We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soggiorno Alessandra
Ranked #352 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 1 January 2011

If you're looking for the cheapest place to stay comfortably in Florence, with a private bathroom, this is it. The location is decent, with convenient access to the bars and restaurants of Oltrarno, but is a bit of a hike from the main sites. However, for those wanting to stay away from the overly-touristy center, this is a good choice. Beware of an alarmingly early checkout time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    33
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
40
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

My wife and I stayed here for several nights in May 2009. Our room was clean and we had a private bathroom across the hall from our room. The room had a window but it looked into a storage / utility room that had a skylight and sinks / mops / brooms. Also, the room had a noticeable mold / mildew odor. It was not very pleasant.

The bathroom did not have a shower in it when it was originally built, but a drain and shower head were added at some later point as a remodel. This caused two problems: 1) while there is a shower curtain, the water still runs all over the bathroom floor because the drain is level with the rest of the floor, and 2) there was not a vent or other means of air circulation in the bathroom which caused it to smell of mold / mildew.

We found the self-service breakfasts in the room to be enough to get us started, and later in the morning we would grab a cappuccino and pastry at a cafe.

The location was okay, but if you're going to spend a lot of time north of the Arno closer to the Accademia or Duomo, then you may want to find lodging that is closer to those attractions. If you think you'll spend most of your time in Oltrarno, then this may be just fine for your needs.

The cons I've mentioned were not horrible, but they were enough to make us wish we had gone somewhere else. Perhaps more experienced travelers in Italy will find these issues to be nothing for them. Alessandra was courteous, but next time in Firenze I'll spend a little bit more money to get a better lodging experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I don't stay at hotels or fancy places, so if you're the opposite, you wouldn't agree or benefit with my review. The rest of you, read on...
GREAT LOCATION: a bridge away from Ponte Vecchio, steps away from the best gelatos in florence. You get the benefit of being near the tourist spots AND near the local neighborhood where you can get authentic food without the tourist price.
GOOD SERVICE: Room was cleaned everyday (we didn't expect it).
RIGHT PRICE: yes, there's really not a real breakfast, but the price is right for it.

Our room was so huge that it had an extra bed and a desk. Alessandra was so friendly and helpful. She spoke English as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensfbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junction City, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Alessandra was welcoming and friendly. She got us set up in our room and gave her phone number in case we had problems when she wasn't in her office. She also allowed us to keep our luggage in the building while my friend and I toured more of Florence on check out day. She also let us pay with a credit card, even though it was listed as "cash only".
Unfortunately, we had "an inside room"; our only window was very small and looked out onto a very tiny "courtyard" that was about 4 feet by 4 feet. We could barely see the sky from our room. That being said, it was very quiet!
Our bathroom was just across the hall from our room, but was ours exclusively. It was also very small, with the toilet in the same space as the shower.
The place listed "tvs in every room", which ours did indeed have. However, it didn't work. That was fine, since we were not using our room for its entertainment value (and I had a DVD player with me.) :)
The Soggiorno is situated just one block away from Fiume Arno and one bridge down from Ponte Vecchio making it a decent home base for Florence.
My only complaints are the "breakfast" is just in-room packaged pastries, cookies, and toasts/jellies. The entryway to the soggiorno, which is a good size hallway after entering the secure, locked outside door, is shared with many other businesses and personal living quarters and seemed dark, dirty, and run down. It had a funky smell to it, too. The lack of elevator was inconvenient, especially since I'd strained my back a few days earlier. There are two flights of stairs to navigate to get to the entry floor of the soggiorno.
Overall, Soggiorno Alessandra is a decent place to stay for the price and location in a busy expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IoAmoItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

Located in the Oltrarno quarter of Florence, this B&B is recommended in Rick Steves Florence & Tuscany guidebook - and heartily by me. It is a great budget choice in Florence; not a budget town. Despite reading a somewhat negative review, we made a choice to lodge here. Long ago I discovered that there are reviewers who bash small rooms, European breakfasts, church bells and smoking, among other complaints. Those travelers, IMHO, should stay at a Hilton or Sheraton, in their home town. That said, I seek out locally owned and operated B&Bs in Europe such as the the Soggiorno Alessandra. We booked there and stayed in three rooms, sharing one bath, down the hall, but all on one, private floor. It was nearly our own apartment. The rooms we booked at the B&B were large enough, clean and didn't smell of smoke. While the breakfast was pre-packaged with instant coffee, it was adequate and satisfying. We found the experience of eating breakfast in our rooms to be a convenient start to the day. Our host was helpful with recommendations and directions. Take it from a veteran European traveler, this is a very good budget Florence choice.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarkkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moosehearet, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We stayed at Soggiorno Alessandra this fall and found it to be a little lacking. Alessandra was very friendly, and our room was quiet. However, our room was VERY small...I felt like we were living in a closet. Also, while there is no smoking in the rooms, our room was right next to Alessandra's, and she must smoke beause often we'd come back to find our room smelling quite smoky. The breakfasts were not great, either. Most days we ended up buying breakfast somewhere else. The hotel is in a great location -- easy to walk to the major sites, and the price was very reasonable. If you're on a tight budget, Alessandra's is not bad, but if you can spend a little more for a better room, I would.

  • Liked — good location
  • Disliked — room smelled smoky and was very small
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmmkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Unfortunately we drove to Florence--scary! However when we arrived in the city we called Alessandra and she was extremely helpful. When we arrived she helped us with parking and was so nice. Also we arrived much later then we thought we would (traffic) and it was no problem. Luckily our room had air conditioning so we didn't have to leave the windows open which was good because of the noise and the mosquitos. The in-room breakfeast was better than expected.
Overall it is a good value and the location is pretty good too. Its an easy walk to all the main attractions.

  • Liked — The value and Alessandra was very helpful and friendly.
  • Disliked — The towels.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambershal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 411 in Florence
973 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Piazza del Carmine
Piazza del Carmine
#297 of 640 in Florence
33 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
San Frediano Mansion
San Frediano Mansion
#307 of 640 in Florence
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Residenza D'Epoca Al Numero 8
Residenza D'Epoca Al Numero 8
#187 of 640 in Florence
60 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Horto Convento
Horto Convento
#117 of 640 in Florence
41 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
La Torre del Cestello
La Torre del Cestello
#108 of 640 in Florence
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Alessandra

Property: Soggiorno Alessandra
Address: Borgo San Frediano 6, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Soggiorno Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is located on the first floor in historic palace of 15th century in the center of Florence, 10 minutes walk from the Central Train Station of Santa Maria Novella and the Duomo and 5 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio (the Old Bridge), Uffizi Gallery, Pitti Palace and Boboli Garden... From here you can visit all the city just walking around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soggiorno Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing