We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Italy Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katti House B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Katti House B&B
Ranked #175 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Italy Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wife, daughter and I stayed here as our second stop on a tour around Italy for a family vacation. We arrived on the train from Rome and easily found the hotel was only about a 5 or 6 minute walk from the train station.
The owner of the hotel is a wonderful lady, speaks minimal english but we were able to communicate well enough using a combination of English, Italian and french. Can't say enough about the location. It was phenomenal. Very close to everything, on a pedestrian street where leaving the windows open in the evening provided a pleasant backdrop to all that is Italy with music and laughter. Close the window and it becomes quite silent.
Breakfast was good. Family owns a restaurant next door as well that is very good and comes with a 10% discount for guests of the hotel.
The owners of this hotel are very honest people and treated us exemplary. i would stay there again in a heartbeat. Only complaint was that the wi-fi truly doesn't work. We stayed for 3 nights and were not able to connect even one time, but that is truly a first world problem! We loved Florence and proximity to the train station allowed a side trip to Pisa for an afternoon.
Katti House is a wonderful charming place. There is a laundromat right across the street which was also nice. Very good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    89
    29
    18
    18
See reviews for
63
117
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Let me start off by saying it's a nice clean place with a good breakfast. The location is very convenient too. We do have one complaint though. We visited in late May and Florence was beginning to get a bit hot. We requested that the air conditioning be switched on but the owner did not agree to it. This looks like a standard practice in many parts of Italy in spring. Even in Rome, we had to ask multiple times for the a/c to be switched on. As a result, we had to keep the windows open at night. There were two problems with that - one it was very noisy even till about 1 AM and two there were mosquitoes. So overall, the sleep quality was average at best.
This may be less of a problem in summer especially if they let you switch on the a/c.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailendra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at Katti House B&B for 2 nights at the beginning of July 2014. Maria, the owner, is the quintessential Italian mamma who wants to take care of her guests. We felt welcome right away. Her English is minimal but that was not a problem. We were able to understand each other pretty well. My wife and I had reserved a double room in Katti House II. However, the triple room was available in Katti House and Maria offered it to us at no additional cost. Early check in at 11:30 was not a problem. The room was very big for both European and American standards. Approximate dimensions are 25 x 15 feet. It features one twin size bed and one queen size bed, tv, fridge, wardrobe, desk, chairs. Air conditioning and a private bathroom with all amenities are included. The room has dual double pane windows. When closed you cannot hear any noise at all coming from the street. We slept very well both nights.
What to bring with you: a wash cloth (generally not offered in Italian B&Bs and hotels).
The B&B is in a house that was built in the 1400s. All rooms are updated. The office is on the 1st floor (2nd floor American, in Italy they start from floor 0). The rooms are on 1st and 2nd floor. No elevator. Be ready to climb stairs. The breakfast area is on 2nd floor from 8 to 10. A big spread with all essential breakfast food - cereal, deli sandwich meat, hard boiled eggs, croissants, muffins, cappuccino, cafe americano, fresh fruit, milk, etc - all you can eat.
The B&B is a 14-minute walk from the main train station in Florence. All main attractions were very close on foot - il Duomo (7 minutes), Uffizi (15 min), Academia (15 minutes).
Maria's daughter, Katti, is a very charming young business lady who runs Trattoria Katti. Trattoria is a small restaurant that offers only local food. The Trattoria is two doors down from Katti House B&B and all B&B guests get 10% off. Trattoria Katti has the best quality local food at the best prices. We had lunch for 2 for €16, and dinner for 2 for €30, which is impossible at other places. Katti speaks very good English and is very accommodating with customer requests.
There is a self service laundry facility across the entrance to Katti House which made doing laundry very convenient. We were able to do our laundry while eating dinner at Trattoria Katti. Again super convenient. To wash was 2.50€ and to dry 2.50€.

Overall, we felt very welcome and we experienced true Florentine hospitality. We would definitely stay there again if we have the opportunity to visit Florence again. The location was perfect with respect to main transportation hubs and main attractions. We did not use public transportation or taxis while there, and it was not necessary.

Room Tip: Rooms with dual double pane windows are quieter. Any requests, you can put in the email when you res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights along with another couple and just loved it! It's a short, (convenient!) walk from the train station. Our rooms were in the nearby Soggiorno Annamaria where our rooms were just gorgeous, spacious and immaculate! Bed was comfortable, bathroom was great and furniture was just charming. Breakfast was right outside our room in a cute setting, a sitting room with tables and chairs. Breakfast was plentiful, and well presented. Walked to Pitti Palace, Pont de Veccio and other sites. Had delicious dinner at Katti House where Maria served us a glass of austi spumanti before dinner and lemoncillo after. Met her daughter, Katti who was as gracious as her mother, Maria. We spent a month in Italy and these accommodations were definitely a highlight for us. (found it in Rick Steeves book and think it deserves a MUCH higher rating!)

Room Tip: Stay in Soggiorno Annamaria (short walk from Katti House) Choose a room that faces the street to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

On arrival I was concerned that there was no lift available but our hostess asked waiters from their restaurant to carry our cases upstairs.
Our room was large, amazing wooden beams and ceiling, our room overlooked a busy street, but with the windows closed you just hear a gentle hum.
Breakfast was simple and unfortunately lacking in food for children, no toast or children's cereal was available.
The rooms are situated very close to a lovely market, you must visit Mercanto central for food. Also ideally placed for many of the major sites.
We found the hotel to suit us enough for two nights just. Any longer and we'd have been unhappy. The beds are like rocks and the lack of breakfast options would put us off going again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkChez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I loved it so much, I just changed my itinerary to stay here another night!

As a female traveling alone, I felt very safe at Katti's B&B. Maria was kind and helpful. The location is perfect.... close to the train station, market, museums and the best local restaurants surround you as you step out of the front door. On a safe street. I felt safe walking back to my room at night (very important as a single female traveler).

The breakfast included is delicious! I look forward to the best cappuccino made by Maria every morning:-) Fresh fruits, meats, eggs, juices.... The list goes on and on. For someone on a budget, this breakfast will be enough to fill you up for the day! (And then treat yourself to gelato for dinner of course! )

My room is huge and very clean! I love the decor. Quiet at night. Comfortable beds and pillows! Well decorated and makes you feel right at home. Very nice bathroom. Fridge in the room.

Oh! Most importantly, free wifi in the rooms and it works well. Strong enough signal to download all my pics and skype family. All the hotels I looked at before Katti's only offer wifi in the "common" area. It is so much more comfortable to use wifi in the room.

Also, her daughter runs a restaurant right below the B&B. I've heard it is wonderful and I look forward to checking it out.

I love Katti's B&B! I really enjoyed Maria's hospitality. She is extremely warm and inviting (also a plus when traveling alone). I will definitely come back! I'm so glad I found this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMBER NICHOLE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Soggiorno Annamaria for 2 nights and found the room lovely with everything we needed. The very high ceilings and large windows provided a sense of spaciousness while preserving the sense of being in a Renaissance period home. Maria provided a variety of light breakfast foods -- muffins, pastries, yogurt, boiled eggs, prosciutto and cheese, fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, cafe , cappucino, tea, etc.

We ate a 3 course dinner both evenings at Trattoria Katti. The food was fresh and delicious -- authentic Tuscan dishes with a special touch. We especially enjoyed a Special of the Day, breast of chicken in white wine sauce, tender with complex flavors. The grilled vegetables were all done to a perfect level of crispness. Maria's artichoke with eggs and her tiramisu were also favorites. We will definitely stay and dine here at our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elpasotraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Accademia
Hotel Accademia
#241 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Annamaria
Soggiorno Annamaria
#303 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#197 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#160 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#97 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katti House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katti House B&B

Property: Katti House B&B
Address: Via Faenza 21, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Katti House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katti House Hotel Florence
Katti House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing