We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Holiday in Florence, Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Santa Croce
Ranked #36 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Summer Holiday in Florence, Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed two night hat the Hotel Santa Croce and found the room clean and nicely equipped. The owners and staff are very interested in everyone having a wonderful stay at the hotel . Had some difficulty connecting to their WIFI but overall had a delightful stay. Had a wonderful personally brewed "Coffee Amercain" each morning as a continental breakfast is provided to each guest included in the price of the stay. I was greeted when I arrive with a complimentary offer of a cold beverage to soothe away the hot Italian summer. A really excellent stay and I will plan to stay there again in a couple of years!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRM8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guests,
you review is wonderful :-)

We're so happy you enjoyed everything during your stay at Hotel Santa Croce.

Thank you again for choosing our Hotel and for appreciating all of our advices.

Regarding wi-fi, you're right ! The last day of your stay there was a general problem on all the City from the Phone Company; it's not depended on us, but everything has been fixed in that same day :-)

We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    219
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
182
299
80
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is in the best location, so close to all the tourist places in Florence. The owners are so friendly and so helpful, they made our stay amazing and I can't thank them enough. The rooms are a little small but very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOkuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Family Okuda,
we're very happy that you had a very good time at Hotel Santa Croce and enjoyed all advices we gave you to visit Firenze.

Thank you for this excellent review and we hope you'll be back as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The staff and location make this hotel. Stones throw from Santa Croce, and everything in walking distance, and the excellent introduction to Florence and the sights was invaluable. The only negative is the size of the rooms, which are tiny, but this is reflected in the price of the rooms. Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SecretKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
we are glad that you had a great time during your stay at Hotel Santa Croce.

Regarding the size of some areas, it doesn't necessarily depend on the price, but specially because we're in an historical building dating back to the 600s in the heart of the historic center of Florence or the type of room or other factors.

Recall that not always, if you pay an higher price or go to a superior class hotel in the historic center, the spaces are larger since the dimensions reflect those of buildings of that era.

Said this, just to clarify to everybody, we hope you'll be back for your next visit in Firenze.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Hotel Santa Croce is in an excellent location. The room was very nice and clean. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. A very pleasant stay and I would definitely recommend the Hotel Santa Croce!

Randy R

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Randy,
thank you so much for this excellent review.

We hope you'll be back asap.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights whilst we were in Florence. The location is excellent, only a minute from Piazza Santa Croce. Our room was small, but that is to be expected in such an old building. The breakfasts were nice, a coffee was made for us every morning, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

If you are paying by credit card, be sure to check which currency they are using for the transaction. Whilst he was only trying to be helpful, the man who charged our card when we paid our bill put the transaction through in Australian Dollars instead of Euros, resulting in extra conversion charges for us, as we had loaded Euros onto a prepaid travel card. Overall though, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebberz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for writing this excellent review on Tripadvisor, we're very pleased that the whole stay was to your liking.

Regarding the payment, we confirm that No Other Fee has been applied by the Hotel.

May be you're not aware that when your bank will convert the transaction into your own currency, the exchange provides commissions on the transaction.

The payment, in Euro or in your currency, is the same thing for the Hotel that charges the same total amount in both cases.

All of our Guests prefer to pay in their currency because the exchange rate applied at that time is, on average, cheaper than what their bank or credit card's company will apply when they will charge money the next month.

Said that, just to clarify to all the other readers of Tripadvisor, we thank you again for the great review and we hope to see you asap :-)

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Santa Croce in Florence. The location is very close to all the historical sights, and the hotel accommodations are very good and typical of centrally located small hotels you find in many European cities. What sets this hotel apart though, is the fantastic staff at Santa Croce. Mario, Gabriel and Simona went out of their way to make us feel at home. They were extremely friendly and hard working. Mario and Simona patiently answered every question we had, and Gabriel spoiled us at breakfast. Best Cappucino ever with the smily face! Grazie Gabriel!

Our hotel room was quite adequate and very clean. The air conditioning worked great which is essential for July in Florence. It was a real thrill to stay in a historical property which is right next to Michelangelo's boyhood home. We heartily recommend Hotel Santa Croce and will definitely return on our next visit to Firenze. Mario, Gabriel and Simona, thanks again for a great stay in your wonderful hotel and city.

- Lisa and Dan

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Lisa and Dan,
thanks to you for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Florence, you're 2 lovely people.

We're very happy to appreciated the charme of our Hotel and enjoyed all facilities and advises we gave you for having a great time in our magical City.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we hope you'll come back asap.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele, Simona and whole Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel! Location is absolutely terrific, staff is very friendly! Gabriele and Mario are wonderful people, they were always very helpful. We lost our luggage for 5 days, and every day they would call the airline to inquire about our luggage. We really appreciated it. Breakfast there was wonderful, great coffee and hot chocolate :) Room was good and clean. The bathroom a little on the small side (not for me, but for my husband who is 6 ft 5), but that is a very minor thing. Considering how old the building was, it was very well kept, beautiful and clean. Overall, we were very lucky to stay at this hotel, would definitely recommend staying and if we are ever in Florence again, we would consider to stay at Hotel Santa Croce again without the second thought!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yelena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Yelena,
we're glad that we were helpful to you to recover lost luggage at the airport.

Thank you for this great review; we're happy you enjoyed all facilities and advises we gave you.

We hope you'll come back as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele, Simona and whole Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce

Property: Hotel Santa Croce
Address: Via De' Bentaccordi, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#33 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Croce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAYING AT HOTEL SANTA CROCE gives the possibility to live a unique experience in the magical atmosphere of Florence. Small but welcoming, Hotel Santa Croce is immersed in the marvellous historical centre, right in the heart of the artistic, cultural and commercial life of the city. The Hotel is situated in an historical building dating back to the 600s and stands on the remains of an ancient Roman amphitheatre. The illustrious Michelangelo Buonarroti spent his childhood years in the adjoining house (there is a marble plaque showing evidence of this on the wall of the first floor). While just a few metres away you can find all of the most important monuments and museums, as well as the most renowned bars for those who would like a taste of the Florentine night-life. Situated only 100 metres from Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Piazza Santa Croce (from where the Hotel's name derives), you can admire the enchanting Basilica where the remains of the greatest artists, writers, poets and scientists in Italian history are buried; we are also just a few steps away from il Duomo, il Battistero, the magnificent Campanile di Giotto and the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore and Santa Maria Novella, not to mention the precious Ponte Vecchio, under which Florence's rushing River Arno flows. Or if you would prefer to dedicate some of your free-time to shopping, you can spend hours walking up and down Via Tornabuoni or Via De Calzaiuoli discovering the best names in Italian, and international fashion. The breakfast room, cosy, warm and welcoming, will help you wake up in the best of moods. There is a 24-hour reception service and staff are always willing to help wherever possible. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Santa Croce ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce Florence
Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing