We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very decent place at a decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villino Il Magnifico
Ranked #296 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A very decent place at a decent price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Fairly central, Florence city centre can easily be reached on foot or by bus. Free internet, clean, spacious, quiet. Some restaurants close by. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    38
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I was pleasantly surprised on being shown my room at Villino Il Magnifico; being a B&B at the lower ranges of budget I didn't have high expectations. The room was large, clean and well appointed with nice, solid furniture; the bathroom less large but perfectly adequate. My view was of the courtyard and surrounding houses, a charming genteel outlook.
I stayed two nights and appreciated the location - close enough to the major sights to be able to walk back comfortably there and back, but distant enough to be reasonably quiet at night. The exception to this was some inconsiderate fellow guests who unfortunately ensured that my second night was regularly disturbed - obviously not in the control of the hotel however!
Breakfast could be improved by providing a few fresh options - more fruit and fresh croissants, for example. Saying that, I came away satisfied and refreshed for the day ahead.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nile78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

We have stayed at Il Magnifico Oct 09-12.2007.
This hotel is OK, but it did not meet our expectations because it is run not as Bed and Breakfast with personal touch and hartly Italian hosts, but as a very basic hotel. The owners were nice, but we hardly saw them at all.
We felt that we did not get sufficient value for our money.
The place is very nice inside with antic style florentine furnishing and spacy bathrooms. The shower is good, which is rare. It was also good to have wireless internet, which is rare as well.
Hovewer, our room was very stuffy and full of moskitoes. We coudn't open the window and the air conditioning was very loud (literally worked as a 5 t truck), so we couldn't sleep at night.
The breakfast area was furnished beautifully, but the breakfast was very basic (not a hartly Italian breakfast which was advertised); coffee from the coffee machine, butter, cheese, some bread and cookies. Everything from the fridge, nothing fresh.
I would not recommend this hotel to my friends because there are better places in Florence for the price.
Ekaterina, Vancouver, Canada

  • Liked — Furnishing
  • Disliked — Moskitoes and luod air conditioning
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile reception at Villino Il Magnifico, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Dear Guest,
we are very sorry you went through this negative experience during your visit at Villino il Magnifico in 2007 and just wanted to let you know that there's a new management since February 2010.
Our family set the bases of its daily work on a warm atmosphere and attention to details.
Therefore most of our guests really feel at home !!!
Besides the breakfast we serve daily is rich and fresh and rooms details were bettered wherever needed.
We sincerely hope to have you as our guest again here in Florence...we are confident you would taste the difference.

Warmest Regards
Villino il Magnifico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Hotel Lido
#378 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Hotel Arno Bellariva
#271 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Arco Antico B&B
Arco Antico B&B
#132 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Piazzale Michelangelo
Villa alle Rampe
Villa alle Rampe
#378 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Cimabue 9
#80 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villino Il Magnifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villino Il Magnifico

Property: Villino Il Magnifico
Address: Via Orcagna 24/26, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villino Il Magnifico 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villino Il Magnifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing