpful and yelled at a guest for taking 2 glasses from the dining room to use in the room as none had been provided.

Accepting that this hotel was a former monastery the bed linen was of poor quality and had burn holes in the bedspread.

The WIFI was supposed to have been free and didn't work very well in the room on the second floor even though we were assured it would work okay. The WIFI cost EU10 for 12 hours and didn't work a lot of the time.

We would not recommend this hotel due to poor staff attitude and the generally poor facilities available.

The hotel probably would be suitable for backpackers and large school groups. The latter of which arrived during our stay and caused some disruption.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel unless you have low expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My family and I spent a week at this place, and enjoyed every minute of it. Check-in was wonderful and fast and the staff is very nice and frendly. Our room was fantastic. High ceilings, lovely fabrics, comfortable bed and the location is superb.
We recomend this place ,quiet and very clean, a palce to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,417 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,952 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 410 in Florence
2,276 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#151 of 410 in Florence
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa la Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa la Stella

Address: Via Iacopone da Todi 12 | Firenze, 50133, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 333 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: £63 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa la Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Stella Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing