We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walk to everything from traditional neighbourhood”
Review of Althea Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Althea Rooms
Ranked #249 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Traditional Santo Spiritu neighbourhood south of the river, near Pitti Palace, in a quieter, residential area. Host Antonio most accommodating. Reasonably priced (for Florence), close to cafes, restaurants, grocery stores. 25-30 steps up inner staircase and tight squeeze into apartment, but a comfortable space with in-room internet & frig. Not B&B... would have appreciated a kettle for tea. Good location for walkers, 5 - 10 min to Ponte Vecchio, & just a few min more to historic centre: Duomo, Palazzo,Uffizi etc. Easy to navigate the area. No need for taxi when arriving/leaving... close to bus route for SMN train station. I'd definitely stay again either solo or with companion.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JML544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

We slept 2 nights in this hotel with my wife and my 2 little children. Unfortunately, there had been a misunderstanding about the nights I had booked, but there was still a room available.

I cannot speak about other rooms of these 2 former flats, but our room was not conveniently arranged : a big cupbord and an AC in the middle of the room are wasting much space. The toilets and the sink are in a private corridor, but the shower is in the opposite of the room in a former cupboard... There is a computer in the room, but we were not able to use internet, even with the help of the owner.
In fact, this pension deserves its name "Althea Rooms", as the welcome desk is just a little closed room in the flat ; there are also no kitchen or breakfast room and even no boiler in the rooms.
At last, everything is old fashion, which gives a durty impression. But the 2 owners are nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nobeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Althea Rooms is a 20 minute walk from the train station. Antonio is a great host. He provided us great dinner recommendations and gave us a bottle of wine upon arrival. The AC does not work well. The room was clean but average. The closet had been converted into a shower. Given the chance to return to Florence, we would probably stay a little more closer to attractions in something that resembles more of a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here only for 1 night. The location is excellent, it is the best part of the city and still a short walk to the historic center. The pension is in a typical palazzo building, which can make space arrangement a little bit tight, yet our room was spacious enough. Bathroom was ok, shower though was separate in a space that looked like a closet. The room overlooked the inside area of the building so it was quiet but it also felt stuffy and dark, it was good we only had to be there for sleep.

The staff were friendly, booking was easy and also got offered a bottle of wine upon arrival. We also got some suggestions on where to eat but having stayed in this area before I would say they were a bit random, far better places were just around the corner, just walk around a bit. We did ask for some transport directions but again better get a bus route on your own beforehand.

Overall, it is an ok, average, tourist place to stay, nothing really special, nothing really bad, book if you need something basic.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NadiaXm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Antonio was very helpful and made a superb dinner recommendation ... something Luna I think... anyway the room was adorable, the private bath small but clean. Loved the computer and free internet access in the room.

The only complaint - I was expecting a B&B and it was only a bed, no breakfast....no coffee (eek)...still a good value and finding a quick pastry and coffee were easy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hindsight_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

This place is so much better than other hotels/B&B's I've experienced in Italy and Florence in particular. It's located on the other side of the Arno, about two blocks from Santo Spirito, and a 10-15 min walk to Pza Signoria. We had a car to park, and we were able to do so about 2 blocks away for 18 EUR/day. We were helped diligently by the excellent staff -- they have the numbers for to reserve tickets at any of the museums on speed dial. There's no 24 hour doorman, but that was not a concern. The neighborhood is fine, and not too loud (it's not on a main Florence artery). The rooms were completely adequate with comfortable beds, smallish bathroom. We paid~ 42 EUR/night. All in all a great deal. Highly recommended for non-luxury lodgings.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This is a great little hotel/pensione. Antonio, the owner, was very responsive and helpful during our entire 5-day stay. We arrived early in the morning, and he moved us into an empty room that was more expensive than the one we had reserved, yet he didn't charge us the extra rate. He mapped out all the places to see and gave great recommendations on places to eat (La Casaligna was our favorite dinner spot just a couple blocks from the hotel). The room itself had a queen sized bed, a day bed, computer with internet, safe, wardrobe, mini-fridge, bathroom with shower, and air conditioning. It was all you could ask for and the rate was 68 euros/night. An awesome deal. It's also a much quieter area staying on the other side of the Arno from the main tourist areas. I highly recommend this lovely little spot!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank startingtotravel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#152 of 411 in Florence
2,088 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,919 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,468 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 332 in Florence
2,602 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Rooms

Address: Via delle Caldaie 25, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £34 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Althea Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Althea is located in the lively district named “ Santo Spirito “ in the historical area of Florence; Santo Spirito is part of the Oltrarno and is known for its high concentration of art galleries, artisan workshops and antique dealers.The rooms are equipped with: private bath, heater, air conditioning unit, telephone, refrigerator, color TV, safe box and free internet access.We provide our guests with keys to all entrances to allow for complete independence during their stay in Florence.American Express, Visa, Mastercard, Diners are welcome.To guarantee the booking of a room we require a credit card number and date of expiration. Cancellation policy: 48 hours before the date of arrival without any penalty.The location of Althea in the heart of Florence will provide easy access to all museums and to convenient public transportation.The parking “ Oltrarno “ at Porta Romana, a 5-minute walk from Althea, is advised for visitors who arrive by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Althea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing