We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outstanding Budget Option in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soggiorno Alessandra
Ranked #387 of 661 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2008

Located in the Oltrarno quarter of Florence, this B&B is recommended in Rick Steves Florence & Tuscany guidebook - and heartily by me. It is a great budget choice in Florence; not a budget town. Despite reading a somewhat negative review, we made a choice to lodge here. Long ago I discovered that there are reviewers who bash small rooms, European breakfasts, church bells and smoking, among other complaints. Those travelers, IMHO, should stay at a Hilton or Sheraton, in their home town. That said, I seek out locally owned and operated B&Bs in Europe such as the the Soggiorno Alessandra. We booked there and stayed in three rooms, sharing one bath, down the hall, but all on one, private floor. It was nearly our own apartment. The rooms we booked at the B&B were large enough, clean and didn't smell of smoke. While the breakfast was pre-packaged with instant coffee, it was adequate and satisfying. We found the experience of eating breakfast in our rooms to be a convenient start to the day. Our host was helpful with recommendations and directions. Take it from a veteran European traveler, this is a very good budget Florence choice.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarkkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2007

We stayed at Soggiorno Alessandra this fall and found it to be a little lacking. Alessandra was very friendly, and our room was quiet. However, our room was VERY small...I felt like we were living in a closet. Also, while there is no smoking in the rooms, our room was right next to Alessandra's, and she must smoke beause often we'd come back to find our room smelling quite smoky. The breakfasts were not great, either. Most days we ended up buying breakfast somewhere else. The hotel is in a great location -- easy to walk to the major sites, and the price was very reasonable. If you're on a tight budget, Alessandra's is not bad, but if you can spend a little more for a better room, I would.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mmmmkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Unfortunately we drove to Florence--scary! However when we arrived in the city we called Alessandra and she was extremely helpful. When we arrived she helped us with parking and was so nice. Also we arrived much later then we thought we would (traffic) and it was no problem. Luckily our room had air conditioning so we didn't have to leave the windows open which was good because of the noise and the mosquitos. The in-room breakfeast was better than expected.
Overall it is a good value and the location is pretty good too. Its an easy walk to all the main attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambershal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

I recently stayed here and found Alessandra and her helper, Barbara, to be very nice, and helpful. Both went out of their way to assist us where they could. The location is also excellent - no need to use buses or taxis to get around - everything you will want to see is within walking distance.

The photos you see on their website of the rooms are somewhat deceiving - be prepared to get a smaller room than what the pictures show.

Also, this place is best for experienced travellers to Italy - the bathrooms may shock those who have never stayed in Italy before. Not only is the bathroom super small, but there is no actual bath tub (so when you shower, the whole bathroom showers with you) - only a drain in the floor of the showering area and a shower curtain. The toilet is also in the showering area, so it will definitely get wet when you do shower. Having the toilet there also means that you have very little room to shower, and that you must use the toilet essentially in the showering area.

Breakfasts are small (to be prepared yourself in your own room) - you will get a kettle with some instant coffee or tea, and some packaged croissants, biscuits, cookies and jam. This is sufficient for small eaters or people in a hurry. But if you are looking for something a little better, there are a few places down the street where you can get excellent pastries and a wide selection of coffees for a true Italian breakfast, and can do so quite inexpensively (most coffees are 0,80 Euros and pastries run at 0,90 Euros).

On the whole, the place is relatively clean, well-run, and you will find plenty of help from either Alessandra or Barbara should you need it. While I would not consider staying here for a lengthy stay (only because I would want something a little bigger), if I found myself in Florence for a short visit, I would definitely come back here. The location, price and service cannot be beat.

Note: This B&B only accepts cash payment - so make sure you bring enough cash with you to pay Alessandra on your last day there. There is also a strict cancellation policy (she will advise you of it at the time of booking), so anything less than 30 days notice of a cancellation, will result in you having to pay a penalty of some kind.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank qwerty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

I would think twice before staying at this hotel. While it is reasonably priced, you get what you pay for. First off, we had a room on the street and the street noise was horrible--it didn't stop all night. Even with ear plugs, it was hard to sleep. Also, when you arrive at the hotel, you walk through a dingy corridor and up the stairs--the whole area smells of mold and mildew.

As for the pluses, the rooms are quite inexpensive and within walking distance of everything. Alessandra is very nice and also very helpful in making reservations.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2006

I've stayed here twice. Each time was great. This is a small B&B in the Santo Spirito neighborhood of Florence. It is an easy walk to the train station, Duomo and all the sites. Alessandra is a wonderful host who speaks English. The rooms are simple, but clean, comfortable and have private bathrooms. They have little fridges so you can keep juice, fruit or wine easily. She does not serve breakfast, but provides coffee, tea and rolls to make your own. It works to get you out the door for real Italian espresso and pastry. The rooms have TV so you can work on your Italian, if you wish. I will go back to Soggiorno Alessandra.

5  Thank amoviaggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soggiorno A, Proprietario at Soggiorno Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,954 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,110 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#38 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Alessandra

Address: Borgo San Frediano 6, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £43 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Soggiorno Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is located on the first floor in historic palace of 15th century in the center of Florence, 10 minutes walk from the Central Train Station of Santa Maria Novella and the Duomo and 5 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio (the Old Bridge), Uffizi Gallery, Pitti Palace and Boboli Garden... From here you can visit all the city just walking around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Soggiorno Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing