We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, great location to explore Florence”
Review of Hotel Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Croce
Ranked #38 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great location to explore Florence”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great 2 star hotel in a perfect location to explore Florence. The hotel is very clean and the staff are so friendly,I would recommend to individuals and families. There are some great restaurants and bars right on the doorstep and its situated in the old historic part of Florence so very safe and not noisey in the evening. I hope to visit Florence again next year and will be coming back to Hotel Santa Croce.

Thanks for a great stay in early Oct!

Room Tip: We had a family room for 4 adults and it worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveFlorence2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and for recommending our Hotel to your friends, Family and the Tripadvisor community.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again asap.

Best regards
Santa Croce Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    229
    30
    12
    1
See reviews for
186
313
83
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in Florence for 2 nights and this hotel was perfect. It is close to the city centre and you can reach all the sights by foot. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant that the hotel recommends served the best meals we had in italy! Make sure to take the 10% discount voucher and visit the restaurant! Rooms were clean and comfortable and ensured we had a taxi waiting at the exact time to get to the airport on time even though we had technically checked out 6 hours before.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Jen,
thank you for appreciating our services.

We hope to have you back soon as a guest.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

After a long journey to get to the hotel, we were greeted upon arrival by the owners with our choice of a cold glass of water or juice. The hotel owners and staff were very friendly and hospitable to us our entire stay. We asked if we could extend our stay another night; they did some rearranging with rooms and other guests to make that possible for us. They were very helpful with directions, including bus and train lines for out of town day trip, and also with restaurant recommendations. They went out of their way to help. The room was adequate and had A/C, which helped because we wanted to close the windows at night to keep the room quiet from street noise, which worked fine. WiFi was reliable. Breakfast was good and the cappucino served with a smile. The hotel was in a good location, close to Santa Croce, Piazza Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and a favorite - Vivoli's for gelato!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff n Patty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Jeff,
thank you so much for the wonderful review and enjoyed all our services.

We're just a little bit sad that you've only put 3 points on 5, undoubtedly due to a mistake, simply because you wrote a review so beautiful that it deserved the highest value :-)

Maybe next time.

We hope you will be back as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I travelled alone for 4 days to Firenze and this hotel was perfect for me: it is really close to the center of Firenze and it is a really good place to enjoy the Firenze's life. The treatment was excellent and they helped me a lot to organize a trip to Pisa and another one to Siena.

The single room was more than enough for me : it was really clean with a private bathroom. The breakfasts were really good.

I just can give thanks to them because the experience was perfect and if in the future I go to Firenze, I will come back to this hotel for sure!

Grazie mille per tutto!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAwera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Madam,
thank you for choosing the Hotel Santa Croce for your stay in Florence and for wonderful review you wrote.

We were very happy to organize all your tours in Florence and other Tuscan cities and we are happy that you enjoyed these our services.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The staff which is managing the hotel is unbelievably pleasant, helpful, reliable and honest. the location of the hotel can't be better, which makes everything in the old city reachable without worrying about transportation. If you are good people you will find common language with the brothers who own and manage the hotel. Great return for you money

Room Tip: If you are a couple, ask for a room for 3. it will make a huge difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 629_629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Customer,
we're very happy you enjoyed our services and you consider them 5-star services.

We are delighted that you liked your stay at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hotel Santa Croce was the perfect place for my mother and I to stay while we were in Florence. Yes the rooms and shower are small but it is well worth it to be so close to so many wonderful sites and restaurants. The breakfast was good and plentiful and the bed was so comfortable. The staff was more than helpful and answered all the questions we had. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eg2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We are happy that you appreciated our help and your stay at our Hotel.

Come to visit us again when you'll come back to Florence.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Santa Croce a few weeks ago (mid September) and had the most wonderful stay. The location of the hotel is fantastic - you are within walking distance to all major historical sights in Florence. Piazza Santa Croce is literally less than a minute walk away - there are plenty of restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk. All of the staff members were great - kind, helpful and accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable. It was, of course, not large but the hotel itself is a historical building which we thought was neat. I would certainly return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Thank you Hotel Santa Croce for adding to our wonderful experience in Florence!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Jami,
thank you so much for the wonderful review and for the title you have written.

We are very happy that everything was to your liking.

We hope to see you again as soon as possible.

Many greetings from the Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce

Property: Hotel Santa Croce
Address: Via De' Bentaccordi, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#36 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#55 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Croce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAYING AT HOTEL SANTA CROCE gives the possibility to live a unique experience in the magical atmosphere of Florence. Small but welcoming, Hotel Santa Croce is immersed in the marvellous historical centre, right in the heart of the artistic, cultural and commercial life of the city. The Hotel is situated in an historical building dating back to the 600s and stands on the remains of an ancient Roman amphitheatre. The illustrious Michelangelo Buonarroti spent his childhood years in the adjoining house (there is a marble plaque showing evidence of this on the wall of the first floor). While just a few metres away you can find all of the most important monuments and museums, as well as the most renowned bars for those who would like a taste of the Florentine night-life. Situated only 100 metres from Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Piazza Santa Croce (from where the Hotel's name derives), you can admire the enchanting Basilica where the remains of the greatest artists, writers, poets and scientists in Italian history are buried; we are also just a few steps away from il Duomo, il Battistero, the magnificent Campanile di Giotto and the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore and Santa Maria Novella, not to mention the precious Ponte Vecchio, under which Florence's rushing River Arno flows. Or if you would prefer to dedicate some of your free-time to shopping, you can spend hours walking up and down Via Tornabuoni or Via De Calzaiuoli discovering the best names in Italian, and international fashion. The breakfast room, cosy, warm and welcoming, will help you wake up in the best of moods. There is a 24-hour reception service and staff are always willing to help wherever possible. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Santa Croce ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce Florence
Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing