We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Firenze Experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Croce
Ranked #36 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Firenze Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I love everything about this hotel. First of all, it could not have a better location! You are steps away from shopping, and too many restaurants and bars to count. We were able to walk to every museum, and piazza that we wished to visit. The owner and staff are so helpful and friendly, and are at the desk 24 hours, which adds to the feeling of security. The rooms have everything you need, and you have the honor of staying in a building that has been around since the 600's! We had a wonderful 3 nights at the Hotel Santa Croce, and I would most certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnieAnn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,
we're very happy that you felt more safe with our desk service of 24 hours and above all that you enjoyed, just as it deserves, the charm of our historical building dating back to the 600s, in the heart of the historical center.

We hope you'll come back very soon.

Best Regards,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    219
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
182
299
80
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our first time to Italy was back in 2004 and we stayed in Florence at hotel Santa Croce for 2.5 weeks. Florence is my #1 vacation city in the world! We found this hotel quite by accident and would not trade it for all the luxurious hotels in all of Firenze. This is a small boutique, family owned hotel and it is run in a way to make the guests feel like part of the family. I had a room on the top floor with a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. The hotel was kept very clean with fresh linens and towels at the ready. The hotel staff are great for helping with reservations and giving you tips on everything under the sun (even helping you learn Italian). The location could not be better for exploring Florence. The hotel is named after one of the main squares in the city- Santa Croce and you can literally walk to everything or go around the corner (5 minute walk) to catch several buses going all over. You are literally right in the area of the Duomo, Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, Dante Museum, and several awesome restaurants and pubs. You will not be disappointed staying here. The hotel recently remodeled adding to its charm. The best thing the hotel has going for it is the staff! I put the customer service of this hotel with the best that I have experienced around the world. Overall rating 4.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbouknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth,
we cannot understand why you didn't insert the maximum of 5 points to your review since yours is one of the most beautiful reviews we ever received, but, of course, we're happy anyway.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and above all that you saw the difference in our customer service compared to other hotels of the same category or higher.

This kind of feedback is very important for us.

Thank you again, come back asap.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriel and all the Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel was at the cheaper end of the scale for hotels this central in Florence, and as such it represents excellent value for money.

The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. They and all spoke good English.

The breakfast was served between 7 and 9, and although not an extensive choice (as is common in Italy) what was on offer was very good quality.

We were in Room 101 and it was a very clean en-suite room with a modern bathroom. The shower was very cosy and it was very easy to bump into the control and change the temperature. If you were on the larger size this may be a problem. The mattress wasn't the best in the world, but adequate.

So in summary, it's a very good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartInGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your wonderful review and for appreciating all the services offered at our hotel.

We would like to clarify, just to explain better to all the other readers of Tripadvisor, that our continental breakfast buffet, of base consisting of fresh croissants, mini toast, yogurt, bread, various types of cereal, fruit juice, marmalade, chocolate spread, honey and every type of hot drink, is served every morning from 7:00 to 9:30, but we never denied it to our Guests, even if they get up and go down to the breakfast room at midday or later !

Thanks again for this nice review and we hope you'll be back here soon.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked the Santa Croce for two nights on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews. I was lucky to get the booking, they are deservedly very popular. Upon arrival in the early evening, the nice lady at the front desk asked me if I had been to Florence before. Told her that acually I had - 38 years ago, and that a memorable restaurant "Campidoglio's" has been forever etched in my mind and the subject of fond memories of my family. She researched it right then and there and found the location although it had changed ownership. I went there and it is one of the nicest restaurants in Firenze (check it out: Bottega di Rossa). The breakfasts are very nicely done too, with a smile in the cappuccino. The rooms are spotless. I would have stayed a third night but they were all full, however, Mario found me a room in another two star close by. The Santa Croce was much friendlier. They are masters at the art of florentine hospitality.

One word: don't expect big rooms and a lift. You are about to experience character and true hospitality.

Froza Santa Croce!

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your wonderful review and for all the compliments you made to our hotel and services.

We were sorry that we could not accommodate another night since we were already full booked, but we're waiting for your next stay in Firenze.

Best Greetings,
Mario, Gabriel and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my husband and 1-year-old daughter and it was perfect for a base to see Florence. The location was excellent, all the major sights were close by. The room was small and basic but very clean and the staff were lovely - as there was no lift they let us leave our pushchair in reception rather than keep carrying it up the stairs. Breakfast was simple but good enough for us and I liked that our room looked out over the street with traditional shutters. When I was looking for hotels I found them to all be extremely expensive in Florence, I think this one was one of the best locations for the price. Overall it was an enjoyable stay in a traditional Florence hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkcandifloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thanks for this great review that, judging from what you wrote, it could be even with a few more high score since you liked everything :-)

Anyway, that's okay and thank you for having enjoyed all our services and especially of our very central location in the heart of the Historical Center of Florence.

We hope to welcome you again when you'll come back to Firenze.

Best regards,
Mario Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked our overnight accommodation with hotel Santa Croce purely on recommendation of trip adviser reviews. You must must must believe all the 5 star reviews as this small hotel is testament to that. The two charming brothers, who own this hotel, go above and beyond in their welcome to you. We were offered a much welcomed cold juice as soon as we arrived whilst our luggage was delivered to our room. We were then given a map with all the points of interest which should not be missed during your stay, all are within walking distance of the Hotel Santa Croce. We were also given directions to trattoria anita restaurant which serves the most flavour some food we have tasted during our travels through Italy. The rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and breakfast was delicious. Any amounts of fresh coffee / tea/ juice/ fresh croissants etc etc. I just cannot rave about this hotel enough. We will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
your review is simply wonderful.

We're glad that you enjoyed your entire stay in our hotel and especially that you pointed out our charm :-) (thank you very much for this very nice compliment, it's appreciated so much) and of our hotel, an historical building dating back to the 600s in the heart of the historic center of Florence.

We hope you'll be here again for your next stay in Firenze.

Best Regards,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Situated in the heart of S. Croce this little hotel is set in history. The staff was really helpful in telling us the best places to visit in town as well as lugging our super heavy luggage to our room. All "touristy" places are at a walking distance and it helps that even ths railway station is near. Stay if you want something different!

Helpful?
1 Thank dhivyab2016
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for appreciating everything and especially for recommending to all our hotel like a property that makes the difference, it's precisely the result we try to achieve everyday.

We hope you'll come back the next time you'll come to Firenze.

Best Regards,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce

Property: Hotel Santa Croce
Address: Via De' Bentaccordi, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#31 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Croce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAYING AT HOTEL SANTA CROCE gives the possibility to live a unique experience in the magical atmosphere of Florence. Small but welcoming, Hotel Santa Croce is immersed in the marvellous historical centre, right in the heart of the artistic, cultural and commercial life of the city. The Hotel is situated in an historical building dating back to the 600s and stands on the remains of an ancient Roman amphitheatre. The illustrious Michelangelo Buonarroti spent his childhood years in the adjoining house (there is a marble plaque showing evidence of this on the wall of the first floor). While just a few metres away you can find all of the most important monuments and museums, as well as the most renowned bars for those who would like a taste of the Florentine night-life. Situated only 100 metres from Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Piazza Santa Croce (from where the Hotel's name derives), you can admire the enchanting Basilica where the remains of the greatest artists, writers, poets and scientists in Italian history are buried; we are also just a few steps away from il Duomo, il Battistero, the magnificent Campanile di Giotto and the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore and Santa Maria Novella, not to mention the precious Ponte Vecchio, under which Florence's rushing River Arno flows. Or if you would prefer to dedicate some of your free-time to shopping, you can spend hours walking up and down Via Tornabuoni or Via De Calzaiuoli discovering the best names in Italian, and international fashion. The breakfast room, cosy, warm and welcoming, will help you wake up in the best of moods. There is a 24-hour reception service and staff are always willing to help wherever possible. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Santa Croce ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce Florence
Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing