We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family stay in Florence”
Review of Residence Hilda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Hilda
Ranked #27 of 672 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great family stay in Florence”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The quality of service was great. The rooms were great for a family of two kids. The quality of beds, the cleanliness were excellent. We felt like home. It is very close to the touristic attractions of Florence. The concierge was very helpful in welcoming us in the middle of the night. The restaurant recommendation they made were superb. Overall it was a great stay in Florence with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks for your nice review and I hope to have you ad your family back with us soon.

My warm regards,

Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    57
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
141
286
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This was just the perfect hotel to stay in, both for families and for a group of friends travelling together. It was clean, it had a modern and new look, the flat/room had a lot of space, was light. It was a grocery shop close to the hotel. It is the best family hotel I have stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tunafishOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you so much!!!! Hope to have you back with us soon.

Warm regards,

Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I used to live in Florence and it's a city close to my heart.
Of course, when you live somewhere, you don't necessarily find out where the good places to stay are and on my many return trips, I've stayed in good, bad and indifferent hotels.
The pressure was on with two infants in tow and a wife who really deserved a relaxing break.
Budgets are limited which tends to hamper choice.
But from the moment we set foot in Residence Hilda, we knew we had found not only a winner but perhaps the best hotel of its kind that we've ever stayed in.
To describe our apartment as a room would be unfair.
It was a suite, larger at 60m2 than some apartments and we joked that it felt like an upmarket New York loft.
The bathroom was superb, the kitchen superbly fitted out every little touch thought of and the bedroom huge.
We looked out on a quiet street and there was a room divider so our older child could sleep separately.
Cots and high chairs had been provided and the staff could not do more for us.
There was free wifi throughout and a superb collection of DVDs so we could enjoy a movie in the evenings when the children went to sleep.
The location was about a five minute stroll from the Duomo but felt far away enough that we were just beyond the hum of tourist noise and cars.
Not that I would look for one, but there simply was nothing to be disappointed about.
For a family, Residence Hilda is perfect.
The staff are lovely, the location superb, the local restaurant provides room service and breakfasts if required and the room had the facilities and wow factor that ensure on every return visit to Florence, we'll stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_W_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
What should I say? Thank you SO much for your enthusiastic review. Hope to impress you with even a better service next time you will be with us.

Warm regards,

Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volterra, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2013

we've stayed in florence many times and used many different hotels, but nothing beats Residence Hilda. the location is perfect - on a quiet little street but a very easy walk (even with a stroller) to everything you want to see. The ambience and decor is magnificent - luxurious and elegant, but very comfortable and welcoming. Clean would be an understatement - it is impeccable.
The amenities are copious and personalized, and the kitchen in the apartment is well-equipped (very user friendly) and immaculate.
But most of all, the family that runs the hotel - Valentina and Francesco - are some of the nicest people I have ever met. They are extremely helpful and so kind.
I cannot recommend Residence Hilda highly enough - it is better than a 5-star hotel, an oasis in the city that feels like home. When we checked out neither I nor our children wanted to leave! it is the best Florence has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank you Annie!!
Hope to see you more often, especially if Sofia makes for me the delicous biscuits she brought last time. Only 5 years old but on the good way to become a top chef!
A kiss to all of you.

Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Such a wonderful stay, with views of the Duomo out our juliet windows. I traveled with my husband and our 15 month old child, so it was nice to have a place that felt like you were in Firenze even from indoors, when our daughter napped during the day and went to bed early at night. Italy is such a great place to travel with kids, and worth it to have a hotel that feels in the heart of it all.

Service is great, but a warning that they practice siesta daily and front desk is not open 24 hours.

Room Tip: Select a room facing Via Servi with juliet balcony windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank you very much. I glad you enjoyed your stay. Our reception and concierge are open 10 hours/day, but we are ALWAYS available on the emergency numbers (two different numbers with two different persons available every day) and we DO come as you call, usually we are at the hotel in 7 minutes...Also, all the alarms (elevator, fire, fornt door, etc.) are connected with our mobiles and a private security service for yur safeness.
Just wish to ensure that even if we are not with you all the time, we take care of you and we are at your assistance anyway.

Hope to have you back soon.

My warm regards,

Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I like the concept of this residence; discrete, with warm welcome, a few steps from Duomo and Academia.

The strongest point of this place is service, from the very first contact the e-mails are being answered within 2 hours, up-dates about events sent few weeks before arrival and proposals to arrange breakfast, tickets, taxi and shopping delivery put forward.

I appreciated to have necessary space ( 55 m2) to spend Christmas and to be able to cook. The appartment was freshly repainted in the spring, the floors were in good shape, the kitchen had all necessary equipment to eat, drink, cook, the satelite Tv was providing many channels, the bedroom was nice with the adequate wardrobe space. The bathroom had a shower, 2 towels per person (changed everything 2nd day, same as linen - everyday changes at extra charge) towel heated rack.

I paid special rate of EUR 190 for a superior suite, which seems to me still too high taking into consideration following facts:

- the heating that was installed in our apartment (no 20) was extremely archaic, in fact it was a noisy hot air blower that was switching on when judged that temperature dropped below one set and switching off when the temperature reached set level. This system was installed in both living and bedroom easily waking up those with light sleep

- the kitchen had just one problem: cooking plate with 2 places - impossible to put at the same time 2 middle seize or big pans, could not squize in so impossible to prepare any fully home cooked meal ( there was, however, a micro to heat up food )

- the windows: even though said to have been changed a few years ago, did not guarantee protection from noise; when the heater was not making noise you could literally hear footsteps on the street. Luckily we were too tired from visitng to listen to all these when falling asleep.

Conclusion: once the above 3 problems fixed, it will be a lovely place to spend your vacation.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travellersfromswitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we were not able to offer you a perfect stay, but sincerely this is the first time that someone finds our kitchens too small. They are smaller than in a normal house, as you are travelling and your Suite were for two people, so two hobs are usually enough to make a full meal for two (we do not even provide big pans, everything is tailored for 2-3 people, including the table and kettle). But we know that sometimes, if you are used to very big kitchens, it's not easy to adapt to something smaller. Unfortunately we do not have the chance to nelarge our kitchens because we would cut off space to the rest of the Suite and our goal is to offer much more space than a normal hotel, with the possibility to cook.
Our A/C-heating system is actually VERY new, with an energy saving system and totally individual. It was built 8 years ago and even if every year something new comes out on the market, it is still a perfectly working plant offering the Guests to adjust their preferred temperature, in winter and summer. Sometimes, if outside is very cold or very hot and you set a too high or too low temperature (there's a gradient between the external and the internal part of the hotels and we still cannot go against physics), the heating starts to work at its maximum. For example, if outside is -5°C and you attempt to have 35 °C inside, it will work at its maximum without never reach the desired temperature because of the dispersion (from the door, the windows, etc.). But usually, if you set a convenient temperature depending on the season (you need to set your own temperature if you wish the system to go up and down with it, otherwise will follow the default settings that moght be not your choice), the fans are gentle and silent.
About the windows, we have the St. Gobain double glasses, the best on the market, and sincerely they let very small noise to get in, but still, you are in the middle of the city. If you close the windows and the shutters I cannot guarantee an absolute silence, but something very close by. Many Guests forget to close the shutters because they don't have them in their countries, but we suggest to do so as our windows are made for shutters too. They are useful against light and noise. And this is a pedestrian area so there's not so much traffic (car's to the hotel, police, a few residents).
Hope to have you with us next time and to be able to demonstrate that, by using appropriately the instruments you have in your Suite, you can sleep much better, cook a full meal and better enjoy your holiday.
Please, our staff is ALWAYS at your assistance, if you find anything you don't like during your stay, PLEASE, report it, because most of the times we can solve the problem for you giving you a better stay.
My best regards,

Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. What a great find! The staff are lovely and very accommodating. The suits are modern, clean and very well equipped. When I visit Florence again I would not hesitate to stay here and have already recommended it to all my friends. If only they had more hotels around the world, how easy it would be as I would always stay with them!!!! Location was excellent, close to the Duomo, train station and supermarkets, so you can cook in the suite which is such a nice change from eating out all the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank you so much.
I promise that we will keep this standard and, if possible, will improve it.
Waiting for your return with us.

Warm regards,

Carlo

P.S. In addition to the supermarkets, there's a delicatessen shop at the corner with delicious Italian cheeses from small farms, special wines and barriqued beers and of course prosciutto, salame, etc.....just a suggestion for a very special meal in your Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 672 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Gamba
Palazzo Gamba
#20 of 301 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 672 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Santa Croce
La Maison du Sage
La Maison du Sage
#8 of 672 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hilda

Property: Residence Hilda
Address: Via Dei Servi 40, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 672 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hilda 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comforts of a hotel in a designer apartment, located 3 blocks away from the main cathedral!At the elegant Residence Hilda you get more privacy than at a 5 star hotel, light and streamlined interiors, designer details conspicuous only by their restraint. All the Suites have teak parquet floors, calm off-white walls, soft beige furnishings and some occasional colour accent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Hilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hilda Florence
Residence Hilda Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing