We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven steps”
Review of Relais del Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais del Duomo
Ranked #139 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kozani, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Seven steps”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We've stayed for two nights in July at Relais del Duomo. It has only four rooms and the room that we stayed in was easily the smallest room we've ever stayed in any hotel! Only seven steps from wall to wall! What's more, the room was rather dark even at high noon and when we left the window open, the room smelled from the restaurant below. There are two rooms that face the main street in front of the hotel and seem quite comfortable and spacious but unfortunately ours was not one of them.

On the bright side, the hotel is on an excellent location, only a few steps from the Duomo, the Cathedral of Florence. The buffet breakfast was decent (coffee, croissants, yogurt, cereal, marmelade etc but no hot meals) and the landlady Ms Elisabetta was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syrah-Viognier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    65
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
148
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I enjoyed a brief but very comfortable stay at the Relais del Duomo, aided by the excellent location two minutes from the magnificent Duomo as well as the very friendly and helpful staff (especially the lovely Elisabetta). Would highly recommend anyone travelling to Florence, either as a couple or single, to stay at this small B&B. Guests should be warned, however, that breakfast is only offered from 8.30am, and should not plan to do anything in Florence before 9am. However, Elisabetta very kindly served me breakfast early on the day I had pre-booked to visit the Gallerie dell'Accademia. Overall, a wonderful stay and will return on my next visit to Firenze. Grazie mille.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank amclark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a great stay in this nice B&B. Elisabetta is a very nice and helpful host. Location is very good, just a few steps from the Duomo. Room is big enough for me, and quiet at night. Breakfast is good and there is always juice, coffee and cookies available in the dining room. Highly recommended to anyone looking for high quality B&Bs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidrock_han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was the perfect b and b close to the Duomo with the most helpful staff. Elisabetta whoever prepared the delicious breakfasts was very knowledgable when we asked foe suggestions. She was always very helpful and made delicious coffees for the four of us when requested. There was always tea and coffee, fruit and bread available at any time during the day. The rooms were very nice and extremely clean with daily service. We stayed there three nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window in the bathroom as one of our rooms had an interior bathroom which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We enjoyed our stay here, and found Elisabetta to be a very informative and helpful host. She went out of her way to ensure we were comfortable, and chatted to us about places to go, which was really helpful. The B & B was very close to Duomo, and an easy walk to the highlights of the city. Very clean and comfortable place to stay

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvey Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This accomodation has it all...location, just 10 minute walk from train station, right in city centre, light and airy, quality linens/towels and lovely dining room and the most pleasant hostess, Elizabetta. Elizabetta is a wealth of information and can help you with all your needs for bookings etc, both within Florenece and surrounding Tuscany. She knows and loves her city and can pass on helpful information according to individuals taste. Typical continental breakfast but with the best croissants we had in all our trip. Just let her know your arrival time and she will be there to greet you and her good english made thing so much easier for us. Beds were comfy and plenty of hot water. Very clean. Very, very good quality accomodation for tarrif. We spent four nights and would love to have spent longer here in this wonderful city.

Room Tip: From what we saw all three rooms were fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tastetheexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed 4 nights in May and had a great time. Elisabetta was very helpful and eager to see we had a good time. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Free WiFi worked well and breakfast provided was fine. Would love to go back and would be very happy to stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Located on first floor. Stairs - no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlouey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#185 of 411 in Florence
388 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#329 of 411 in Florence
203 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#203 of 411 in Florence
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Adelaide House B&B
Adelaide House B&B
#141 of 640 in Florence
112 reviews
Duomo
B&b Dell'Olio
B&b Dell'Olio
#64 of 640 in Florence
78 reviews
Duomo
Magnifico Messere
Magnifico Messere
#191 of 640 in Florence
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais del Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais del Duomo

Property: Relais del Duomo
Address: Piazza Dell'Olio 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Relais del Duomo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais del Duomo is located at the first floor of a historic Florentine palace of 1700, carefully restored. You will find a quit atmosphere in the four rooms, three doubles and one single, furnished in Florentine style. Each room has its own private bathroom with shower; air-conditioned; television; safe. The rich breakfast is always included in the price. Free Wi-fi. The bed and breakfast Relais del Duomo has a prime location in the center of Florence, it's at two steps from Piazza Duomo; 5 minutes by foot form the train station Santa Maria Novella, Galleria degli Uffizi, Piazza della Signoria, Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais del Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Del Duomo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing