We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place to stay”
Review of Hotel Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Croce
Ranked #43 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Cosy place to stay”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Although the hotel is rather small, it's a really pleasant place to stay. We (20 & 21 years old) went here for just one night. The staff was really helpful and kind! This was one of the biggest pluses of this hotel.
The rooms are a bit small, but since it's in an ancient building you can't expect otherwise. The bathroom was perfectly cleaned and so was the rest of the room.
Don't expect to have a lot of choice to eat at the breakfast, but for us it was more than enough and don't forget it's typical Italian to have a small breakfast with some croissants and a cup of coffee and juices. Here, again, the staff was really kind.
So in short we would really recommend this place if you seek a cosy, nice and cheap place to sleep in the centre Florence.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Bart,
we are delighted that you liked your stay at our Hotel.

Thanks a lot for your great review, it's really rewarding for us.

We're looking forward to hosting you again as soon as possible.

Best regards by Santa Croce Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    230
    30
    13
    1
See reviews for
187
316
83
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Firstly, hands down, in all the hotels I stayed at in Italy on this trip, this one had the best service! It may be a 2-star hotel, but it has 5-star customer service! We stayed here for 3 nights and all the hotel staff were super helpful and friendly. Breakfast had really yummy glazed croissants that was served to you. Location was pretty good too, within walking distance to major sites... right beside a few reputable leather stores and the market at Santa Croce.

The only bad would be that the room is 2-star quality, but considering everything else and the price, there was a lot of value in this hotel and I would still recommend it. So the room was quite tight (for 4 people) and the washroom even smaller... but we made it work and no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Melissa,
we're very happy you enjoyed our services and you consider them 5-star services.

We are delighted that you liked your stay at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Cozy lovely small hotel, close to the beautiful Basilica di Santa Croce. All major sightseeing places are within a short walk. Though hotel is located on an old quiet street, there are many shops and stands right around the corner. Our room was very nice and clean; tasty fresh breakfast gave us a good start for the day. Mario and other staff members were very helpful and friendly (helped us with our luggage, gave us directions, etc.). We were three ladies travelling, and we agreed that if any of us will have chance to return to Florence, this pretty place will be our top choice. I praised it to my friends and recommend to anyone looking for the place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Natalya,
thank you for your review and for recommending our Hotel to your friends and the Tripadvisor community, we are all happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again as soon as possibile.

Best regards
Santa Croce Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Within walking distance from all the major sites, this hotel is ideally located at the center of Florence. It is a small hotel and the house is quite old and has a great history. Straight from your arrival you get the feeling of belonging. The staff is very helpful and kind and you can always count on them to help you with any problems you might have. The rooms are lovely and very clean. The breakfast is all right and the service is impeccable. We had five wonderful days in Florence staying at the Hotel Santa Croce and will warmly recommend it to anyone going to Florence. At the low cost of staying here, you get outstanding location, lovely accommodations and a staff that is always ready to assist you to make sure that your vacation lives up to your expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear Henrik,
thanks a lot for your great review, we are delighted that you liked your stay at Hotel Santa Croce.

Hoping you will have a lovely remind of your honeymoon in Florence.

Sincerely,
Santa Croce Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I travelled to Florence with 8 family members to study for a week. The hotel is very conveniently situated in the centre of Florence. In my opinion this hotels service is 5 star. All the rooms were clean and tidy but due to the fact that it is an ancient building they are small. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Renee,
thanks a lot.

Can't wait to see you again when you will come back to Florence.

Best Regards
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce - Centro Storico Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

9 Cousins went to floramce to go to school. We all stayed at the Santa Croce hotel, we had excellent service and lovely clean sheets and towels every day. We are going back in March for another weeks school and we WILL be staying at the Santa Croce hotel thank you all the the hotel for your kind attention to us all, we look forward to coming back..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Susan, Remo and all cousins,
thank you so much for your nice review, it’s important for us.

See you next time you will come back to Florence to study Italian ;-)
We'll help you again with difficult words and with big numbers of the rooms.

Best Regards
Mario, Gabriele and Staff all
Hotel Santa Croce - Centro Storico Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is not a luxury hotel by any means, it is 2 star and in a converted building, so set your expectations accordingly. It does have individual bathrooms and air conditioning.

The location is midway between Santa Croce Piazza and Uffizi gallery which is very convenient for sight seeing. There is no lift but staff will help with luggage. The breakfast is simple continental but very accommodating. The rooms are not large, but clean, well appointed and have good facilities.

The only disadvantages of the hotel is that the area is around many bars and cafes so it was a little noisy at night. Also, the bed was quite small and not very comfortable but a bigger room may have better furniture. Otherwise it is great value for money, a nice place run by lovely staff right beside all of the sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Customer,
we are delighted that you liked your stay at Hotel Santa Croce

Thank you for your nice words, they are really rewarding for us.

We're looking forward to hosting you again when you will come back to Florence.

Best regards by Santa Croce Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,672 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,268 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
787 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 422 in Florence
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce

Property: Hotel Santa Croce
Address: Via De' Bentaccordi, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#30 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#56 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Croce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAYING AT HOTEL SANTA CROCE gives the possibility to live a unique experience in the magical atmosphere of Florence. Small but welcoming, Hotel Santa Croce is immersed in the marvellous historical centre, right in the heart of the artistic, cultural and commercial life of the city. The Hotel is situated in an historical building dating back to the 600s and stands on the remains of an ancient Roman amphitheatre. The illustrious Michelangelo Buonarroti spent his childhood years in the adjoining house (there is a marble plaque showing evidence of this on the wall of the first floor). While just a few metres away you can find all of the most important monuments and museums, as well as the most renowned bars for those who would like a taste of the Florentine night-life. Situated only 100 metres from Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Piazza Santa Croce (from where the Hotel's name derives), you can admire the enchanting Basilica where the remains of the greatest artists, writers, poets and scientists in Italian history are buried; we are also just a few steps away from il Duomo, il Battistero, the magnificent Campanile di Giotto and the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore and Santa Maria Novella, not to mention the precious Ponte Vecchio, under which Florence's rushing River Arno flows. Or if you would prefer to dedicate some of your free-time to shopping, you can spend hours walking up and down Via Tornabuoni or Via De Calzaiuoli discovering the best names in Italian, and international fashion. The breakfast room, cosy, warm and welcoming, will help you wake up in the best of moods. There is a 24-hour reception service and staff are always willing to help wherever possible. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Santa Croce ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce Florence
Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing