We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Residence Hilda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Hilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at Residence Hilda as part of a touring holiday of Italy. We were a big group of mixed ages and took four rooms/suites for three nights. All members of our party were absolutely delighted with their rooms which were spacious, airy and beautifully appointed. The bathrooms were large, there was plenty of seating space and the beds were comfortable. It was all tastefully decorated in shades of cream and white and there were nice additional touches such as candles in the living area and bathroom. I think we all thought that we had died and gone to heaven! Staff were extremely helpful and organised parking for our car as well as storing our bags during our last day. RH is an excellent base for exploring Florence and is within easy walking distance of all the main sights and offers independence and quality. You don't have all the extras associated with 5 star hotels but this is not what RH is about. We didn't do the breakfast experience at the OK Bar just over the road, but the few meals/coffees we had there were good and at very fair prices considering the area. We also didn't notice the noise from the street that other reviewers have commented on; however, we did visit in temperatures of 30 degrees plus, so the air conditioning easily masked the outdoors! Book in advance to get a good room rate.

Room Tip: We had one of each of the rooms/suites categories. The basic (complete understatement!) suite was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallileofigaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you so much, I am glad to have offered to you a pleasant stay and hope to have you back for an extra visit to Florence which is small but highly concentrated.

My best regards,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

We traveled for over two weeks in Italy this Summer and we had the opportunity of staying twice in this "residence"...this is more that a hotel - this is a beautiful apartment....clean, modern and convenient to the old area of Florence - El Dormo and the entire old city is right down the block...in addition it was a great value...there is even a small kitchen that you can plan on having breakfast in...on the second stay here they upgraded us to a larger "residence" - it was unbelievable...if you stay anywhere else - you are missing a great experience...this is a must stay while in Florence...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSiblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you so much for your nice words and hope to have you back with us soon.

Warm regards,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier. We had a large one bedroom suite with a kitchenette. Gave us space to spread out and we were able to have breakfast and snacks available. The suite was immaculate and well maintained. The Il Duomo and the surrounding plaza is right down the street. Florence is such a walkable city, it was wonderful to be in the midst of it.

Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

And we look forward to your stay back with us!!

Thank you so much,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We took two suites/apartments over 3 nights and cannot say enough good things about Residence Hilda. We arrived at 8am after a tiring night on the Paris sleeper train and although check-in was 3pm, one of our rooms was ready and we were able to use the beautiful bathroom to freshen-up straightaway. Reception is manned between 8am and 1pm and then 3pm and 8pm so if you intend to arrive outside these times you can get a mobile number to allow access. We had omitted to forewarn the staff that one room needed to have twin beds but this was sorted almost immediately in a very efficient manner. The apartments are bright, airy and spacious. The air-conditioning was absolutely brilliant and never let us down which was crucial for a very hot July in Florence. Everything was spotless with a daily maid service and change of linen on alternate days. Towels can be changed daily but there is a small charge for this. Both of our rooms were situated at the back of the hotel and we had no problems with noise from either the street or neighbouring guests. The Duomo is literally at the end of the street so the location could not have been better for us. The staff happily looked after our luggage for us after check-out right up to 8pm when they kindly arranged our taxi to pick us up from the front door. We loved our stay at Residence Hilda and hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: We had suites sited at the back of the hotel on floors 1 and 4 and have no complaints about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 41PAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you so much and we are looking forward to your stay back with us.

Mt best regards,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Florence was recently the last leg of a month-long European trip and I cannot speak highly enough of the staff at Residence Hilda. Right from the booking process, they were prompt, courteous and efficient and this only improved when we got there. Valentina was wonderful- nothing was too much trouble. She organised a fantastic babysitter while we attended the Andrea Bocelli concert and even brought up a DVD player and ice-cream for our children while we were away. The accomodation as well was central to everything and luxurious. We will definitely return. If you're planning a trip to Florence, look no further!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VashS219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Madame,

your children were so nice, mature and well behaved that we couldn't do otherwise!!

Thanks to you for being such a nice family.

Really hope to have you back with us and see the children.

Warm warm regards,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Residence Hilda is more like a short term apartment than a hotel. The rooms are very large and include kitchenettes that are clean and fully stocked. Very nicely furnished and very clean. If you are looking for a full service hotel, this is not where you want to go as the staff is only on duty at certain times of the day/evening. The location is fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wasabiwabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

the reception is open 10 hours/day, but we are ALWAYS available on our emergency numbers (not only for emergencies, you can consider that numbers as a concierge on call) and never missed to reply to our phones. Also, all the alarms (fire, elevators, etc.) are connected with our emergency numbers and the private security and we are usually at the Hilda in 5-7 minutes from the call.

So, even if we are not at the Hilda physically, we are always connected to our Guests and ready to assist them.

Hope to have you back with us soon.

My warm regards,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I've been fortunate to have traveled on over 100 trips to over 20 different countries around the world. I have to say that our experience at the Residence Hilda was one of the more pleasurable stays I've ever had. The Residence itself is huge, up to date, immaculate, quiet, and conveniently located to anything you would want to do in and around Florence. The staff, Marzanna, Valentina, and Marta, were all extremely helpful and accommodating. We left Florence and went on to a five star hotel in Monte Carlo, which didn't compare. in my opinion. We will definitely return someday, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Our stay at Residence Hilda enhanced our entire trip to Florence.

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms, period, but I don't think you could go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

What to say? I thank you so much for your nice words. I look forward to your stay back with us and I hope we will be even better for when you come back.

My best regards,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,458 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 410 in Florence
416 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 410 in Florence
413 reviews
Duomo
Granduomo Charming Accomodation
Pitti
Residence Palazzo Belfiore
Residence Palazzo Belfiore
#1 of 326 in Florence
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hilda

Address: Via Dei Servi 40 | San Marco - Santissima Annunziata, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 326 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: £110 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hilda 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comforts of a hotel in a designer apartment, located 3 blocks away from the main cathedral!At the elegant Residence Hilda you get more privacy than at a 5 star hotel, light and streamlined interiors, designer details conspicuous only by their restraint. All the Suites have teak parquet floors, calm off-white walls, soft beige furnishings and some occasional colour accent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Hilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hilda Florence
Residence Hilda Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing