We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, ok food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Florence Metropole
Ranked #146 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel, ok food”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at this Hilton Inn on the evening before my departure from Italy - I wanted to be close to the airport. The room is very nice - the TV even had french and english channels which was a nice change from Italian television BUT Wifi was 15 euros per 24 hrs ? seriously. I ordered room service, which was opened all day and the food was nice - the burger was horrible though - 31 euros for a giant salad and a mediocre burger ? hmm... but the room was only 84 euros... so all in all, its a nice hotel. There is also a nice patio/bar area outside. From my 10th floor room, i had a nice view of the Duomo during the full moon. There is a shuttle to go downtown but i did not use it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to review our Hotel.
We are waiting for your return and we really hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    833
    367
    126
    60
See reviews for
331
827
69
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mantova
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Perfect and gentle service, nice rooms, impressive whirlpool, very nice executive lounge on the last floor with terrace and breathtaking view over Florence. I already stayed there three times and had never anything to complain. Location is not the best (approx 15 minutes from city centre) but very good free shuttle service takes you to city centre. Free parking and nice restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodoldfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

we are really happy and we thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are extremely proud of guarantee a great service as per guest's expectations!
See you soon in Florence in the future!

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Check-in and check-out was quick and fuss-free.

The location of the hotel is not the best for tourist, but there is a free shuttle service (every 30-90 minutes depending on the time). The ride to the pick-up/drop-off point (opposite Firenze Santa Maria Novella stazione) is about 15-30 minutes, depending on traffic. It's a good pick-up/drop-off point as it's walking distance from most attractions. A tip: Get to the pick-up point slightly early if you don't want to risk not getting a seat in the bus! That said, the hotel is close to the airport!

The Executive Lounge has a nice view but poor canapé. And the breakfast spread was very basic.

As previously mentioned by a few reviewers, the internal walls are kind of thin. Every door slam or chatting outside the room door seemed to be amplified ... And they could also go with a bigger in-room television ...

In short, for the price paid for the room, this hotel meets all the basics.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn_wabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment concerning your stay at our Hilton Florence Metropole.
We always try to improve our service and performances in order to guarantee a comfortable stay for our guests.
Hoping to welcome you again in Florence, we send our

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitestown, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Everything at this hotel was great. From the point of checkin, to checkout, we were treated very well. We had two rooms and both were nice. The executive lounge was wonderful. being on one of the upper floors, with an outside seating area that gave you a wonderful view of the city and the surrounding area. Although not super close to city center, they did have a shuttle that runs on a regular schedule to get you to and from. The only downside with the shuttle, and it seems to be the norm in Europe you have to line up for the shuttle 15 to 30 minutes prior to departure time, otherwise you run the risk of not getting a seat. Again it would seem the simple solution is to add another shuttle. The folks at the front desk were fantastic!!!!!!!! They were extremely helpful with making restaurant recommendations, and making reservations for both diner and for visiting the David statue.

This is a big hint. If you plan on visiting the statue of David, the lines can run 2 to 3 hours to get in. For only a couple of dollars more per person, the hotel can make a reservation for you so you can just walk up at your appointed time pay for your tickets and walk right in.

What a great staff that appreciates their guests!!!,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your words, starting from the title of the review!
We really hope to see you again soon!
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The Hilton Metropole is located in a great location if you're hear for business; close to the airport and the Autostrada, inexpensive (for a Florence hotel), with good meeting spaces and dining options. A mall next door adds convenience if you need any sundries or office supply materials.

The hotel rooms are very modern and fittings & furnishings are new. My bed was a bit too firm for my liking and the air-con is noisy if on a high setting. Bathrooms are very nice; no bathtub but a nice walk-in shower with rainfall head, heated marble floors and a crystal vanity.

I'm told there's a great roof-top bar with views to Florence city centre, I never made it up there... Shuttle to Florence runs frequently, very convenient if time allows for some exploration & sight-seeing. Overall I was very pleased and will return the next time I visit the area.

Highly recommended +++++

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s a pleasure to read your comment you shared with all Tripadvisor users.
Thank s a lot for your good words and I really hope you will come back in Florence and you will choose Hilton Florence Metropole for your next stay in our Cradle of Renaissance.

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Location is the main drawback. You need the Hotel Shuttle or a taxi to go to any of the city's attractions.
Check in/out were swift but the staff omitted to charge the first night (booked through AmEx and called me to ask me permission to charge my card).
Sleeping quality is very good but the bed head is distant from the wall which was annoying.
The room is very clean and new, with a fresh feeling. It helped to recover from a long day's stroll! The TV is way too small and it has no on demand entertainment.
Breakfast was good and up to Hilton standard but the toaster was broken. The restaurant staff toasted some bread in the oven... but not quite the same thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommaso_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay in Florence and for your good words.
Our location is 4 km far from the City Center but well connected with the Hilton Shuttle bus complimentary for our guests.
Hoping to welcome you soon.
Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

This is a comfortable business-type hotel about 20 minutes by car or taxi from Florence centre. Taxis usually take only 3-4 minutes to arrive when
you call. The area is charmless and modern in a 1980s (i.e. not good) way. There is a regular shuttle bus to the station if you don't want to pay for a taxi. Breakfast is OK, staff are OK, some more friendly than others. Lifts are irritatingly slow for a 14 storey hotel. Reasonably close to the airport (but still a taxi ride). The hotel bar is utterly soulless. Free wi-fi downstairs but €15 a day in your room. Bedrooms and bathrooms are good standard (4*)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind comment on the Tripadvisor website.
I am pleased to read that you had a good stay; guest's positive feedback is the aim of our job!
I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Florence very soon.

Best Regards

Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Starhotels Tuscany
#102 of 411 in Florence
737 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 411 in Florence
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Italiana Hotels Florence
#159 of 411 in Florence
998 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 411 in Florence
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Florence Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Florence Metropole

Property: Hilton Florence Metropole
Address: Via del Cavallaccio 36, 50142, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Florence
#86 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#134 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Florence Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Florence Metropole is a contemporary hotel with a strategic location adjacent to all important traffic hubs. It is only 3 km (10 minutes) away from the Florence International Airport and the city business district. Hop on our complimentary shuttle bus from/to the city centre in order to reach in only a few minutes Florence major attractions like the Uffizi Gallery and the Duomo Cathedral. The 15-floors building offers, from the Executive Lounge’s terrace, a breathtaking view of Florence. It has 212 guestrooms - including 32 Executive rooms, 22 deluxe and 4 suites. Each guest room is furnished with a warm, contemporary style; wooden floor and spacious marble bathrooms can ensure maximum comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is provided of complimentary parking facilities: external parking (50 boxes) and covered garege (80 boxes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Florence Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Florence Metropole Hotel Florence
Florence Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing