We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, great welcome!”
Review of Relais del Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais del Duomo
Ranked #183 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights at the start of our Italian holiday, having read the review in Lonely Planet. On arrival we were greeted by the charming Elisabetta who made our stay just perfect and so memorable. She recommended restaurants, taught us Italian phrases, made us laugh, gave us delicious coffee and served us what turned out to be the the best croissants we ate during the whole of our 3 week holiday. Our room was quite small but it didn't cause us any problems. The location was brilliant - minutes away from the Duomo, it couldn't have been more central for exploring the city. We would definitely recommend the Relais and would certainly choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank windmill50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2011. Located just 1 block away from Florence Duomo, it's the perfect hotel to stay while exploring the city. We shopped, returned to our hotel to drop off our shopping bags, and shopped again, and returned for toilet breaks, etc.

The only downside was the the front door. The reception staff is not always around. Although each guest has keys, but if someone fails to turn the lock completely from the inside, people will not be able to open the lock from the outside. At one time we were locked out and had to wait for about 30mins, banging the door and ringing the bell, until a guest opened the door for us from inside.

But still, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glembidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We found this hotel in Lonely Planet and as usual they were spot on. It's not so easy to find but is only 5 mins walk from the Santa Maria Novella Railway station & right around the corner from the Cathedral. The location couldn't be better. There are only 4 rooms, which are small but have everything you need plus the
owner, Elizabetta, can't do enough to help. Definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We've stayed for two nights in July at Relais del Duomo. It has only four rooms and the room that we stayed in was easily the smallest room we've ever stayed in any hotel! Only seven steps from wall to wall! What's more, the room was rather dark even at high noon and when we left the window open, the room smelled from the restaurant below. There are two rooms that face the main street in front of the hotel and seem quite comfortable and spacious but unfortunately ours was not one of them.

On the bright side, the hotel is on an excellent location, only a few steps from the Duomo, the Cathedral of Florence. The buffet breakfast was decent (coffee, croissants, yogurt, cereal, marmelade etc but no hot meals) and the landlady Ms Elisabetta was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syrah-Viognier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I enjoyed a brief but very comfortable stay at the Relais del Duomo, aided by the excellent location two minutes from the magnificent Duomo as well as the very friendly and helpful staff (especially the lovely Elisabetta). Would highly recommend anyone travelling to Florence, either as a couple or single, to stay at this small B&B. Guests should be warned, however, that breakfast is only offered from 8.30am, and should not plan to do anything in Florence before 9am. However, Elisabetta very kindly served me breakfast early on the day I had pre-booked to visit the Gallerie dell'Accademia. Overall, a wonderful stay and will return on my next visit to Firenze. Grazie mille.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank amclark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a great stay in this nice B&B. Elisabetta is a very nice and helpful host. Location is very good, just a few steps from the Duomo. Room is big enough for me, and quiet at night. Breakfast is good and there is always juice, coffee and cookies available in the dining room. Highly recommended to anyone looking for high quality B&Bs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kidrock_han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was the perfect b and b close to the Duomo with the most helpful staff. Elisabetta whoever prepared the delicious breakfasts was very knowledgable when we asked foe suggestions. She was always very helpful and made delicious coffees for the four of us when requested. There was always tea and coffee, fruit and bread available at any time during the day. The rooms were very nice and extremely clean with daily service. We stayed there three nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window in the bathroom as one of our rooms had an interior bathroom which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#151 of 410 in Florence
2,062 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 326 in Florence
2,575 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,825 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,891 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais del Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais del Duomo

Address: Piazza Dell'Olio 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Relais del Duomo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais del Duomo is located at the first floor of a historic Florentine palace of 1700, carefully restored. You will find a quit atmosphere in the four rooms, three doubles and one single, furnished in Florentine style. Each room has its own private bathroom with shower; air-conditioned; television; safe. The rich breakfast is always included in the price. Free Wi-fi. The bed and breakfast Relais del Duomo has a prime location in the center of Florence, it's at two steps from Piazza Duomo; 5 minutes by foot form the train station Santa Maria Novella, Galleria degli Uffizi, Piazza della Signoria, Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais del Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Del Duomo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing