We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out, they may double charge you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Ulivi Dimora Storica
Ranked #597 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Watch out, they may double charge you”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

The hotel was nice enough. Beds were comfortable, room was done in traditional "Italian" style. However, the hotel charged us for one nights accommodation on the day that I made the reservation AND charged us again on the day we checked out. Despite numerous attempts to contact them and have the second charge reimbursed, they have refused to reply to my emails and phone calls.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    18
    25
    62
See reviews for
31
62
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We, family of 6, stayed in the Magnolia Suite. Clean rooms, 2 spacious rooms and one a bit smaller. The rooms had comfortable beds.
We asked for blankets and got it right away.
You get into the estate, from an urban neighbourhood, through a narrow gate, to a nice, quite place in natural environment. It is a 10 minutes drive from the center of Florence (the railway station).
The suite has an attached terrace viewing the garden. great for relaxation in the morning.
Breakfast was good and plenty. We had cereals with milk, yougurt, rolls, croissants, cheese, jam, coffee, tea, chocco drink.
Lee took care of everything: the check-in procedure, the extra blankets, breakfast and check-out.
Note: When we arrived, Lee was out and the door was locked. There was a note to get her on the phone. Since we did not have a cell-phone, we went around the villa and an old lady let us in and we called from the phone inside. You should have a cell-phone or talk to the villa ahead of time to make sure that they are expecting you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amnon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

If you are considering booking this 'hotel', DO NOT DO THAT! The pictures on the web has nothing to do with reality.
After arrival we were shown to our room, which happened to be kind of a slave's dorm, with blue tiles like in a hospital. After complaining that it is not even close to what was promised we were offered 5€ discount and that we can spend the next night in a room which looks like the same as on the web. One of the best rooms with aircon, nice bathroom, etc.
When we moved over to the new room, it had no aircon, was dirty, bathroom covered with fungus and limescale. Disgusting to be honest.
The city is said to be in a comfortable, 15 mins walking distance. Actually it is 1h 20 mins to the city, and 1 h 40 mins back - uphill...
When leaving they tried to double charge us. During the last night they charged our credit card and in the morning they asked for the same amount in cash. We were lucky, because after the first night we read these reviews and checked our bank account before leaving. And disabled our credit card...
Have you ever drunk awfull coffee in Italy? If you believe it is impossible then just try it here...

Do not get trapped and scammed in the shame of Florence. Read the other reviews too before booking!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Admate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

First the good bits: The breakfast was brilliant, good coffee, great croissants, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the villa was once great, but now a bit run down. our room was large and very nice, bed very comfortable, but now start the bad bits: NO HOT WATER!!!!!
After our first night I turned on the hot water for a shower and after running it for 10 minutes it was a luke warm trickle coming out of the shower. We mentioned it at breakfast and were told they will look into it, only to find later nothing had changed and that the owner said that would be enough to have a shower. After 3 nights we changed rooms to a run down hot, stuffy appartment with no windows in the bedroom, a constant rumbling noise from the so called air con, but at least some warm water, So we had the choice between a great room or a warm shower, so we were stuck without hot water for a week. Message to the owner, please spent some money before the house falls down, or you get more poor ratings and no one will come. So everyone, if you want a shower on holiday, stay away from this place!!!!!

Room Tip: Don`t choose to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My clients spent one night here-they found the gardens to be overgrown. They were in a self-catering room with no glasses-unhelpful staff. Room was very spacious though. They caught a bus into the centre of town which was easy to do. They felt that the place wasn't being looked after properly, and that it must've been beautiful at one stage, but not anymore

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

You enter the massive estate down a tree-lined lane that contrasts impressively with the busy traffic on the street....peace abounds here! The lovely villa appears and the interior is furnished with period pieces plus a few more contemporary ones. Our room was so spacious and had a great sunset view! The customer service began weeks before our arrival when I would email questions on several occasions and always got a very prompt and helpful reply. When we met the couple at reception, we were given service that went 'above and beyond'. They were so attentive to our every need. The restaurant recommendation was one of our fave meal memories. The delicious breakfast on the terrace had great variety....the fresh croissants were out-of-this-world-good (much better than those we had in Paris!). We highly recommend this place for your Florence stay....great value, too!! Lee was a tribute to her profession and made our time at Villa Ulivi very memorable! Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I have been there only one night with my family and friends but it has been a very good experience. The house is only five minutes by car from the city center. The house is very beautiful, also de furniture and a woman (I don't know if she was the owner) has shown us all the rooms incluiding the cellar (marvellous). The rooms were not only big, were enormous It's a very beautiful place and they have also helped us with the reservation of our next hotel. Total recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martasubram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Sogni d’oro
#320 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Piazzale Michelangelo
B&B Soggiorno Petrarca
B&B Soggiorno Petrarca
#509 of 659 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
7 Santi Hostel
#45 of 297 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolce Notte
#7 of 11 in Signa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
#558 of 659 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
B&B Porta San Frediano
#231 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ulivi Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ulivi Dimora Storica

Property: Villa Ulivi Dimora Storica
Address: Via Bolognese 163, 50139, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #597 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ulivi Dimora Storica 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Ulivi is a beautiful and luxurious fifteenth century Florentine Villa located very close to the gistoric centre of Florence. Access to the downtown is attainable via a comfortable walk or a short bus ride down the famous Via Bolognese. With vineyards and olive orchards that beautify the grounds, Villa Ulivi allows for a relaxing retreat from the hustle-and-bustle of the nearby city centre. Rooms and apartments at Villa Ulivi are large, comfortable, furnished with antiques and illuminated by the Tuscan sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Ulivi Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ulivi Dimora Storica Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing