We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Locandiera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Locandiera
Ranked #70 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

Loved the brackfast. I liked the bathroom. BIT disappoind that i did not have a yougart when it was on the menu. every day. Would of been nice to have a friute opintions.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMeMeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    74
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
129
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

If there is one thing that strikes you about this place, it has to be the ever smiling and friendly owner. Silvia was a huge help in making museum reservations or giving us updates on any public transport strikes, just the warm persona made us feel very welcome. The room was large and comfortable, immaculately clean bathrooms. Breakfast was always served on time, yes the typical Italian sweet toothed breakfast though :). Yummy Cappuccino and home baked muffins. This B&B has a very good location and is steps away from SMN Train station or even the Uffizi (10 min walk). If your feet get sore from incessant walking, yes you will do a lot, a bus stop is very close. When staying though, ask for a room at the back if you sleep light since there is some street noise of passing traffic. Bottomline, our stay was terrific and we would definitely recommend. If and when we revisit Florence, no research needed as I know where I'm heading back to.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TorontonianArv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

La Locandiera was a real find, hidden away in a Florentine stairway. It's been recently done up and the facilities are really chic, smart and clean. We had a roomy double with shuttered windows overlooking a courtyard - very good for the price. The rooms also have new televisions with satellite. La Locandiera is really well positioned for the railway station, car hire, and just a few minutes' walk from the river and historic city centre. There are a few affordable family-cooking-style restaurants nearby, which is useful if you are struggling with the pound/euro rates just now.

Breakfast is served cafe-style in the room at a time that suits you, complete with her Mother's home-made yummy muffins and lovely coffee.

Sylvia is a wonderful hostess, very helpful and calm. She also has an excellent command of English. All of this was needed when I found that I'd lost some critical documents for our journey - she was very helpful in allowing me to use her computer and printer to retrieve everything I needed. She was just great!

La Locandiera really was a find - you should have no concerns booking in here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floralUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

We were over the moon in our family room (one double bed with a single for our teen son). From the bedroom with soaring ceiling, massive closet with shelving, and immaculate housekeeping to the marble bathroom with bidet (!), we were astounded at our good fortune. We found a great place within walking distance from the station at a very affordable price. And Sylvia, the cordial and efficient owner, brings breakfast each morning to your room. What a find!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lduke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

What an excellent find! My partner and I stayed at several places in Italy, including 4-star hotels, and La Locandiera was probably our favorite. This bed & breakfast is small (5 rooms) and has a hallway entrance that leaves something to be desired, but the interior is cheerful and modern. Our double room was spacious, fully equipped, and extremely clean. We had a private bathroom with heating and good water pressure. The toilet was a bit tricky to flush, but that was a minor issue.

Silvia, the hostess, made us feel very welcome. She greeted us with a smile each time we walked by the front desk, and she helped us with things like looking up bus schedules, making museum reservations, etc. One day we met her father, who gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation (Marione on De La Scala -- you will not be disappointed!). I was very satisfied with the service, and with the delicious fruit candies that Silvia leaves out on the desk (I must have swiped several dozen over the course of my four-day stay).

Breakfast was served in our room each morning at a time of our choosing between 8:00 and 10:00. The meal consisted of coffee, juice, toast with various spreads, and additional slices of coffee cake on some days. Nothing grand, but it did the job.

La Locandiera is located 5-10 minutes away from the train station and is also just around the corner from a bus stop, making day trips out of Florence very easy.

I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UnworldlyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

I had a conference at the Palazzo Congressi which was just the other side of the train station from the hotel - 6 minute walk. Ten minutes takes you to all the major sites. This B&B is small (5 rooms) but there is always someone at the desk (the owner lives on site). The owner Sivia is very helpful and speaks good english. Her restaurant rec was excellent (very nice and by far the best value I found on other days). The rooms are large with high ceilings. The TV is small and no english channels. The bathroom is marble. Everything was fixed up 2 years ago. There is a lift. The breakfast - toast, jam, coffee, blood orange juice and a cake is served to your room. All in all a very inexpensive but comfortable experience. Free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyCityTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strawberry Hill
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

Super little b and b located conveniently close to the central station, The communal entrance hall which is used by several apartments is a bit grim but the lovely Sylvia greets you like an old friend and once inside the you immediatley feel at home.Our room was spotlessly clean and having breakfast brought each morning to us in our room was a great treat.We would certainly reccommend this lovely b and b.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence_May_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#134 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#146 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#145 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
I Sleep B&B
I Sleep B&B
#142 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
San Lorenzo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
#42 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#16 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locandiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locandiera

Property: La Locandiera
Address: Via della Scala 48 | First Floor, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Locandiera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Locandiera" is a small and charming bed and breakfast very welcoming and warm, where the modern services goes well with the Florentine style of the essential and classic furnishings, the spacious rooms all recently renovated give a feeling of refined and elegant harmony . The bathrooms are all in marble, the warm wooden floors, the breakfast served every morning in your room, the modern comfort, the hospitality and the desire to make our guests feel at home are all distinctive and exclusive of "La Locandiera" Our goal is to make your stay in Florence an unforgettable one, bringing home a precious souvenir of the city and the satisfaction of having chosen the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your La Locandiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing