We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence La Contessina
Ranked #55 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 June 2014

the staff at La Contessina is a wonderful family. the rooms are all located on the ground level, with fairly steep stairs inside. You have the option of using the kitchen for a cleaning fee. Breakfast is included and plentiful. The only downside for us was the hardness of the bed and pillows-- but it did not keep us awake. On a break from siteseeing on a rainy afternoon they allowed us to sit in the common area and have a bottle of wine. This hotel is close to several good restaurants and a fairly easy walking distance to all of the main sites in Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are glad to know that you feel good at the Residence La Contessina. We are happy that you have appreciated the kindness of the Staff and our common area. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Residence on a future visit in Florence.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
There are newer reviews for Residence La Contessina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

I booked this from hotels.com and when we arrived they gave us an upgrade to an apartment, which was fantastic. The bed was comfortable. Room was nice with large windows to open. Fresh linens daily. They didn't replenish the shampoo and soap, but I'm sure if you ask them they will give you more. The property is not too far from the train station ( a couple blocks) and is located in an very nice entranceway away from the busy and noisy street. It's very close to many eateries and located in the middle of all the attractions walking-wise. The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was nice. It's not over-the-top grand, but it's nourishment and saves you money for your first meal since you'll probably be out all day enjoying Florence. I chose this from the reviews and was happy I did.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vanessa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Owner at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you to give us your time writing a review on us, we are glad that you found us well. Our goal is to let you fell at home and our staff is always happy to attend your needing.
Hope to see you soon
Best regards

Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here with our 2 children for 5 nights and we absolutely loved it. The place was charming and quiet, the courtyard outside the rooms is perfect for relaxing out of the sun and getting some quiet time.

The rooms are spacious and light, the staff are friendly and helpful. Having a kitchen to use was ideal when travelling with children, and the restaurant recommendations were great for when we chose to eat out.

The breakfast was the wonderful, lots of it and new things each day. All freshly cooked, not like the eggs and bacon sitting around in fat being kept warm that you get elsewhere.

It is centrally located by the train station and the centre of town. Everything is within walking distance, so you can pop back for a rest before hitting the sights again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferritcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Owner at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for your review, it is pleasure read your words. We are very happy to have families with us, we are a big family and we like let the guests feel as at home and we know how important is to fell at home also away from home when you travel with young guys.
Thank you again, hope to see you soon

Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet even if quite simple. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. The central location was much appreciated. The breakfast was fantastic, especially for Italian standards. I would definitely stay here again, but due to the steep stairs and different levels within our room this wouldn't be recommendable for people with mobility difficulties.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia7ich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Owner at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We are very happy to read it and really thank you to give us the possibilities to upgrade our level.
We have special apartments for people with wheelchair or for people with mobility difficulties, just write your needing in your reservation and we will provide to accomodate you as well.
Thank you so much, hoping to see you soon here with us

Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Residence La Contessina equals almost to a wonder. Very centrally located, so that you can reach the majority of Florence attractions walking. Really nice communicative staff, phantastic breakfast (including the place - a patio), so this place, which is a really good value for money, can make your stay in this beautiful city even more enjoyable. Do not hesitate, when booking!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us. We are glad to know that you appreciated our structure and location. Thanks for all your nice words in the description of the Residence La Contessina. We always try to do the best for our guests and we are happy that we succeeded with you. It will be a pleasure to have you at the Residence La Contessina one more time.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights while visiting Florence. We rented a family apartment for four and it was more than big enough for us all. One large bed upstairs and two small beds downstairs gave us privacy. The apartment was clean and spacious. La Contessina is removed from the noisy streets and you feel calm as soon as you enter the courtyard. The only noise we heard was from people coming in next door to us late at night. The breakfast was plentiful. The owners are warm and welcoming and will help you with reservations and maps. There is parking right at the hotel ($30 euro per day), though I would not drive in Florence if you can help it. We did have a car, and the owners were even willing to let us stay parked for a few hours after check out. We had to leave early, but will take advantage of this next time. Very nice!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank chicks87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are glad to know that you appreciated our structure, location and services, like the parking space. At the time of check-out (10.30-11.00am), we always give the possibility to leave luggage or car and after coming to pick them up. We also give the possibility to use the bathroom in the breakfast room and wait in our cloister or in the library-room. Thanks again for all your nice words. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Residence on a future visit in Florence.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is located in between the town centre with the Duomo and all other attractions, and the conference centre. We stayed there in a 5 person appartment during a conference trip, which was great value for money. The apartments are very quiet despite the central location. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is excellent. The only drawback was that the WiFi was not very stable and generally slow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank felixbavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on the site for us following your reacent visit in Florence. We are glad to know that you appreciated our apartments and the quietness of this place. You are right, the Residence La Contessina is very good for the congress members, we are located very near at the conference centre. We are sorry for the wifi-connection, generally works very well. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
804 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#43 of 411 in Florence
2,758 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#61 of 411 in Florence
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,249 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,169 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 411 in Florence
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Contessina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Contessina

Address: Via Faenza 71 | From Via Cennini to Via Nazionale, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Florence
#10 Family Hotel in Florence
#11 Business Hotel in Florence
#40 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £82 - £556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence La Contessina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aristocratic and Bohemian, classic and comfortable, residence La Contessina is a fresh and dynamic alternative to a hotel for a stay in the old town center of Florence. With an elegant and comfortable assortment of studios and full apartments, residence la Contessina is ideal for a lovely vacation but is also equipped for events and meetings. A multi-purpose hall, services and closeness to the Santa Maria novella train station, the conference center and Fortezza da Basso make residence La Contessina very attractive for family and business stays, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence La Contessina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Contessina Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing