We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel near a busy and loud street.”
Review of Hotel Cavaliere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cavaliere
Ranked #356 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I only booked this hotel as opposed to others in this price range because it said online that it had WIFI in the rooms. It did not, which was very disappointing. The closest internet cafe was a 10 minute walk. The hotel itself is very basic. The single rooms are tiny, the size of a walk-in closet in the US. My room was facing a busy street that had traffic going throughout the whole night, making it very difficult to sleep. The breakfast was also very basic, as cheap as one could get, comprised of: croissants, bread, jam, orange juice, coffee, and more crackers/bread. The people were, like the hotel, basically nice, just the minimum.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler57110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2007

Stayed at Hotel Cavaliere in October 2007. Charming little hotel in the traditional style. Accommodation is basic but adequate - after all, you don't go to Florence to laze by a pool!
It is situated very close to the River Arno so bring mosquito cream; it is a good 40 minutes walk from the historic centre [not what the hotel's web site says!] but a number 23 bus will take you right into the pedestrianised area around the famous Duomo. Bus stop is about 100m away by the pasticceria [not the first stop you come to, walking with your back to the river]; tickets from the bar nearby.
The bedroom and shower room were adequately sized and traditionally furnished, which meant a very tall wardrobe. Each room has its own laptop with cheap but slow internet access. The tiny breakfast room had only 4 tables and a mini-buffet serving the standard cold continental breakfast, but there were more tables available in the reception/coffee bar area.
For those coming by car there is public parking in the square in front of the hotel, except on the one night of the week when the street sweeper calls in the early hours - read the signs carefully!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sunshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

Don't believe the claims that this is a 3-star Hotel. It is barely a two star with a well appointed bathroom (although there are ceiling panels missing and soap scum on theshower glass). In a country renowned for its love of food there are very few restaurants within walking distance but there are plenty of motor cycle and car workshops if that's your thing!! The location is apalling for anyone relying on walking (and believe me, I have happily walked many kilometres in other lcations). Que sera - we can't always be lucky with sites booked off the net.

On a positive note the one and only staff member I encountered on checkin (and all evening) was very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SWFAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights as a swf traveller and really enjoyed my stay. Money was ultimately the deciding factor during my trip and I found Cavaliere on a discount webite for about 35 euro a night including breakfast - during the holiday season!

Best bits: the hotel was clean, the furnishings were classy and old-style (not in a falling-apart way), my single room wasn't just a closet with a bed in it and I had my own private bathroom, I had a nice view out of my double door window, there was free wifi in my room (!), water was hot, and it was cosy and comfortable and there was aircon. The guy on reception was cute, too.

The not best bits: breakfast was rather notional - little bread rolls, coffee, cereal; there was an almost dormitory-like need to get me out of the room come 9.30am every morning so someone could clean (I like to sleep in); and it was at least a 30 minute walk to the centre of Florence.

The room was small, but as a single traveller you come to both expect and accept this, plus high ceilings lend the feeling of space, as did the light from the window. It was big enough for one person - I don't know how big the double rooms were.

The distance to town didn't bother me since I had hired a bicycle for 25 euro for 5 days (you can actually 'hire' bikes for free in Florence - they have this government initiative thing) and riding along the Arno every afternoon was one of the most enjoyable parts of my stay in Florence - definitely allowed me to see a side to the city I never would have seen on foot or on a bus. The cobblestones don't make for the smoothest ride, so park your beast somewhere and walk around until ready to move to the next place. Outside the old town are many paved bike tracks, however. The traffic is crazy, but this is good because if you're a novice rider like me you stand out less.

Also, the Cavaliere is 700 years old or something like that - true old-school architecture to withstand the floods!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Tristans_friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2006

We had no complaints about this hotel. Our room was at the back on the 2nd floor and there was a small lift so no stairs to worry about. Room was spacious and the bathroom was well appointed. Everything was extremely clean. The bed was comfortable and the room very, very quiet. There is free internet access if you are carrying your own laptop. Not the most convenient location for walking but once we figured out the bus service it was not a problem. The breakfast was the usual basic Italian fare which was adequate. For a 3 star hotel and considering the price we paid on a last minute deal website, we were rapt. Would recommend as very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ffabio89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank martinaboscolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#202 of 410 in Florence
594 reviews
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#236 of 410 in Florence
424 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#214 of 410 in Florence
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Le Rondini
#278 of 410 in Florence
410 reviews
Hotel Ferrucci
#206 of 410 in Florence
506 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#58 of 410 in Florence
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavaliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavaliere

Address: Piazza Ravenna 16, 50126, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavaliere 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cavaliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavaliere Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing