We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence La Contessina
Ranked #61 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Residence La Contessina is a great place to stay in Florence. We were a family of 4 - two adults and two kids and we were very happy with our stay at La Contessina. Very helpful and friendly staff and front desk. The hotel is in a great location - very close to the railway station and the main museum. The front desk staff is very warm and always willing to help. The breakfast is very nice. Great Tiramisu and lemon cakes. The rooms are very charming. I had one which was on two decks. Very nice. You can even cook in this place if you want to. They have all the necessary things to do the same. We did not do so as there were many excellent places to eat nearby. They even recommended some great vegetarian places for us. The hotel helps a lot in advise on places to visit, bus timing, best time to visit a place, what to avoid, etc. And they do this with a lot of patience and warmth. All in all - highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are glad to know that you feel good at the Residence La Contessina. We always try to make our guests feel the best possible comfort and we are happy that we succeeded with you. We serve just the breakfast, we don't have the restaurant, but Via Faenza is full of restaurant ( all kind of prices and all kind of foods). We are very central to reach all the major attractions of Florence. We care a lot about the cleaning of rooms and we are happy that you see it. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is beautiful family run place that makes you feel warmly welcomed. We stayed for 6 nights and we felt like at home. Location is ideal for walks to practically anywhere in the old city including Duomo, Accademia, Uffizi... Hotel has its own parking which is great thing for those traveling by car and wanting to stay in heart of Florence. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for hassle-free stay especially to families

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us. Our goal is that you felt like at home, we work for this. You are right, we are very central to the main attractions, and we have parking place ( with an extra-cost). Thank'you to recommend the Residence La Contessina. We wait you in Florence the next time.
Our Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Residence La Contessina was beyond all of our expectations. From the moment we stepped in and felt an oasis of quiet from the bustling streets of Florence, we could sense we were in good hands. We were responsible for a group of 13 (all staying at La Contessina) and the family and staff did everything possible to make all of us feel right at home. It was the perfect balance of attention and privacy. Always kind words of greeting from everyone and immediate attention to any needs we or those in our group had - making us feel like their place was our place. Appreciated the fresh towels, made-up bed, and cleaning done on a daily basis - all without disturbing us or our belongings. Breakfasts were feasts for the eyes and delicious! The building is filled with light and air and our apartment was spacious and nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well. One night we had the sofa made into a bed for a friend and it was comfortable, as well.

The family that owns the property are devoted to its upkeep and to the guests that step across their threshold. My husband and I have never stayed at a place before where the reality superseded the description and reviews. Our 10 day trip was a great success and we have the hospitality of the family running La Contessina to thank in very large part. It was sad having to say goodbye, but will look forward to staying here again next year.

Room Tip: All of the apartments were excellent. Each one a little different, but wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Debra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are happy that the group did find comfortable our apartment and the structure in general. Your words give us much happiness and energy to continue to do the best for the guests. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit, we wait you in Florence.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was the best place we stayed in Italy! The staff ( all family) were excellent! Best homemade breakfast! The room was wonderful and a great outside patio. What a great memory! They were very helpful with everything we asked of them!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pandl143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us. We are glad to know that you appreciated our structure, location, the Staff and the family. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Residence La Contessina on a future visit in Florence.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our family stayed here for just one night, but how we wish we would have stayed longer! This is a family run inn, and one feels as if they truly are a guest of this family. They are friendly and helpful. Their english is very good; which was great because we do not know Italian! The staff is wonderful. We just love it there! It is extremely clean, cozy, home away from home. We thought the decor was sweet and cute...religious icons and bright colors...very much what one expects in Italy. Big television with clear english instructions on how to use. Only trouble is that shows are all in Italian, of course. Which is a problem for English only speakers. The kitchen is well fitted out with everything you need. More bath towels than we needed, and ample shampoo, shower gel. It has a nice shower; big modern bathroom...they could use a little table in there to set things on, there is enough space. Friendly, helpful staff...they tried so hard to make our visit nice...and the breakfast was worth a trip to Florence all by itself! Absolutely fabulous! The hotel is centrally located, only 5 minute walk from the train station, and an easy walk to all the sights around Florence. Wonderful air conditioning. We loved coming back after a long hot day of sight seeing. The hotel gate is locked at night, so one feels a bit more secure, being in the middle of the city. Be aware that the beds are very firm..which is much better than too soft, IMO.

I have to tell you the secret of the Wifi, though. Wifi came with our room, but we did have a little trouble signing on. The owners tried to help, but my daughter figured out the problem. You must activate the wifi while in Internet Explorer, as it will not connect in Google Chrome. After you are hooked up though, you may switch to Chrome. We do not know why. But, we tried it on two different computers, and this method finally worked for both. It never did work on my phone though it worked on my daughter's I phone. My daughter said that Windows 8 is not compatible with all Wifi routers...so that may have a bearing. Bottom line, if you are going, stay at this place!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are glad that you fell good with us. We are glad that you appreciated the calm of our location and the friendly' Staff too. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The apartment is just in the center of downtown. It has so nice location that we can go any place by walk. The room is very sweet. We can cook here as at home. The balcony is so nice, we loved it so much! The service is unbelievable. The girl speaks very good English. She gives us many useful information and helps us familiar with the city in short time. We would like to come back and stay in the same apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tenthousands-way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us. We are glad to know that you appreciated our structure, location, the Staff and the family. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Residence La Contessina on a future visit in Florence.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Family driven hotel. Warm and unique place to stay. Great food at breakfast (can´t miss the strawberry pie and some other delights prepared by a senior lady around).. If I visit Florence again, I will stay again for sure at La Contessina.
José Brescia - Buenos Aires, Argentina.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. Read your words is beautiful for us. We always try to do the best and we are happy that you have a pleasant memory of us. Sure to see you again in Florence, the Residence La Contessina wait you!
A special greeting from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#78 of 410 in Florence
1,249 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,825 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Contessina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Contessina

Address: Via Faenza 71 | From Via Cennini to Via Nazionale, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Florence
#10 Family Hotel in Florence
#11 Business Hotel in Florence
#40 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £55 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence La Contessina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aristocratic and Bohemian, classic and comfortable, residence La Contessina is a fresh and dynamic alternative to a hotel for a stay in the old town center of Florence. With an elegant and comfortable assortment of studios and full apartments, residence la Contessina is ideal for a lovely vacation but is also equipped for events and meetings. A multi-purpose hall, services and closeness to the Santa Maria novella train station, the conference center and Fortezza da Basso make residence La Contessina very attractive for family and business stays, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence La Contessina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Contessina Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing