We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renee From Wales”
Review of Hotel Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Croce
Ranked #48 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I travelled to Florence with 8 family members to study for a week. The hotel is very conveniently situated in the centre of Florence. In my opinion this hotels service is 5 star. All the rooms were clean and tidy but due to the fact that it is an ancient building they are small. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Renee,
thanks a lot.

Can't wait to see you again when you will come back to Florence.

Best Regards
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce - Centro Storico Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

9 Cousins went to floramce to go to school. We all stayed at the Santa Croce hotel, we had excellent service and lovely clean sheets and towels every day. We are going back in March for another weeks school and we WILL be staying at the Santa Croce hotel thank you all the the hotel for your kind attention to us all, we look forward to coming back..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Susan, Remo and all cousins,
thank you so much for your nice review, it’s important for us.

See you next time you will come back to Florence to study Italian ;-)
We'll help you again with difficult words and with big numbers of the rooms.

Best Regards
Mario, Gabriele and Staff all
Hotel Santa Croce - Centro Storico Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is not a luxury hotel by any means, it is 2 star and in a converted building, so set your expectations accordingly. It does have individual bathrooms and air conditioning.

The location is midway between Santa Croce Piazza and Uffizi gallery which is very convenient for sight seeing. There is no lift but staff will help with luggage. The breakfast is simple continental but very accommodating. The rooms are not large, but clean, well appointed and have good facilities.

The only disadvantages of the hotel is that the area is around many bars and cafes so it was a little noisy at night. Also, the bed was quite small and not very comfortable but a bigger room may have better furniture. Otherwise it is great value for money, a nice place run by lovely staff right beside all of the sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Customer,
we are delighted that you liked your stay at Hotel Santa Croce

Thank you for your nice words, they are really rewarding for us.

We're looking forward to hosting you again when you will come back to Florence.

Best regards by Santa Croce Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have stayed in many beautiful hotels with excellent service, but Hotel Santa Croce exceeded our expectations. The hotel is wonderful with much history, but the service was equally wonderful.
It has a very central location, with easy access to all the sites. We would go back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wshfultravls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your nice review, it's very appreciated !

We are delighted that you liked your stay at our hotel.

We're looking forward to hosting you again for your next stay in Florence.

Best regards by Santa Croce Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I read the recommendations of others here and decided to book this hotel for my few days in Florence and I'm glad I did. The price was right but the location really clinched it for me. Santa Croce which was my first stop in Florence- is just around the corner. And everything else you're there to see is within easy walking distance.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and more helpful. And the Wifi, AC and breakfast were a big plus (and again, part of why I booked this hotel).

It's down a small side street so even though I was on the ground floor (I was in the Dante room) I heard hardly any outside noise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great review !

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

a nice, small hotel close to everything. rooms a bit worn but clean and sober. the staff really nice and polite. The price includes free wifi, air conditioning and breakfast.

I can recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapPa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Pap,
Thank you for appreciating our Hotel.

We hope to host you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My trip plans drastically changed after breaking my foot on the first day of my vacation in Florence. I was supposed to travel with my Italian friends, but due to immobility issues, I decided to remain in the city. Florence is my favourite, and I have been there numerous times, but I usually rent an apartment or stay with friends. As I phoned around looking for a hotel for a long stay, I found Hotel Santa Croce by chance. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff convinced me to try it out. My sojourn at the hotel turned out to be memorable and extremely enjoyable. The staff is welcoming and attentive, the hotel is clean and has been recently renovated, and the Santa Croce area is central and exciting. Moreover, the hotel is homey, and I was delighted to meet other tourists from around the world. Though the hotel is a 2-star, it far exceeded my expectations. I plan to return soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for appreciating our Hotel.

We hope to host you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,822 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#39 of 410 in Florence
1,788 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 410 in Florence
815 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#66 of 410 in Florence
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce

Address: Via De' Bentaccordi, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#56 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £43 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Croce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAYING AT HOTEL SANTA CROCE gives the possibility to live a unique experience in the magical atmosphere of Florence. Small but welcoming, Hotel Santa Croce is immersed in the marvellous historical centre, right in the heart of the artistic, cultural and commercial life of the city. The Hotel is situated in an historical building dating back to the 600s and stands on the remains of an ancient Roman amphitheatre. The illustrious Michelangelo Buonarroti spent his childhood years in the adjoining house (there is a marble plaque showing evidence of this on the wall of the first floor). While just a few metres away you can find all of the most important monuments and museums, as well as the most renowned bars for those who would like a taste of the Florentine night-life. Situated only 100 metres from Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Piazza Santa Croce (from where the Hotel's name derives), you can admire the enchanting Basilica where the remains of the greatest artists, writers, poets and scientists in Italian history are buried; we are also just a few steps away from il Duomo, il Battistero, the magnificent Campanile di Giotto and the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore and Santa Maria Novella, not to mention the precious Ponte Vecchio, under which Florence's rushing River Arno flows. Or if you would prefer to dedicate some of your free-time to shopping, you can spend hours walking up and down Via Tornabuoni or Via De Calzaiuoli discovering the best names in Italian, and international fashion. The breakfast room, cosy, warm and welcoming, will help you wake up in the best of moods. There is a 24-hour reception service and staff are always willing to help wherever possible. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Santa Croce ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce Florence
Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing