We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, but far too remote for city access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Florence Metropole
Ranked #150 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 7 June 2011

the hotel itself is fairly nice - it has a modern and cosy look and feel, the rooms are relatively large for italian standards, and staff are generally helpful and friendly.

liked:
modern and spacious rooms

disliked:
remote location that requires using both bus and tram to get into the city (there is a free hotel shuttle to the main station, but doesn't operate during mid-day hours)
there is an executive lounge, but it closes early on weekends which means if you stay for leisure it might as well not be there

Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
Thank PushingTheSenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigician, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your interesting and detailed review.
We hope you had a comfortable stay at our Hotel.
Concerning your comment about the shuttle service, we specify that the complimentary bus has a definitive schedule that the Reception Desk gives upon the arrival.
Hoping to welcome you again in Florence
Best regards
Luigi Cian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 2,110 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2011

pros - rooms are spacious for european hotels, bed is comfortable, clean and modern look, hotel has a FREE shuttle to downtown

cons - internet cost, breakfast, and pool cost extra $

We stayed here for vacation (wife and me) and enjoyed the stay. We thought it was nice that they offered a free shuttle. The shuttle takes 15-20 minutes to get to downtown. You do have to pay extra $ for breakfast or internet if you choose to use it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dabearsfan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel because it was easy to access from the autostrada, has free parking and good access into Florence. The hotel operates free shuttle buses throughout the day and evening into & out of Florence - it is a simple 15-20 minute ride each way. It was nice to have easy access to the city without having to drive in, and to have easy access to the highway for getting out of town. There is a shopping center next to the hotel - we didn't visit this, but it did seem to have groceries and a movie theater.

Breakfast was OK - nothing special, but decent enough. Given the low price of this hotel (which we booked through Expedia), it was a nice bonus to have breakfast included at all. The overall value of the place is very good - low price, nice rooms, good service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ej2denali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

my hubby and i went to florence for my birthday. we were both a little bit apprehensive about this particular location just coz of the shuttle ride to and from the town but we were worrying for nothing. the check in was a breeze, no problem checking in at all. we went up to 9th floor for our room and we were so excited. we were sooo not disappointed at all when we saw our room. we were in 901, a corner room. the view was just amazing!!!!

we can't fault the hotel at all! the most i like and thought it was a nice thought were the pillows. we had each 1 flatish and 1 highish pillow so you are not stuck with 2 high or low pillows. nice i thought. plus, the block out blinds they have, was a very welcome surprise as it was pretty sunny early in the morning. a bonus! we read some people were unhappy with the transparent bathroom doors, since i am a nosy person, i looked around a bit in the morning when the chambermaids are cleaning the rooms. the hotel have rooms with different lay out so some have bath and shower and no divider between the sleeping area and the bathroom. our room had the divider so it wasn't so intrussive for us but we didn't really mind as we're married. the room we had was a good size. we really didn't stay in in the hotel as we were out almost all day and that was the purpose of our hols, to sight-see. i am just sorry some guests didn't enjoy their stay in this hotel

the location was far from the centre and from all the action but the shuttle service' last drop off to the hotel from the town centre was at 10.30pm which suited my hubby and i. there were always seats available and the drive to and from the centre was always entertaining. we enjoyed watching how locals drive. unbelievable!!!!

the breakfast was always a welcome since we were away all day sight seeing . nothing special, no exotic foods but lots of choices and the staff were friendly and language was not a problem at all. we didn't expect to be served as it's a self- service service so they left us alone but when needed they are more than happy to our request.

we read on 1-2 reviews about this restaurant near the hotel Il Terzo Cerchio so we went to have dinner there on our first night. what a disappointment!!!!!!!!!!!! granted, the service was good but you don't go to a restaurant just for the service. since we were in italy we thought we'll have risotto, big mistake!!!! my husband had a mushroom risotto but it was plain rice they used and i had mussels in white white sauce, mussels were sooo skinny. i suppose it wasn't the mussels fault for being skinny but disappointing just the same. his main wan't bad but nothing special and mine was risotto with squid and shrimps. i wished i knew what their risotto was like before i ordered mine coz it was just plain rice. their were lots of locals eating there but mostly pizzas and pastas. maybe we are a bit hard on this resto but try for yourself to find out. there was a mall next to the hotel and we found out, it gets really busy at night around 8pm. we had a couple of dinner at Rio Grande Brasilian Resto and cocktails. was well worth the meal and time.

all in all, great stay. wi-fi soooo expensive and tv channels, might as well have no tv in the room. at night, we just watch sky news, bbc and cnn news. those are our only complaints though.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room, any 1st room on any floor
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank beth1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigician, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your time e nice word spent for our poperty the Hilton Florence Metropole in Florence Italy.
Customers like you to help us improve our service, we did a lot of attention to your suggestions and we will try to do our best to make your next stay even more pleasant.
Look forward to welcome back to Florence
Yours faithfully

Luigi Cian
General Manager
Hilton Florernce Metropole
Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli
Italy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

my sister and i stayed in hilton for our entire eurotrip (france, italy, germany, netherland) and i would say this is the very least impressive hilton among all.

The hotel is remotely located from the city centre, good that they provide shuttle bus service which is quite big so it can accomodate +30 people per trip. however imagine of you miss the last bus or you need to leave the hotel really early in the morning? its almost impossible for you to take a normal public transport (apart from taking taxi!).

The room is supprisingly small, and the design of the bathroom would make it ridiculous if youre travelling with friend as they use an transparent glass for the bathroom door!

the breakfast was not good at all! very few choices. and the restaurant attendants / waitress were not so attentive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susana0172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigician, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2011

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
Any constructive criticism is always appreciated in order to improve our performances.
Our complimentary shuttle bus has 29 seats available and offers a free service every hour.
About other inconveniences, the bathroom has a transparent glass…. But there is a sliding door that you can close upon your preferences and privacy.
We always provide a functional service, with a professional and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms as per guest’s expectations.
Hoping to welcome you again in Florence, we send our

Best Regards
Luigi Cian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This is more of a business traveler's hotel, but we found it to be very pleasant. An excellent breakfast buffet was served each morning, and the dinners we had were excellent, too.
Room was very clean and comfortable. We liked the shuttle service to the center of Florence.
Two drawbacks: There was no satellite service, so we couldn't watch any English-language news programming. We were not told we shouldn't open the windows at night, so we were bitten by mosquitos.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwilightZone55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We were driving from Rome and spending a couple of days in Florence. We found the the hotel an excellent choice, as we could park the van and use the shuttle, which runs hourly and drops you at the train station. The shuttle took 20 minutes to the train station, which was in walking distance of all the places we wanted to visit. The hotel was extraordinarily clean and the staff very efficient and helpfull. We had rooms on an upper floor, front, with a nice view of Florence.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS198541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigician, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear Client,

Thank you for your good words posted on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive comment concerning your stay in our Hotel.
Our special value is the most functional service, with a professional and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, trying to meet and satisfy our customer needs.

Awaiting to welcome you again in our Hilton Florence Metropole
Best Regards
Luigi Cian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#88 of 410 in Florence
1,159 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#106 of 410 in Florence
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 410 in Florence
1,241 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 410 in Florence
452 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Florence Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Florence Metropole

Address: Via del Cavallaccio 36, 50142, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Florence
#91 Family Hotel in Florence
#93 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £56 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Florence Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Florence Metropole is a contemporary hotel with a strategic location adjacent to all important traffic hubs. It is only 3 km (10 minutes) away from the Florence International Airport and the city business district. Hop on our 34-seats shuttle bus from/to the city centre (not bookable and at € 5.00 per room per stay) in order to reach in only a few minutes Florence major attractions like the Uffizi Gallery and the Duomo Cathedral. The 15-floors building offers, from the Executive Lounge’s terrace, a breathtaking view of Florence. It has 212 guestrooms - including 32 Executive rooms, 22 deluxe and 4 suites. Each guest room is furnished with a warm, contemporary style; wooden floor and spacious marble bathrooms can ensure maximum comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is provided of a complimentary external parking (50 boxes) and a charged covered garege (80 boxes), at € 10.00 per day per vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Florence Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Florence Metropole Hotel Florence
Florence Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing