We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely rooms”
Review of La Casa del Garbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Casa del Garbo
Ranked #40 of 643 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Didcot
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely rooms”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This B&B is actually on the Palazzo Vecchio, what a brilliant location! I was just staying there for 2 nights in November 2011 and it was cold in the city; however, the rooms were warm and comfortable. The rooms are huge, I had a double room with a large and very clean and well presented bathroom. The breakfast was continental with bread, cold meats and cheese and lots of fruit - certainly filling enough. The staff were veryfriendly and helpful, so I certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    96
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
104
303
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Wonderful location inside the piazza and very easy to walk to from the train station (less than 15 min). The room we had was Beatrice and it was spacious as was the bathroom. The hot water in the shower was consistent and the entire place kept very clean. The breakfast was well presented with juice, cafe latte or Americano coffee or espresso fresh fruit, cold cuts, cheese and rolls. The workers at breakfast were so nice as were the front desk staff. They all had good dinner recommendations. This was our favorite B&B's of our trip to Italy. Good internet connection. (fast)

Room Tip: Any room is good. We had the least expensive one and were quite pleased. No view but we were out s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Our trip to Italy started with Florence and the Casa Del Garbo. It's a great location! Our room was large and quiet and comfortable. Natalia was helpful and accommodating and the overall experience was very postitive. I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Location has never been better. It's at Piazza Signoria. Accessible to any other locations from here. Replicate of David is right here! We can see it and the square from our room.
We had the Lorenzo room and Gemma room. Excellent rooms. You will get exactly what you see from their website. Usually the photos from the websites are photoshoped or a little less grand. But this is different. I'm very impressed and truly satisfied with the rooms.
The hotel is quite different from the ones we had stayed in Milan & Venice. It's like an apartment, less commercialized, more quaint, bright and light, very clean, equiped with kitchen facilities and a small dining room!
There's a breakfast area and it's perfect. If you have the Lorenzo room, you can choose to have breakfast in your room. Selection is very limited but that's the usual standard in Italy/Europe. Bread with ham and/or spread, and coffee/tea/bottled juice.
One note though, there's no elevator or lift in the building. Pack light as you will be the one carrying it up the stairs.

Room Tip: For triple sharing, the extra bed will be tucked away in another section of the Lorenzo room. So rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Hill, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Wonderful, central location. Our room was in the Michelangelo suite overlooking the Piazza della Signoria, so sometimes a bit noisy at night, but even that was worthwhile because of the interesting people we saw. The suite was beautifully decorated, lovely clean bathroom and had kitchen facilities, which helped with the immense cost of eating out in Florence as we were able to cook some of our own meals. However, no kettle - we had to boil water in a saucepan. Breakfasts were provided - lovely fresh fruit, croissants, bread. Close to the Duomo, Uffizzi Gallery and other sights. Also within easy reach of other places - we took a local bus to Fiesole one day, and that was lovely. Main drawback was lack of lift - two flights up with our suitcases.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzgerald2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We chose this hotel mainly because of its location, website information and customer feedback. We had a very comfortable 3 night stay in the Gemma room with a high window view of the Piazza Signoria. The hotel is centrally situated and so easy to come back to when you get tired. Natalia was extremely helpful both before and during our visit. We parked our car in a recommended garage outside the no drive limits and were driven right into the Piazza. Take up Natalia's suggestions on eating places, they were excellent. Don't eat on the Piazza! Breakfast was first rate, staff friendly and helpful and the idea of all guests eating at one table is brilliant. We had great breakfast chats with American guests. It can be a little bit noisy late at night but that's to be expected in such a location and it certainly didn't lessen our great experience at Casa del Garbo. Would definitely recommend to anyone coming to Florence. Thank you Natalia for all your help.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMEC1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My husband picked this place and I was a little nervous at first, but upon our arrival I was blown away with the view of the Piazza Signoria and the wonderful room. Stayed in the Lorenzo room with my husband for three nights and absolutely loved it. The room was exceptional - a kitchen, extra space with a couch, amble closet space, and a wonderful bathroom. Breakfast was great and it was nice to wake up to a cup of coffee, fruit, and croissant every morning. The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars was because the bed was a little hard. Also, I would recommend bringing ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. While the location is wonderful it can be a bit noisy sometime.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpaker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#167 of 411 in Florence
408 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#54 of 411 in Florence
441 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#5 of 302 in Florence
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#27 of 643 in Florence
618 reviews
Uffizi
Palazzo Uguccioni
Palazzo Uguccioni
#44 of 302 in Florence
99 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#32 of 643 in Florence
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Garbo

Property: La Casa del Garbo
Address: Piazza della Signoria 8, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Garbo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa del Garbo**** A home in the heart of the art of Florence Florence is a city that amazes you every day while remaining the same. It boasts a wonderful succession of artistic vestiges and characteristic corners that little by little will surprise you as you stroll the streets of its center. The historical accommodation, La Casa del Garbo, is an elegant Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Florentine historical center, in Piazza della Signoria. It is right in front of Palazzo Vecchio, a few meters from the world famous Galleria degli Uffizi, near Piazza del Duomo and Ponte Vecchio. Every day that you spend in one of the suites of La Casa del Garbo, you will breathe the charm of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Casa del Garbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Garbo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing