We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that we hoped for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence La Contessina
Ranked #81 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great location, near the railway/bus terminal and city centre and a lovely family run place, really nice people. i like the split level bedroom/general area. TVs are quite small, tough to follow anything like sport unless you are quite close up. There was no washing machine, we hoped to be able to wash some clothes at this stage of our trip. I was surprised that there was a 25 Euro fee if you were going to cook anything, it's an apartment!! The walls are quite thin, if you are a medium to light sleeper you will find it tough, could hear people either side going up and down the stairs in the adjoining apartments where the bedroom is upstairs but the toilet is downstairs. Breakfast was nice, good quality and a fair bit of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank edkemp2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are glad that you have appreciated our breakfast, location and the kindness of the Staff. We are sorry that you felt not satisfied in full.
In the apartment there are two TVs , one is tv 32 inches and the other is 22 inches. In your reservation there wasn’t a specific request about the size of television. Our apartments are furnished with a kitchen, you can use free of charge the refrigerator, freezer, microwave and the boiler for the or coffee with the cups. With the extra-cost of Euro 25,00 for the kitchen we want give the possibility at all the people that no use it to spend less. The Euro 25,00 is to do the final sanitation. We have a laundry service which comes in the morning, takes your clots and comes back in the evening to give you back them. Our apartments are not furnished with a laundry machine, but in Via Faenza ( 1 minutes walking) there is an automatic washing machine. Our Reception is open 24 hours, to ensure that the stay of our guests is confortable. For that reason night Porter ( if advised) can ask to your neighbor ( in case that are noisy) to be quiet.
We hope that you come back, because our goal is guest' satisfaction and we would like succeed even with you.
Our Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel. The staff was very accommodating to my friend who just recently was released from the hospital and they made sure her accommodations met her needs. The staff was extremely helpful on directions and local places to eat. I would prefer to stay in the apartment room again although the standard rooms were neat, clean and serviced. This hotel has no bar or restaurant but is in close proximity to many, many trattorias. This hotel is in close walking distance to all the major attractions that Florence gas to offer. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are glad to know that you feel good at the Residence La Contessina. We always try to make our guests feel the best possible comfort and we are happy that we succeeded with you. We serve just the breakfast, we don't have the restaurant, but Via Faenza is full of restaurant ( all kind of prices and all kind of foods). We are very central to reach all the major attractions of Florence. We care a lot about the cleaning of rooms and we are happy that you see it. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have been privileged to call La Contessina my home away from home in Florence for many years. One of the most positive points is the opportunity to visit with the Pelagotti family all of whom are experienced hosts to travelers from around the world. Then there is the superb location........right in the heart of Florence and within easy walking to the Central Market, Student Market, Santa Maria del Fiore, Riccardi Chapel, Medici Chapel and Library, Palazzo Strozzi, Palazzo Davanzati and the list goes on and on. The train station is just around the corner and the shops, restaurants and even a language school are so convenient. But the best memory for me is the manner in which the Pelagotti family graciously serves 'la colazione' or breakfast so that the travelers can enjoy their beautiful city. DO NOT MISS THE CHANCE TO ENJOY BREAKFAST! The rooms are clean, spacious, well equipped and comfortable and the property is secure. Having just returned, I am already looking forward to my next visit. Mille Grazie!

Room Tip: I have stayed in several of the units through the years and have not been disappointed with any one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Armida48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. Read your words is beautiful for us. We always try to do the best and we are happy that you have a pleasant memory of us. Sure to see you again in Florence, the Residence La Contessina wait you!
A special greeting from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

we had a wonderful time at this family owned family run hotel.
the owners go out of the way to help and make your stay comfortable.
the breakfast served was very good.
we were a family of 4 and the apartment provided was really nice.
i would certainly visit this property again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio
Thank Abhijit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are glad to know that you appreciated our structure and breakfast. We always try to do the best for our guests and we are happy that we succeeded with you. It will be a pleasure to have you at the Residence La Contessina one more time.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Lots of room and very nice staff. The location is very prime and is a 20 minute walk to the Academia and 15 minute walk to Ufizi gallery. Very large breakfasts as well with pastries, juices, coffee. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nima T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us. We are glad to know that you appreciated our structure and location. You are right, we are very central and very close to the main attractions of the city. We are also happy that you enjoyed the breakfast. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is my seventh year to bring American tourists to La Contessina. Over 150 guests have been more than happy with the accommodations there and in September and October I will be bringing 27 more. It is such a pleasure to work with the Pelagotti family and the lodging at the residence certainly enhances my Tuscany tour package. I can attest that all the compliments you see in the reviews are true. The friendliness, consistency of service and attention to the upkeep of the property make La Contessina a great "home away from home". The shops and restaurants all along Via Faenza are convenient and plentiful. In my opinion it's the best street in Florence! (Don't miss Nerone's restaurant and the Bermuda Triangle gelato shop on the corner at National and tell them Patrizia sent you!) The neighborhood is very safe and I have never had any fearful experiences in this lovely city. I am very excited to be going back in just a short time to enjoy Florence and the beauty of Tuscany and my special "Italian family" at La Contessina!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Direttore at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Patrizia,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a lovely review on the site for us. You make us proud know that guests appreciated the work that we carry out since several years. Thanks for all your nice words in the description of the Residence La Contessina, read them is a source of joy for us. We always try to do the best for our guests and we are happy that we succeeded with you an other time. You give us the strength to do better. We look forward to welcoming you back here on a future visit in Florence. We're waiting for you!
All our Staff send to you warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Located on the edege of the historic city centre in beautiful old building, around an ancient court yard with plenty of flowery bushes , the appartments are modern, spacious and comfortable. The family is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is plentiful and varied. We have been there several times, the family just goes on making improvements to comfort and style.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. Thanks for your nice words. We are happy that you have appreciated the kindness of the family and our common area with the flowers. It will be a pleasure to have you at the Residence La Contessina one more time.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#75 of 410 in Florence
1,316 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 410 in Florence
1,078 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 410 in Florence
2,417 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Contessina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Contessina

Address: Via Faenza 71 | From Via Cennini to Via Nazionale, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Florence
#10 Family Hotel in Florence
#11 Business Hotel in Florence
#40 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £65 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence La Contessina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aristocratic and Bohemian, classic and comfortable, residence La Contessina is a fresh and dynamic alternative to a hotel for a stay in the old town center of Florence. With an elegant and comfortable assortment of studios and full apartments, residence la Contessina is ideal for a lovely vacation but is also equipped for events and meetings. A multi-purpose hall, services and closeness to the Santa Maria novella train station, the conference center and Fortezza da Basso make residence La Contessina very attractive for family and business stays, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence La Contessina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Contessina Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing