We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful guest house and host!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ridolfi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ridolfi Guest House
Ranked #101 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful guest house and host!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Ridolfi Guest House provided an excellent option within easy walking distance to both the centre-storico (historical centre) and the Stazione Santa Maria Novella (central train station). Useful as we had to catch a train to/from Rome. For only 43 euros we had a comfortable room with breakfast and wifi included. Our host was extremely accommodating - making us some delicious smily faced cappuccinos with pastries for breakfast - helping with any questions or requests we had and happy to give us suggestions as to where to eat and what to see. My only complaint was the noise otherwise highly recommended!

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room away from the road - ours was quite noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    98
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
49
217
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a really nice time at Ridolfi's b&b. It was perfectly clean and welcoming, and our hosts were really lovely. In a beautiful building very close to market/duomo etc. Our host gave us some wonderful recommendations for restaurants and we were so happy to have chosen here to stay. Great wifi, very quiet, very safe, kitchen with fridge, nice breakfast in the morning.
We stayed in the angel room and the bed was a bit hard unfortunately but that was really the only thing.
Grazie Eliseo!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I was dismayed at the quality of accommodation I'd gotten in London and Paris, so when I arrived in Florence with relatively low expectations of the establishment, I was pleasantly surprised not only at the level of service I received, but also the quality of amenities Ridolfi Guest House provided -- all this, considering that it cost the least!

The establishment took a while to hunt down, owing to its ordinary façade which looked no different from any other apartment building. Its location was within walking distance of the Santa Maria Novella railway station as well as Piazza dell'Indipendenza; if you're arriving by train, I'd recommend walking down Via Nazionale to the hotel to avoid navigating through the confusing alleys and junctions.

The room I was given was excellent. It was cleaned prior to my arrival, so the room was spotless and organised. The interior decor of the room and its furniture gave it a very homely ambience, and I felt as though I was staying in a friend's (immaculately designed) room if anything! The mural on the wall was definitely a nice touch -- it made the room feel so much livelier. The amenities provided all functioned perfectly and the beds were comfortable. Space definitely wasn't a concern either, as the room was spacious and airy. It was the one establishment throughout my trip that actually compelled me to linger around for a while longer rather than to immediately dash out to explore the sights (not to discredit Florence at all -- the city's beautiful!)

The service! It was one of the best I've ever received. Eliseo took the time to reply all our email inquiries in a friendly and patient manner, to ensure our experience was satisfactory. Whilst I didn't get to meet Eliseo in person, the receptionist present on the day I arrived, Manuela, was a delight to be around with! She greeted us with a megawatt smile upon arrival and offered help with the luggage -- up three flights of stairs, no less! She provided us really useful insider's information about Florence and gave me a crash course in Italian. Her recommendations were mostly spot-on and she was definitely a pleasure to talk to, especially with her fluent English. She left us a letter before our departure, which was a really sweet gesture on her part, and left croissants as our early train the next day meant that we had to skip breakfast. The croissants were more than decent, so I'd expect breakfast to be nice too.

In retrospect, I regret spending such a short time in Florence. If I return to Florence -- or rather, when I return to Florence -- I'll definitely choose to stay in Ridolfi once again. The next time around, I'll make sure not to miss their Italian cappuccino!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KelvinHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

It was great to living in this B&B. The host was so nice who will give you any advise for travelling.
And the room is clean and organized. The breakfast was nice.
Not far from the train station. For the first time stay there might need a bit of time by searching but if you ask people will be much easier.
It's a great B&B^^

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meng-Chieh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This place doesn't have any signage you can see from the road, so it's a little tricky to find, but just use the address. The room was a good size and was clean. Breakfast was included in our cost...basically croissants, jelly, etc. There was an exterior private bath right across from the room. Only complaint about it is you have to hold the button down in the shower for the water to stay on. Well, that and the motion detector light turned itself off while I showered. Oops. There is an elevator, so no hauling your luggage up stairs. Good wifi in the room. The room was equipped with AC. Our room had 2 small beds, which was perfect for 2 travelers.

The owner/manager is various gracious and helpful. He did charge an extra 4 euros for tax that hadn't been disclosed on anything. But he offered to hold our luggage for free for the day after we checked out, so it all evens out. This hotel is an easy walk to many of the major attractions in Florence. We only spent a day there and walked everywhere. No free parking near there, but the owner will recommend a garage about 3 blocks away (21 euros cash for 24 hours of parking). Overall this hotel was a great find and I would recommend it for your stay in Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
193 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Hotels are quite expensive in florence. This guesthouse gives a very good value for money. The rooms were nice, we had a private bathroom located on the corridor. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was prepared every morning and we could have it in our room (was nothing special).

Negative point are the weird check in times.
If you do not wanna spend too much money for a room but you still want decent quality, your right here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginaba1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This guest house resides at a great location. Ridolfi Guest House is located just outside the city center. Walking to the city center is a joy due to the many interesting things you can see on the way. It only takes a maximum of 20 minutes, and then you are at the city centrum. We found the best cheap authentic italian restaurants close to this guest house.

Everything was a delight. The staff made us feel welcome and everything was in order. It was also a pleasure to have a small kitchen where you could make your own tea and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Leone X Guest House
#24 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#36 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Casa Di Barbano
Casa Di Barbano
#173 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Il Grillo di Firenze
#22 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
San Lorenzo
Le Camere dei Conti
Le Camere dei Conti
#90 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridolfi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridolfi Guest House

Property: Ridolfi Guest House
Address: Via Cosimo Ridolfi 4, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ridolfi Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome from who has transformed this roomy and comfortable apartment into a bed & breakfast. I have been a traveller for many years and, although everyone of us is different, some fundamental aspects are universal: the price/quality relation, the availability and the discretion of the management and staff, the attention to cleanliness. Moreover the location of the structure in respect of the historical centre, the most important trade fairs (fashion - the Fortezza da Basso for example) and of the main railway station S. M. Novella is guaranteed. We can offer you all of this in truly spacious and comfortable rooms situated in an unusually silent street; every day, we work with the aim of improving the quality and the comfort for you, our future visitors. Upon your arrival, for those interested, we are happy to offer you a coffee or a welcoming aperitif ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ridolfi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing