We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa del Garbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa del Garbo
Ranked #50 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location in Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Location great; rooms clean and roomy; rooms a little noisy at times- some of the rooms with windows that open onto the Piazza were a little noisy and picked up cigarette smoke from the Piazza if windows left open; wifi a little quirky; very friendly and helpful staff; rooms large but woudl not allow a third person in a very large room- had to pay for a small separate room so make sure if you have 3 people to book it that way (we booked for 2, hoping to add a cot or rollaway, but were told this was 'not possible')

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jschultz1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    93
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
101
297
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

When we checked in at the Casa del Garbo on Saturday, April 30, 2011, we asked the receptionist if noise would be an issue since we were told that our room looked out over a piazza (Piazza della Signoria). We were reassured that there was double-paned glass and that we shouldn't have a problem.
After a nice dinner, my husband and I went to sleep at about 11pm. Almost 2 hours later I was awoken by the sound of loud music that sounded so close it was almost as if there was a band playing right in the room. I went over to the windows, which looked out over Piazza della Signoria, and realized that not only was the piazza jam packed with people (and their loud voices) but there was a concert going on, with live music, announcements etc. It didn't take my husband long to wake up too. The concert went on until about 3 am and the lingering crowds kept us up until almost 5 am. So for the one-night fee of 167 euros we were not able to sleep at all. The next day, exhausted and visibly upset, we stopped and told the receptionist that we had been up all night and she seemed surprised, acting as if there was something odd about US! Later on, as we strolled through Florence, we asked some of the locals, along with some Carabinieri (police), what all the racket was. Apparently every April 30 is "White Night" (always held on April 30 because May 1 is a major holiday, Labor Day) and the concert was part of the White Night celebration. Why this wasn't disclosed to us at the time of the reservation (about 2 weeks prior) is beyond me. There is no possible way that the hotel didn't know about the concert. And if we had been warned about it when we checked in, we could have at least bought some ear plugs which would have helped to some degree. Neither of the two hotel employees (receptionists) that we spoke to was empathetic. And most annoying is the fact that there is no phone in the room to call the reception. So if you want to talk to someone you have to physically go downstairs. Plus, they are only on duty for part of the day, so if we wanted to complain, as we did that night, there was no one there to help us. I do NOT recommend this hotel, they were dishonest.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariap66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garbofirenze, Proprietario at La Casa del Garbo, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
In response to this guest, I would like to say that my colleague had checked them in the day before and I came on duty the morning of their check-out.

We have double glass on our windows which helps to block out a considerable amount of noise. We do understand that a concert could certainly be heard even with double glass. It is true that my colleague correctly informed them that it would be very unlikely to hear any noise from the square because, in fact, at night, unless there is some particular event going on, one can not hear noise.

We have to thank this guest for informing us that the “White Night” event, which is an all night celebration, falls on the 30th of April each year. This is something that we absolutely did not know (and allows now to inform our future guests) and we have never been informed by the local town hall or the Florence Tourist Association of any events that will be taking place in the square.

I checked online the same day our guest left to check the events schedule that had taken place in Piazza Signoria the previous night and found out that there had been a Jazz Marathon scheduled from 9:00 pm until 3:00 am in Piazzale degli Uffizi, next to and not in Piazza Signoria. This means that even if we had been informed about the upcoming event, we would not have known about a location change to Piazza Signoria. If, indeed, the concert had been going on since 9:00 pm, why did our guest only notice it from around 1:00 am on? We had 3 rooms occupied that faced the square that night and this particular guest was the only one that made a complaint.

As far as their room rate goes, the room they requested was not available. Our mid-season rate for the Lorenzo suite, where they stayed, is € 185,00 and they were given a 10% discount of € 167,00 for this suite when they confirmed our voucher, well before their stay with us. It is possible for anyone who visits our website to see the photos of our rooms and suites.

We are not a large hotel but rather, a small family run Bed and Breakfast, almost like a house. We do not have a night porter and the reception hours are clearly stated in our website on the same page as the room rates. Neither do we have telephones in our rooms and suites because the reception is very close to all the rooms, however, in the case that we did, we seriously don’t know what we could have done to stop the concert that night.

We are always sorry if a guest is not satisfied with their stay with us because it is in our best interest to make our guests happy. We absolutely do not feel, in any way, that we acted dishonestly.
Simonetta Paoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

I had to travel to Florence to care for my daughter who had emergency surgery while studying in Florence. This B&B was recommended to me and I am so happy I chose to stay there. Warm, friendly, accommodating with terrific rooms and priced right. I will definitely come back again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkreisberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

From the moment our taxi turned onto La Piazza della Signora, we knew we loved the location of this hotel. The room and the service did not disappoint! Our only regret is that we only stayed in Florence for two nights. We will definitely return to La Casa Del Garbo for our next (longer) visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dajecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

This hotel is situated in the most picturesque square in Florence. We arrived in Florence by car, and the garage that the hotel manager had proposed us, was only 200 meters away!!! The room had two absolute separated areas. One “pure” bedroom with a double bed and the other area with a double bed a small living room space and a kitchen, fully equipped !!! That room had an excellent and unbelievable view over the Piazza della Sinioria looking across the House of Medici, an amazing building-castle.!! We were only few blocks away of everything in the center of Florence and 100 meter from the Arno river and the magnificent bridges. I will definitely booked again this hotel when I will visit Firenze again !!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AxFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed at the La Casa Del Garbo for 3 nights while we were in Florence. The location can not be beat!! It is within walking distance to everything. The staff is very helpful and accomodating with everything from directions to restaurant selections. The room was wide open and very spacious. The only thing that wasn't the best was we had booked 3 nights and upon arrival we were informed we would have to be moved to a different room after the first night. The were very nice about it and moved our luggage and everything for us even though it was just next door. We spent one night in the Eleonara room and the next two in Gemma room, both were very nice and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We loved this hotel, and it was our favorite out of the 4 we stayed in while traveling around Italy. It is centrally located and on a beautiful piazza. My husband, sister, and I stayed in the Arnolfo 2-bedroom suite, which overlooks the piazza. My parents stayed in Beatrice, which included breakfast. They absolutely loved it as well! I have recommended this hotel to family and co-workers since, and they have also raved about it. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I return to Florence someday!

Room Tip: Pack light! Big flight of stairs and no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#23 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#40 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
#25 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#6 of 297 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Uffizi
Palazzo Uguccioni
Palazzo Uguccioni
#37 of 297 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Garbo

Property: La Casa del Garbo
Address: Piazza della Signoria 8, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Garbo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa del Garbo**** A home in the heart of the art of Florence Florence is a city that amazes you every day while remaining the same. It boasts a wonderful succession of artistic vestiges and characteristic corners that little by little will surprise you as you stroll the streets of its center. The historical accommodation, La Casa del Garbo, is an elegant Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Florentine historical center, in Piazza della Signoria. It is right in front of Palazzo Vecchio, a few meters from the world famous Galleria degli Uffizi, near Piazza del Duomo and Ponte Vecchio. Every day that you spend in one of the suites of La Casa del Garbo, you will breathe the charm of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your La Casa del Garbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Garbo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing