We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice large room, very quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Soggiorno Annamaria
Ranked #292 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Dexter, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice large room, very quiet”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Katti's House also owns Soggiorno Anna Maria, which Rick Steve's said was the quieter of the two. Our room was very quiet, quite large, and everything you could want for 100 euro ($144). I do recommend the hotel. The only reason that I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 was that communication was not very good. When I reserved the room over the website, I received back a very nice comunication in English. But then I asked if they could reserve us a specific time for two museums, and the response was all in Italian. I tried using a web translater, but that didn't help. It appeared that they had reserved days and times for me, although they had the museums switched around from the days I had requested, and one time was off 2 hours, which ended up being fine. I didn't know if my requested times and dates didn't work out or what. Then I asked if we could leave the luggage with them since checkin was 3 pm, and if we could have an early breakfast. The response was in Italian. I responded back that I didn't understand them, and could someone there respond to me in English. More Italian. I sent the messages to my brother who works with Italian's, and I was told that the response sounded like someone who was really not Italian but was trying to responsd to me in Italian! I gave up, but it all worked out. We showed up early and were able to leave our luggage, and the breakfast was already in our room in wrappers for the next day. Maria was VERY friendly, but it caused me a lot of frustration with the communication, and wondering if I really had reservations for the museums (which I did, just not exactly what I had asked for)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharkgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    17
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Staying in Soggiorno Annamaria is like visiting family...lumpy bed, small noisy room on the street, pretty barebones, but I've been there twice because it's convenient for a solo woman traveler..close to the bus and train stations, great location for exploring all of Florence. I feel very safe and feel like I've really accomplished something when I've managed to communicate with the owners. I think it's a real Italian experience...just wish the room wasn't so incredibly noisy. The street vendors store their wagons in the adjacent building so you go to sleep and wake up with the rumbling of the wagons on the cobblestones. Be sure to try their new trattoria next to Katti House.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. Ask about A/C and how to work it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curlyred52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Nice rooms, clean, great location. Perfect for visiting florence. I totally appreciated it, and will come back!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie-ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

My wife and I were visiting Florence to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Over the years we have done a great deal of traveling and have stayed in a variety of accommodations. Our goal was to only spend time in the room to sleep, shower, and change, so we could spend the rest of the time seeing Florence. The location is good and easy to walk to most of the attractions. The rooms are simple and clean and we were in the back room of the Annamaria with a private Bath. Some noise traveled from the hall into the room, as guests entered and left the hotel, but since there were only 5 rooms on the floor, we rarely heard anyone. The other guests who stayed there were considerate and quite, so there was never an issue. The woman who runs the place is friendly and helpful, and though we only speak English, making it challenging to communicate, she will accommodate and assist requests such as reservations for the museums or pointing out a restaurant. There is free internet access in the main Katti house. For budget travelers looking for a clean, well located accommodation, the Annamaria is a good choice and a great value.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_in_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2010

This hotel choice was doomed from the start. We arrived at the location and hit the buzzer designated "Soggiorno Annamaria" and the person that answered said that we were at the wrong place. I tried again and got no answer. I then called the hotel phone number and the person answering said that I only had a one night reservation even though I had the email confirmation for 2 nights. The owner came over from their affiliate hotel to let us in, and while it was a pleasant room it only had one small double bed even though I had an email confirmation for 2 twin beds for me and my adult daughter. That night was when the fun began. We were in a room with a window on the busy street side. Even with the windows and shutters closed, the loud noise from the people shouting and laughing, and the vehicles going up and down the street did not stop until around 1 or 2 in the morning. We got a few hours sleep until the sounds of the vendors and delivery folk woke us before sunrise. The next day we were moved to a room with 2 twin beds, but it unfortunately had the same noisy conditions.
The icing on the cake was that the key to the front door never worked. We had to wait for someone to let us in each time we went out.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrails9518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2006

Great room!
You won't believe it until you open the door. Totally charming. First rate.
Fully refurbished.

However, it took us AGES to find the hotel. We walk back and forth past it about 10 times. There is no foyer, just a locked door on the street! There was a small sign that said to go down the road to another place. We finally found the owner and they gave us the key and escorted us up.

It's right in the heart of Florence, just a stones throw from the Domo et.al.

No internet though, but there are internet places next door.

They did goof up our credit card transaction and they charged us twice, currently trying to get it back. Not really their fault though (the printer failed), the old couple who own it just can't handle this new fangled technology.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveJAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#289 of 411 in Florence
198 reviews
Florent
#172 of 411 in Florence
171 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#165 of 411 in Florence
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#129 of 411 in Florence
436 reviews
Hotel Ferrucci
#209 of 411 in Florence
495 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#130 of 411 in Florence
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Annamaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Annamaria

Property: Soggiorno Annamaria
Address: Via Faenza 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soggiorno Annamaria 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Soggiorno Annamaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno Annamaria Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing