We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soggiorno Alessandra
Ranked #344 of 643 Florence B&B and Inns
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Florence”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

As many of the other reviews note, this place is no frills. We stayed in a little room with a shared bathroom, but it was by far the cheapest place we found in the city. There was a little hot pot in the room with tea and instant coffee and cappuccino, which was close to perfection after getting soaked by a surprise rainstorm. Alessandra herself was so nice and accommodating. Another plus about this place was that, even with our bags, it was an easy walk to the train station. If you're looking for luxury, stay someplace else. If you just want a cheap, easy room nestled in a cool area with bars and art shops, check it out. **I was traveling with someone, but this would have been a great place to stay as a solo female.

Room Tip: There are two types of rooms, regular and economy. The economy has a shared bathroom, but we never s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dre779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    33
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
40
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn Heights
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I paid 65 Euros/night for two nights in September 2013 for this clean, safe but no-frills double room one block south of the Arno River. The place can difficult to find, as it is not well-marked and is tucked into an apartment building; so it is smart follow directions that are emailed in advance. Alessandra, the owner who runs the place, speaks English well and is very kind and helpful. The rooms are basic, but comfortable and quiet. We saved 10 Euros a night by taking a double with a private bath across the hall, and it was a good decision. The bathroom is small, but serviceable: shower above the toilet with a curtain that pulls back. Bring your own shampoo, but they have towels and a hairdryer. They also have a hot-pot to heat water, assorted coffee/tea/crackers, and a sink in the room, which is nice with the bathroom across the hall. If you plan to spend a great deal of time in your room, this probably is not the place for you, but it was fine for the time we were there. WiFi was excellent and free. Last year, we stayed for two nights at an upscale, high-priced hotel just north of the Arno. Neither that room or this one has a view. The up-scale room was nicer, but not much larger. I actually liked this more -- for one-fifth of the price. You are pretty much on your own here, but can come and go as you please. Oltrarno is a great deal. Florence is so small; so it is easy to walk from here to anywhere else in the city-center, including the train station. Oltrarno has excellent restaurants (Trattoria Casalinga), great gelato, and some quality sites (Santa Spirito). The streets are narrow, sidewalks small, and traffic annoying, but that's true for all of Florence. However, walking across the river, which is so lovely to begin with, you can almost feel the prices drop. For the money, I don't think that you can beat Soggiorno Alessandra.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CheyeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Immaculate, warm, comfortable treasure very convenient location in Florence. Lovely helpful owner/host-Allesandra. This is our second visit and would never stay anywhere else in Florence .the price is phenomenal. So many wonderful restaurants in this area and just a short walk to all the sites on the other side of the river. I will recommend this great place to everyone I know.

Room Tip: This trip we had a wonderful cozy room in the back with private bathroom , wi-fi, refrigerator all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanhopem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The building is creepy and not so easy to find. Our room was fine. The shower is the kind that is a space right beside the toilet. Florescent lights. Bring your own shampoo, etc. But location is what we were looking for (Oltrano near the Arno) and for the price it can't be beat. You have to ask for the wi-fi password.

Room Tip: Room No 2 was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawyerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed in Florence and used it as a base to go to Lucca and to Sienna also. We stayed for 5 nights and very glad we stayed on that side of town, that side of river because of all the great restaurants hidden in the narrow streets there away from the big plazas.

The room was clean but basic with a horrible fluorescent main light, so we kept that off and used the table lamps and side lamps that gave the room and much more inviting warm glow. Replace the cold coloured florescent lamps Alessandra!

For the price we were very happy with this.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in early September and it was great.The Hilton or the Casbah it is not,but very clean,close to main sights and Alessandra who was celebrating her 10th wedding anniversary was more than helpful.Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 9 nights while visiting Florence for a friend's wedding. I would have no problem recommending this B&B while touring the Florence. It is an ideal base and close to some wonderful sites-only two bridges away from the Ponte Vecchio. Accommodation was comfortable and cleaned everyday.A small breakfast was also available in our room. Staff were friendly, we had our own key&there was no curfew. Accommodation is what you expect for the price you pay. I would go back here if I were to visit Florence again.

Room Tip: wireless is available on code request
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omalleypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Guicciardini
Palazzo Guicciardini
#151 of 411 in Florence
168 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
San Frediano Mansion
San Frediano Mansion
#307 of 643 in Florence
226 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Residenza D'Epoca Al Numero 8
Residenza D'Epoca Al Numero 8
#186 of 643 in Florence
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
La Torre del Cestello
La Torre del Cestello
#105 of 643 in Florence
100 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Casa Pucci B&B
Casa Pucci B&B
#164 of 643 in Florence
101 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Residenza d'Epoca Via Santo Spirito 6
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Alessandra

Property: Soggiorno Alessandra
Address: Borgo San Frediano 6, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Soggiorno Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is located on the first floor in historic palace of 15th century in the center of Florence, 10 minutes walk from the Central Train Station of Santa Maria Novella and the Duomo and 5 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio (the Old Bridge), Uffizi Gallery, Pitti Palace and Boboli Garden... From here you can visit all the city just walking around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soggiorno Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing