We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location, Service and Rooms”
Review of La Casa del Garbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa del Garbo
Ranked #31 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Of the three places we stayed during our trip through Italy, this was my favorite.
We could not ask for a better location for seeing the sights on our agenda.
Uffizi is around the corner, Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, and Santa Croce are all within 5 minutes walk.
The staff is exceptional. We asked for recommendations daily for dinner. They graciously made reservations for us as Ristorante del Fagioli, Hostaria il desco, and La Galleria. All were wonderful authentic Italian dining experiences.
The rooms on the "first floor" is what I would call the 2nd floor. There are probably 20+ stairs to the reception room (office) and 1st floor rooms. This would not be good for someone with difficulty with stairs.
There is free wi-fi, which we learned based on our other hotels, is a luxury. We used skype daily to talk with our kids, so this was important to us.
The room was large and comfortable. There was a great view of Piazza Della Signoria. The bathroom was quite nice and large. Even the hairdryer worked well- which again was not the same case in other hotels.
We got dessert from the restaurant directly downstairs. Apparently "to go" isn't common there. They restaurant did allow us to take the plates, etc to our room and return them the next morning. I though that was nice and certainly not required.
We did not have issues with the noise in the plaza, but it could be issues for light sleepers.
Great place..... I would choose to go back should we go to Florence again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBoothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

We had four wonderful nights at this hotel. The Eleonora Room was large, with a fabulous out look over the Piazza, a large bathroom and all beautifully decorated. The location was perfect, very very close to the galleries and easy walking to the shops, The Pitti Palace and the station. The breakfast room was a lovely place to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandi066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My wife and I found this gem quite a few years ago - before infect the B&B section was complete. We have returned at least 6 or 7 times, often spending Christmas and New Years. We spent my 60th birthday there and I can't think of a place I would rather have been. Your every wish is met. Most rooms offer a spectacular view of Piazza della Signoria and Palazzo Vecchio. Virtually everything you could want to do in Florence is within walking distance and if you arrive by train, you can even walk to the apartment. Being so close to the train station offers ease of day trips to Pisa, Sienna and other spectacular locations.
You will not be sorry you selected this location. I can't wait to return later this year.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlesandmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This is one of the nicest places we've stayed --- not only on our Italy trip but anywhere we've traveled. The staff was wonderful, the owner was incredible, and the location and property couldn't be beat. I have nothing but great memories about this place. We are planning another trip to Florence, just to stay there again. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EManSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This was a nice change for us, as we had stayed in hotels for the first part of our Italian trip. Having an apartment for our 8 day stay in Florence was a lovely alternative.
The front door is located right next to the florist in the Piazza della Signoria, which our driver told us is "the heart of Florence" It can be tricky to find but we had no troubles.
There are a good 20 steps up to reception, and these are pretty old, high concrete steps which could be difficult to navigate with heavy suitcases. We travel light, with just a carry on case each, so it was quite easy for us to manage.
Diane met us on arrival, a lovely character, who was very helpful.
We did have another three flights of stairs to our room, so in total I think it was about 65 steps from the front door to the room. I can honestly say I hated doing those stairs after a long day out and about, but I did climb them a number of times each day, I'm not fit, and it didn't kill me, so they can't be that bad.
We had the Lorenzo Suite, which has a small, single room attached to it which our daughter used. The single room doesn't have a bathroom, but it does have a good amount of space, with a wardrobe and table, plus it's own window opening out onto the Piazza.
Our room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was lovely. Nice big shower, but the water can run out quickly, so take a short shower.
It can be noisy outside, especially at night when the crowds are finishing off their drinking, but it wasn't anything that kept us up much.
The Piazza is right outside the front door, with cafes/restaurants/banks and shops very close by.
The restaurants in the Piazza are not the best, but for a pizza or a plate of pasta, they are just fine.
Avoid the Gelateria in the square, their prices are astronomical, at least for tourists, and with so many other great places, like Grom and Perche no so close by, why get ripped off?
Florence is a beautiful city, with so much to see and do, and La Casa del Garbo is a lovely, affordable place to stay to enjoy all that Florence has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. We travelled throughout Italy with 2 other couples and stayed in several small inns and B&B's but La Casa del Garbo was a standout. You simply can't beat the location in Florence, and the rooms/suites were spacious and charming. The staff was extremely helpful and attentive. We stayed in Cosimo which was very comfortable and quiet. All of this for a very reasonable rate. I think it may have been apartments at one time that have fairly recently been converted to a bed and breakfast. The reception hours are limited so make sure you check ahead so that you won't have any problems upon arrival. I would strongly recommend La Casa del Garbo to anyone travelling to Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Excellent location, super friendly and accommodating staff, and very cute and clean rooms, we loved this place. We had a two week trip in Europe - Paris, Venice, Florence, and Rome - this was far and away the best place we stayed, yet cheaper than the other places, especially Rome. Breakfast was excellent - beyond expectations and good enough that you'd want to pay for it (but you don't).

We stayed for 5 nights in the Fiametta room - a little smaller than the others, but very cute, and most of all for us, quiet and clean. Perhaps the only thing wrong is that for a 6' 1" guy like me, the beams in the ceiling were a little old - but hey, this is Europe, on one of the greatest squares in the world, in a very old building.

Hard to rate something 5's on everything, but I honestly can't think of one bad thing about this place. They even helped us find restaurants, activities, and how to get to "The Mall" (btw, that was a waste of time!)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattleexplorer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#53 of 411 in Florence
519 reviews
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
#33 of 659 in Florence
384 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#13 of 659 in Florence
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#38 of 659 in Florence
625 reviews
Uffizi
Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#32 of 659 in Florence
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Garbo

Address: Piazza della Signoria 8 | Corner with Via dei Magazzini, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £76 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Garbo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa del Garbo**** A home in the heart of the art of Florence Florence is a city that amazes you every day while remaining the same. It boasts a wonderful succession of artistic vestiges and characteristic corners that little by little will surprise you as you stroll the streets of its center. The historical accommodation, La Casa del Garbo, is an elegant Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Florentine historical center, in Piazza della Signoria. It is right in front of Palazzo Vecchio, a few meters from the world famous Galleria degli Uffizi, near Piazza del Duomo and Ponte Vecchio. Every day that you spend in one of the suites of La Casa del Garbo, you will breathe the charm of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your La Casa del Garbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Garbo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing