We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True taste of Florence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Soggiorno Annamaria
Ranked #316 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you have one night to visit and you are seeking the true taste of Florence this is the perfect place to stay. My room had a window that opened to the side street below where the locals gathered at the cafes and restaurants which made me feel more like a local than a visitor. My room was quaint and spotless. The innkeeper, Maria, is warm and inviting, the way I imagine an Italian matriarch should be. In addition to her hospitality she offers a gracious breakfast and a hot cappuccino to start you on your day. One stay and you begin to feel like family! I would recommend this to all my friends.
TD Lookout Mountain, TN

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDACUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We went to Katti House but were made to stay at the sister property down the street, called Soggiorno Anna Maria, up a dingy, creepy staircase. It may have been nicer to stay in the actual Katti House, since the other property lacked the cozy B&B experience one usually looks for. The only time we interacted with the B&B owners, or rather, their minions, was when we went to eat the cold continental breakfast, where we wanted to just rush in and out.
We had booked for a triple room, and were shown to a meanly proportioned room with virtually no spaced to walk about after the third bed for my six year old was shoved in. The owners did not even provide for a tumbler, forget about water and such luxuries. And it was not that cheap either, given that it was off season.
It was the kind of room one does not want to come home to, even after staying out and walking all day. There was no window barring one that opened into a dirty shaft like area. The room would smell like sewer when we walked in after a tiring day spent sightseeing. The beds would be made up each day, but there was no cleaning done during our entire stay. We were so glad to leave it.
Overall, an unpleasant experience and people are sincerely warned against staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nishtha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The B&B is strategically located close both to Piazza del Duomo and the railway station.
The room, in an ancient house, was rather charming, and Mrs Annamaria and her kind family gave us a warm welcome. The room was quiet.
I think it's really good value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank RockZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Soggiorno Annamaria Location: Florence, Tuscany, Italy, Europe We selected this hotel from the Rick Steves book. After the first night we noticed bites on my wife and myself and suspected them to be bed bugs. After inspecting the mattress, we found it incased in a plastic bag and per web sites that is usually and indication of previous bed bug infestations. We sent a note to the owner and she is disputing that they were not bed bugs. We have never been bitten by bed bugs before but the bite marks sure look like pictures on numerous web sites. Other than the bed bugs we found the room ok although the floor needed cleaned in our room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bernie1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at the Soggiorno Annamaria" last October. The room was wonderful and very clean, the breakfast excellent. The owner Maria helpful and very nice italian lady. The location perfect to visit Florence just walking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taurus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Soggiorno Annamaria is one of two hotels (the other is Katti House) under common ownership and management on Via Faenza, a few blocks from the train station in Florence, and just up the street from the Mercato Centrale and street market - check-in for both is done at Katti House. (If no one is there when you come by, check at the Katti House restaurant a few doors to the left). Soggiorno Annamaria is in a refurbished renaissance palazzo with period sgraffito designs on the outside walls.

The room is large for a Euro-hotel with a modern bathroom and good furnishings. The owner is friendly and helpful. But the outstanding feature was the new windows - large wood-framed windows that fit in well with the heritage building. Double-glazed and double windows. The ground floor of the building is occupied by a pizzeria with seating on the street, with a lot of background chatter. While there's not a lot of traffic on the street there's an ongoing buzz of activity and passersby. But with the windows closest, no sound penetrates. The result - perhaps the quietest hotel we'd ever slept in. A great upgrade!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I selected this lodging based on information from Rick Steves and other TripAdviisor reviews. This was one of the few times we were disappointed.

The location is great. It's a short walk from the train station and an easy walk to the sights in Florence. No problem here.

The room itself was fairly nice, well decorated, adequate bed, but definitely inadequate air conditioning, which wouldn't matter so much except that the room overlooks the street which can be quite noise in the evenings and early morning if you open the windows. The big problem was the shabby bathroom. The shower doors were off their track and falling out, so they wouldn't close. The worst was that the water varied from something less than luke warm to, most of the time, cold. And this was true for any time of day we used it, on any of the days. And apparently it wasn't just our room, based on others' comments. The toilet was somewhat loose and wabbly and the lid was wired on since the normal attachment had broken. There was a plastic glass provided which might have been clean, but didn't look so with what appeared to be a black growth in the bottom, so we didn't use it.

Breakfast was provided in a breakfast room at her other location (a few doors away), the Katti House. It was a continental breakfast but less than normal and not all that appealing.

Given the location and the quality of the bedroom, with some fixing and care this could be a much better lodging. And it needs improvement in the breakfast, which is a bit surprising since she also runs the restaurant next door to her Katti house. We did not eat in her restaurant since I found it odd that Rick Steves recommended the lodging but did not discuss the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#289 of 410 in Florence
206 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#215 of 410 in Florence
498 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Delle Tele
Hotel Delle Tele
#212 of 410 in Florence
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#117 of 410 in Florence
798 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#120 of 410 in Florence
458 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#195 of 410 in Florence
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Annamaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Annamaria

Address: Via Faenza 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £62 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soggiorno Annamaria 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Soggiorno Annamaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno Annamaria Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing