We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay & convenient shuttle bus!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Florence Metropole
Ranked #152 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Lovely hotel with roof top terrace- showing a gorgeous view of Florence if you have access to the Executive lounge. Great food and drinks selection in the lounge too. Great shuttle bus service which runs every hour and takes 20mins into town and rail station. This was really convenient when visiting the tourist attractions as they are then all walking distance from town.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank shanir p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

It’s a pleasure to read your comment you shared with all Tripadvisor users.
Thank s a lot for your good words and I really hope you will come back in Florence and you will choose Hilton Florence Metropole for your next stay in our Cradle of Renaissance.

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Since years I've to travel to this region approx. one time a year and always stayed in the Hilton Metropole hotel. From year to year it's getting worse. But this time I got so many bad experiences that I won't come again and can't suggest this hotel anymore.

When I arrived in my room the toilett was not working at all, because the button for the water was destroyed. I informed the staff. They repaired it more or less during the evening when I was in the restaurant.
In the restaurant I must say the food was very good. But the staff was not friendly and two waitors for the whole restaurant were totaly to less.
In the room there were no toothbrush glas, no bathrobe and no slipper. For a 4 star Hilton I would expect these things!
The next evening at the bar it tooks over 10 minutes until a bar keeper was available. It was not overcrowed or he have been busy, no he was even not their. I got to ask two time at the front desk until they send someone.
The staff at breakfast was also overtaxed. They were not able to clean tables in time after people left for the next guests.
Coming to the conditions of the furnishings... They should do some renovations soon. Look at the two pictures attached. Holes in the floor in the bathroom and mould at the border of the bath.

The Internet is only free in the lobby/bar. In the room they charge for it.

Only reason why I give two points and not only one... I wrote an email to the management of the hotel during my stay. They sent me a bottle of wine and some fruits as excuse.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyingdutchman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear flyingdutchman81,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback.

We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment. Please allow me to apologize once again for the issues you experienced during your stay.

Although the toilet issue was prompt rectified, we are of course very concerned about your comments in regards to the staff attitude and the perception of our in-rooms facilities. We generally pride ourselves on our team capability to offer high level of service and we will take all the actions to avoid these lacks in the future.

As frequent guest, you are indeed very important to us and we appreciate your company loyalty.

Hoping to welcoming you back soon,
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during our stay in Florence. Superb choice for the price we paid! Book it through hilton website with early bird package and can get a room with only 90 euro. I summarized below:

1. Stay in this hotel if u want a very nice room and dont mind the distance to city centre. Hilton do provide shuttle bus (first come first serve), with around 15 min ride to Piazza Adua just opposite SMN train station.

2. The room is really nice with a very modern feel. We are upgraded to the suite (extra bonus!) The reception is very helpful and speak really good english.

3. Breakfast is good and the breakfast room is very nice with modern feel as well.

4. Only bad point is the shuttle service is following a hourly time table and first come first serve basis - so u might need to wait for another hr if the bus is full.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your words, starting from the title of the review!
It’s been a pleasure to welcome you and we are happy if we have contributed with a small act to guarantee a special stay!

We really hope to see you again soon!
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was a nice quiet hotel and, although it is about 20 minutes from the town centre, this was not a problem as there is a frequent and very reliable shuttle. The food was good and the staff helpful and friendly [with the exception of the maitre'd in the main restaurant who wouldn't let my friend have an item from the specials menu unless she paid for 2 other courses she didn't want and was quite rude in that refusal] I wouldn't bother upgrading to city view as it is too far away to make a difference. Save your money for the executive floor, the lounge is super, nice staff and good views. My executive room was OK but the bathroom had seen better days, there is a decorative wood strip on the floor which had broken and been badly repaired so that you were in danger of stubbing your toes or scratching your feet. I covered it with the bathroom mat for the duration of my stay. The shower leaked and was rotting the door frame and the hand basin leaked onto your feet.

Room Tip: Executive floor is quiet and the lounge is definitely a benefit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to review our Hotel.
We are waiting for your return and we really hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during our visit to Florence. Although we knew the hotel was a ways out of the main parts of old Florence, we were disappointed that it was like being in the middle of no where. The hotel itself is pretty nice. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, However there was some kind of meeting going on and everyone was trying to check in at once, making the wait to check in extremely long. We were upgraded to a suite with a view of the highway. But I don't think there was much to see in either direction. The room, while large, had no warmth to it at all. Dark wood floors, lots of glass, and TV screens not much bigger than my computer screen. The bathroom was nice and large, with a separate toilet area, with a choice of shower and a tub. Although it wasn't warm outside, our room never got down to a comfortable temperature. No matter what we tried, the room stayed warm, which made it uncomfortable to sleep in. The hotel had a fairly nice executive lounge on the 15th floor. We never utilized it for the hotel is too far from town to come back and forth. Although they have a shuttle that is handy for getting into town in the morning and back at night, it is not handy for coming back to the hotel to freshen up in between since it doesn't run between 12:30 and 3:30. You are better off just staying in town exploring and then finding a good spot for dinner. Keep in mind that the shuttle has limited seating. I think about 29 people. So you need to get to both the hotel lobby and the drop off/pick up point 15 or so minutes early to catch a seat. Each time we rode it, it was full. If you arrive at the train station taking a taxi to the hotel cost us 15 euro, but cost us 20 euro going back. Not sure if the shuttle has a luggage compartment if you want to utilize that, but we just thought it was easier to take a taxi. We had breakfast at the hotel which was included in the price of the room. It is served in a large bright area, but the food is mediocre at best. In fact, although they had wait staff, they never approached the table. There was a big pot of coffee on the buffet table and you had to serve yourself. I understand the food, but the coffee?? That was the first time we experienced this during our travels in Europe. Also, although it was not crowded, they were slow at replacing some of the food items. Rather disappointing. Overall, this hotel worked out okay for us, but would not stay again unless its for one night before leaving for the airport. Florence is too magical of a city to not stay in the heart of things.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snormy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to review our Hotel.
We are waiting for your return and we really hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Would highly recommend staying! Beautiful room, very quiet, clean, modern!! Bed and linens were extremely nice. Had nice service from bar and front desk staff. Just need to offer free internet svc in rooms and not just lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,

we are really happy and we thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are extremely proud of guarantee a great service as per guest's expectations!
See you soon in Florence in the future!

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

WOW!! this was a very nice hotel. When booking this hotel i was not quite sure what to expect especially with location and being 15 minutes out of Florence town centre. As soon as we got here it had a WOW factor to it. Friendly staff, nice luxury hotel.

Check-in was smooth and we also received a free upgrade to a suite which was awesome. This entitled us to the club lounge access. Could not complain. The room was spectacular very well furnished and very spacious. Great amenities. Nice bar, and dining option at the hotel.

The pool was very nice and so was the gym. Great facilities.

What i really liked was the free shuttle bus to and from the hotel to town florence train station. Left the hotel every 1 hour till late and this was great service. Was a very nice bus as well.

Staff were very helpful and polite.

Could not fault this hotel. Even being 15 minutes from the centre it was still worth the stay.

Would be back here in a heart beat.

Room Tip: see if they have the option of a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip_Specialist_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,

It’s a pleasure to read your comment you shared with all Tripadvisor users.
Thank s a lot for your good words and we will more than happy to welcome you again!
Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 410 in Florence
1,135 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#104 of 410 in Florence
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#126 of 410 in Florence
588 reviews
Piazzale Michelangelo
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#62 of 410 in Florence
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Florence Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Florence Metropole

Address: Via del Cavallaccio 36, 50142, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Florence
#91 Family Hotel in Florence
#91 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £60 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Florence Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Florence Metropole is a contemporary hotel with a strategic location adjacent to all important traffic hubs. It is only 3 km (10 minutes) away from the Florence International Airport and the city business district. Hop on our complimentary shuttle bus from/to the city centre in order to reach in only a few minutes Florence major attractions like the Uffizi Gallery and the Duomo Cathedral. The 15-floors building offers, from the Executive Lounge’s terrace, a breathtaking view of Florence. It has 212 guestrooms - including 32 Executive rooms, 22 deluxe and 4 suites. Each guest room is furnished with a warm, contemporary style; wooden floor and spacious marble bathrooms can ensure maximum comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is provided of complimentary parking facilities: external parking (50 boxes) and covered garege (80 boxes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hilton Florence Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Florence Metropole Hotel Florence
Florence Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing