We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go to this B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast San Lorenzo
Ranked #519 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never go to this B&B”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband and I booked this B&B for a three night stay in Florance in Sep 2011. We were just shocked by dirtiness of our room and bathroom. Private bathroom was external to our room and we didn't even took a shower as the bathroom was so dirty. The pictures of the B&B in the website are far from reality.
We arrived in the evening and had no option but to stay for the first night. We left the next morning to another hotel (not much more expensive than this B&B but super clean).
The owner/manager was rude and greedy and charged us for the whole three nights. We just paid and left as it was better than ruining our trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    33
    14
    5
    13
See reviews for
6
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at B & B San Lorenzo in Florence on July 3-4, 2012. The owner, Lodo, was wonderfully helpful in telling us about the city, helping us make plans for a local guide, suggesting smaller sites that were easier to access and just as fantastic as the "big names," and telling us about good restaurants. The lasagne in the Tratorria right below his apartments is amazing. We recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We had a room with a private shower/toilet down the hall. The shower and toilet were in the exact s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cresscherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you're a picky traveler than I would have to recommend finding something else. This b&b was one the cheaper options, the main reason we chose it. It has flaws - a bit hard to find without any big sign, tricky to check-in (took me a while to realise I had to ring a bell on the kitchen counter for the manager to come) and I didn't feel particularly safe leaving my luggage in the kitchen, where pretty much anyone can come in. Also, my friend had a problem with the shower being so close to the toilet (I didn't mind though). Having said that, however, I wouldn't say that it's 'filthy'. It was quite clean and the breakfast was more than decent. It's close to the train station and I didn't have any complains about noise from piazza san lorenzo (it was however, a bit annoying being woken up quite early in the morning by someone talking in the kitchen. All in all, I think it's an OK hotel if you're looking for a place to spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kecius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I read and reread the reviews and after having actually been there cannot understand how people can say anything good about this terrible "hotel". A B&B in the US has character... this "hotel" is located in the second floor of an office building, there are no signs from the outside of anything about the tenants in the bldg. When we arrived (Sunday afternoon) we had instructions how to get there because we were supposed to arrive late but arrived in the afternoon... there was no one to greet us, we pretty much entered the building and the hotel with these instructions that i believe every person that has stayed there has....scary thought.... in the kitchen laid the keys to our room, per instructions... the kitchen was filthy, the sink was loaded with dirty dishes soaking on dirty water which were washed the following day.... the owner or receptionist did not show up till the following morning after 8am...even though one of the guests needed breakfast before hand... i obviously did not take anything to eat from that filthy place...the solo management was not even apologetic for such a filthy place. The room is a tiny hole facing the noisy and busy San Lorenzo Piazza, the bathroom is even smaller with paper thin picket "towels" and miniature soap that a 5 year old will finish in a minute... the walls are dirty from all the luggage being maneuvered in such a tiny space, the TV is a a monitor the size of a double I PAD, i can go on... There are plenty of other hotels in the area with the same charge and a lot more decent that this horrible place. Never have I experienced such a bad treatment and i am furious at the other guests that wrote as if it was the Ritz in Beverly Hills...

Room Tip: Just don't choose this hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eli d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lingiulla, Owner at Bed & Breakfast San Lorenzo, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear Eli

i am very sorry to hear that you had a bad stay in our B&B.

I regret that no one was there at your arrival, but as you know our check in method is by appointment, and we honestly thaught that you were arriving at night. Since we had no other arrival
we were not there, but you had all our phone numbers, and i regret you did not advise us.
During all morning we are always in the B&B and also spend time in the afternoon.
We usually have no problem with check in , and again i apologize.
However we do have a sign outside; we are notallowed to have Big signs like hotels, this
is the rule in florence, but we do have a sign. We also send direction on how to reach us.

The entrance codes are changed very often and only our guests have them.

I took strong mesures with our maid concerning the kitchen, i can assure that this is something that never happened and i am really really sorry.

It is true that we did not apologize in the morning, and i am doing it again now, but we were
totally anaware of your early arrival and the issues you had.

We know that we are not the Ritz in Beverly hills, but we honestly work hard to give all our guests a "home away from home environment" in Florence and i think that if you would have spoke with us we would have found a solution.

Again, all my apology and i hope you will give us another chance if staying in Florence; all
feedback are taken seriously in order to improuve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

First time in Florence and the location of the B+B was exceptional. Right in the heart of Florence and close to everything from shopping, restaurants, super market and the taxi stand.

Breakfast was served in our room (our request) and consisyed of croissants/tea or coffee/biscuits with jam. There is a mini fridge in the living area if you wanted store anything.

The building had a lift and was easy to get in and out. Lodovico gave us sufficient info to get around the city and was a lovely host.

The only drawback was the size of the room, it was too small for 2 people and we felt cramped... we would definitely stay here again however would request a larger room the next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devourk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Location was fantastic and the service by the B&B manager was great - some helpful local tips and breakfast was served in your choice of the kitchen or in your room. On the downside, the room was very small, and in need of some rennovation - the dressing table chair was literally falling apart and the walls were marked and dirty. Our private bathroom was external to the bedroom, and the shower was good, however the floor, shower curtain and sink were dirty.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
italhotels san lorenzo
italhotels san lorenzo
#322 of 411 in Florence
269 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 411 in Florence
317 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
San Lorenzo Number 7
San Lorenzo Number 7
#212 of 300 in Florence
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast San Lorenzo

Property: Bed & Breakfast San Lorenzo
Address: Piazza di San Lorenzo 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bed & Breakfast San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast San Lorenzo
Bed & Breakfast San Lorenzo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing