We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First of Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
First of Florence Residence Apart'Hotel
Ranked #30 of 304 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First of Florence”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The pictures don't provide enough information about First of Florence. We were expecting an average multi-person suite but were surprised as to how lovely the hotel was appointed. It is clean, well run and in a great location. (sort of - more below) It is a bit confusing when first arriving since the hotel is on the first floor of an apartment building with private residences. Go up one flight of stairs or take the slow, clunky elevator and you will easily find First of Florence. Laura was fantastic at taking care of checking us in and getting things settled.
We had come from a hotel in Venice with problems getting the hot water to work. The pluming problem followed us to Florence. The 2nd floor bath tub leaked to the floor below and the fancy high tech Jacuzzi shower would not drain. However, Laura got right on the task of fixing it.

Our location surprise came on the first night. It seems that a night club called Pink is just around the corner from the hotel and closes at 2:00 am. Trust me, the patrons don't leave quickly or quietly. Bring foam earplugs on your trip if you are not accustomed to noise.

Also, while Laura was great, we were not impressed with her restaurant suggestions. Use Trip Advisor or another guide for finding restaurants. If we had been facing another direction away from the parking area where the night club was located, I would return to this hotel if I stayed again in Florence. It was clean, well decorated and spacious. Note that we did get a suite for 6 people so it had to have adequate room. It was nice to have 3 bathrooms. It has lots of great amenities including wine, fresh fruit, cookies, cheese and ham in the refrigerator. Laura does a great job managing the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the side of the hotel with the nightclub if noise bothers you at 2:00 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationer24balt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    59
    8
    2
    11
See reviews for
164
60
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Cumbria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our first, but not last tine in Florence was at First of Florence and I have to say it was outstanding. Really traditional residences in teh heart of the city lovingly looked after by Laura, the manager. Laura is outstanding and will help with anything you need, whether booking a restuarnat or offering advice on visits. The rooms themselves could benefit from a coat of paint in areas, however that shouldnt put you off from staying. I absolutely loved First of Florence and would recommend it to anyone who is taking a city break there

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCumbriaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Our trip to Florence began with our arrival at the First of Florence, Laura and her exemplary service and hospitality were there to greet us - and never diminished during our week long stay. We were truly made to feel at home, in the well appointed room. Ok Bar across the street was a great add-on to our first First of Florence stay. But it won't be our last. Thank you Laura and your staff for being such a big part of us believing that we, too, are Florentines. Ciao Bella!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyBraden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We recently stayed on the mezzanine floor. It was a lovely apartment with one double bed a separate small single bed & a very comfortable pull out double bed.. It had a nice size bathroom with a full bathtub & shower & separate WC. The kitchen was totally equipped with even a clothes washer & dryer, ironing board & iron. The frig was stocked with everything in order to make a snack or sandwich or tea & coffee. Fresh fruit, wine & sweets were also awaiting us! A very nice bar/restaurant right across the road is also included for a full breakfast. Laura was very welcoming & extremely helpful making reservations & calling cabs for us ( avoiding the stress of the language barrier). The Duomo is right at the end of the street & it is one street over from the Accademia museum (where the real David is). Actually from this location you are really walking distance to everything! A perfect location to use as your home away from home:)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Perfect location to explore Florence. Great accommodation. Staff very friendly and helpful - couldn't do more for us including printing off our train tickets. We would definitely recommend this place as a choice for short stays in florence

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattTommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzroy Harbour
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Beautiful apartments right downtown close to the Duomo. Staff and accommodations terrific. Clean and modern, private and secure. Our room could sleep 5 but was perfect for 3 friends.

Cappuccinos served across the street by Alberto and company to boot.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

What a wonderful stay! Laura is amazing! Nothing was too much? The attention to detail is incredible. This is my second stay at First of Florence and both times the have exceeded my expectations! When you arrive you are met by Laura the most efficient and friendly person in Italy! The rooms are spotless and it feels like home from home. No request is too much! You have a fruit basket a bottle of wine and a pasta meal with cheese bread and ham waiting on your arrival! The location could not be better you can walk to everything including the station. I will never stay anywhere else in Florence! Thank you Laura you are a star!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
La Farina Apartments
#28 of 304 in Florence
230 reviews
Santa Croce
Florence View Apartments
Florence View Apartments
#27 of 304 in Florence
89 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Alfani al David
Palazzo Alfani al David
#17 of 304 in Florence
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Residence Palazzo Belfiore
Residence Palazzo Belfiore
#1 of 304 in Florence
330 reviews
Uffizi
Art and Luxury Apartments
Art and Luxury Apartments
#103 of 304 in Florence
15 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Gamba
Palazzo Gamba
#20 of 304 in Florence
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First of Florence Residence Apart'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First of Florence Residence Apart'Hotel

Property: First of Florence Residence Apart'Hotel
Address: Via Dei Servi 38, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 304 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — First of Florence Residence Apart'Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Of Florence offers a series of elegant and refined apartments providing comfortable, independent accommodation, to enjoy the city at your own pace. The First Of Florence suites are conveniently close to the Duomo Cathedral, which you can reach through a short pleasant walk amongst the beauties of the historic centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your First of Florence Residence Apart'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Of Florence Residence Hotel Florence
1st Of Florence Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing