We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Place to Crash...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais del Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais del Duomo
Ranked #136 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Place to Crash...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

This place is centrally located so easy to navigate Florence from here. It was clean and well care for. Breakfast was simple and repetitive.

Unfortunately, we did not sleep too well most nights due to the restaurant below acting like a night club until 1:30am and the upstairs neighbors sliding furniture around until all hours. Additionally, every morning at 6:30am the downstairs shop raises its metal door with a motor.

There is also no one at the desk but for a few hours in the morning so concierge help was minimal.

Room Tip: i do not think you can escape the music on Friday/Saturday nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyrbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    63
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
146
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
319 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Relais del Duomo is exactly what you need if you want to enjoy Firenze and see as much as possible. Piazza del Duomo is 45 seconds from the doorstep (timed), any significant location is less than 20 minutes on foot. Elisabetta was priceless: friendly, lots of tips, excellent cappuccino, surprisingly good English. The room was tidy and quiet (triple window, silent air conditioning). When leaving, the taxi station is just around the corner, 20 minutes to the airport. We spent 4 days there and when we go back – that is where we shall stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are smaller but probably more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

A beautiful experience in every regard. The accommodation had all the "must haves" - A large bed in a light, spacious and well appointed room, with air con and wi-fi. A clean generous sized bathroom where everything worked as it should. And a location "to die for" - just around the corner from Il Duomo, yet blissfully quiet at night.

However, the most amazing feature was the multi lingual owner herself. Elisabetta obviously loves what she does and is attentive to the point of distraction. Her profound local knowledge, her willingness to assist with bookings to local sights and her boundless Italian charm made for a delightfully unforgettable experience.

For the two of us it is the only place we would even think of staying in Florence!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights at the start of our Italian holiday, having read the review in Lonely Planet. On arrival we were greeted by the charming Elisabetta who made our stay just perfect and so memorable. She recommended restaurants, taught us Italian phrases, made us laugh, gave us delicious coffee and served us what turned out to be the the best croissants we ate during the whole of our 3 week holiday. Our room was quite small but it didn't cause us any problems. The location was brilliant - minutes away from the Duomo, it couldn't have been more central for exploring the city. We would definitely recommend the Relais and would certainly choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windmill50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2011. Located just 1 block away from Florence Duomo, it's the perfect hotel to stay while exploring the city. We shopped, returned to our hotel to drop off our shopping bags, and shopped again, and returned for toilet breaks, etc.

The only downside was the the front door. The reception staff is not always around. Although each guest has keys, but if someone fails to turn the lock completely from the inside, people will not be able to open the lock from the outside. At one time we were locked out and had to wait for about 30mins, banging the door and ringing the bell, until a guest opened the door for us from inside.

But still, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glembidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We found this hotel in Lonely Planet and as usual they were spot on. It's not so easy to find but is only 5 mins walk from the Santa Maria Novella Railway station & right around the corner from the Cathedral. The location couldn't be better. There are only 4 rooms, which are small but have everything you need plus the
owner, Elizabetta, can't do enough to help. Definately recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozani, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We've stayed for two nights in July at Relais del Duomo. It has only four rooms and the room that we stayed in was easily the smallest room we've ever stayed in any hotel! Only seven steps from wall to wall! What's more, the room was rather dark even at high noon and when we left the window open, the room smelled from the restaurant below. There are two rooms that face the main street in front of the hotel and seem quite comfortable and spacious but unfortunately ours was not one of them.

On the bright side, the hotel is on an excellent location, only a few steps from the Duomo, the Cathedral of Florence. The buffet breakfast was decent (coffee, croissants, yogurt, cereal, marmelade etc but no hot meals) and the landlady Ms Elisabetta was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syrah-Viognier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#260 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#183 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#200 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Tourist House Battistero
Tourist House Battistero
#90 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Duomo
B&b Dell'Olio
B&b Dell'Olio
#67 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Duomo
Relais Il Campanile
Relais Il Campanile
#267 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais del Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais del Duomo

Property: Relais del Duomo
Address: Piazza Dell'Olio 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Relais del Duomo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais del Duomo is located at the first floor of a historic Florentine palace of 1700, carefully restored. You will find a quit atmosphere in the four rooms, three doubles and one single, furnished in Florentine style. Each room has its own private bathroom with shower; air-conditioned; television; safe. The rich breakfast is always included in the price. Free Wi-fi. The bed and breakfast Relais del Duomo has a prime location in the center of Florence, it's at two steps from Piazza Duomo; 5 minutes by foot form the train station Santa Maria Novella, Galleria degli Uffizi, Piazza della Signoria, Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Relais del Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Del Duomo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing