We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Florence, well located, gracious host.”
Review of Althea Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Althea Rooms
Ranked #279 of 673 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pacifica, CA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Value for Florence, well located, gracious host.”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Antonio was very helpful and made a superb dinner recommendation ... something Luna I think... anyway the room was adorable, the private bath small but clean. Loved the computer and free internet access in the room.

The only complaint - I was expecting a B&B and it was only a bed, no breakfast....no coffee (eek)...still a good value and finding a quick pastry and coffee were easy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hindsight_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    56
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
71
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

This place is so much better than other hotels/B&B's I've experienced in Italy and Florence in particular. It's located on the other side of the Arno, about two blocks from Santo Spirito, and a 10-15 min walk to Pza Signoria. We had a car to park, and we were able to do so about 2 blocks away for 18 EUR/day. We were helped diligently by the excellent staff -- they have the numbers for to reserve tickets at any of the museums on speed dial. There's no 24 hour doorman, but that was not a concern. The neighborhood is fine, and not too loud (it's not on a main Florence artery). The rooms were completely adequate with comfortable beds, smallish bathroom. We paid~ 42 EUR/night. All in all a great deal. Highly recommended for non-luxury lodgings.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This is a great little hotel/pensione. Antonio, the owner, was very responsive and helpful during our entire 5-day stay. We arrived early in the morning, and he moved us into an empty room that was more expensive than the one we had reserved, yet he didn't charge us the extra rate. He mapped out all the places to see and gave great recommendations on places to eat (La Casaligna was our favorite dinner spot just a couple blocks from the hotel). The room itself had a queen sized bed, a day bed, computer with internet, safe, wardrobe, mini-fridge, bathroom with shower, and air conditioning. It was all you could ask for and the rate was 68 euros/night. An awesome deal. It's also a much quieter area staying on the other side of the Arno from the main tourist areas. I highly recommend this lovely little spot!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank startingtotravel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2009

It was a great stay at the althea rooms. Very clean and well organized room. A PC with free internet access was a surprise! The best part of the stay was Antonio ( the person who manages the rooms). He was extremely helpfull and gave us lot of tips , which helped us a lot.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis Tn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

After much research for our Florence vacation, and having been there once before, with budget a concern, we decided on Althea Rooms for our 4 night stay on November 24 -28. Took taxi from train station, 9 euro and 5 minute drive. We liked staying on the other side of the river Arno. Location was quiet, 5 minute walk to lots of great restaurants and bars. easy 10 minute walk to Ponto Vehhico. We loved Trattoria Casalinga, ate there 3 times. Great pizza next to Casalinga that the lady at Althea suggested. I cannot remember her name but she was very helpful. Room was a little small but clean and having your own computer and fridge was great. Quiet street for Florence and slept great. Antonio and the lady was quick to help with anything from calling a taxi, loaning us alarm clock, blow dryer or even storing our luggage while we spent the last day sightseeing before we took the train back to Rome. Only negative was there is no lift so you have to climb about 30 steps to get to your room. No big deal but just be aware. We would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dillardr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen / Milano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

The rooms are really cosy and it feels just like visiting a friend! Nice nad clean, and with own bathroom, pc, fridge and A/C.

The host is very nice, and very helpfull! He has pre-coded the most important telephone numbers in the phone for reservations at restaurants etc.

Thank you very much for a good night and for helping with everything!

The 3 danes and one swede :o)

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDaneAndTheSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We stayed at Althea Rooms for 3 nights and loved our stay. It's on a quiet side street on the other side of the river from the Duomo so we really felt like part of the neighborhood. Our hotel was only a few blocks from the Pitti Palace and then another block or 2 to get across the river. Florence was very walkable and we loved being on the other side of the river, we felt we saw more strolling home than if we'd stayed right in the touristy part of the city and the restaurants were a little cheaper too. When we checked in the owner carried our luggage upstairs, gave us a few minutes to rest and then came back with a map and lots of helpful information. The room had a mini-fridge, air conditioning and a computer with free internet, great for keeping in touch with family back home. There was a good sized shower with a waterfall shower head but the bathroom overall wasn't something an overweight person could comfortably use. We received coupons for breakfast at a cafe down the street but it only included bread, butter, jam & juice, we only did that once & ate in our room other days.

  • Liked — Our room was really nice and we loved having a computer with internet to use.
  • Disliked — The bathroom was a little small.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank coolaunt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Aramis Rooms
Aramis Rooms
#249 of 673 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Soggiorno Alessandra
Soggiorno Alessandra
#345 of 673 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Piazza del Carmine
Piazza del Carmine
#297 of 673 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
#252 of 673 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Pitti
B&B Bonsignori
B&B Bonsignori
#116 of 673 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Santa Croce
Residenza Manzoni
Residenza Manzoni
#172 of 673 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Rooms

Property: Althea Rooms
Address: Via delle Caldaie 25, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 673 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Althea Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Althea is located in the lively district named “ Santo Spirito “ in the historical area of Florence; Santo Spirito is part of the Oltrarno and is known for its high concentration of art galleries, artisan workshops and antique dealers.The rooms are equipped with: private bath, heater, air conditioning unit, telephone, refrigerator, color TV, safe box and free internet access.We provide our guests with keys to all entrances to allow for complete independence during their stay in Florence.American Express, Visa, Mastercard, Diners are welcome.To guarantee the booking of a room we require a credit card number and date of expiration. Cancellation policy: 48 hours before the date of arrival without any penalty.The location of Althea in the heart of Florence will provide easy access to all museums and to convenient public transportation.The parking “ Oltrarno “ at Porta Romana, a 5-minute walk from Althea, is advised for visitors who arrive by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Althea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing