We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and elegant”
Review of Hotel Crocini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Crocini
Ranked #96 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel Crocini is a comfortable place to stay in an elegant part of Florence. The street has little traffic since part is blocked to restrict access to the American embassy. Only one block from the Arno and beautiful and extensive public parks. The common facilities of the entrance, halls and dining areas have a splendid grandeur about them and are always nice to come home to. The room was satisfactory and overlooked a green courtyard. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable we had experienced in 5 weeks of European travel. Room could have been enchanced with more modern furniture and a kettle but it was quiet and clean. Breakfast was good but lacked any hot dishes. Staff went out of their way to assist. Lorenzo was a font of knowledge and insights. All in all deserves much more than 2 stars.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank andrzej m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Direttore at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear andrzej m
thank you for your review and for your suggestions, as many guests were asking for more hot dishes from last week we are serving eggs and other food, our buffet is now getting better :)
I hope to see you soon again at the Crocini!
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hotel crocini is stationed a lane across the river Arno at the northern end. It is just about a km from Santa Maria Novella. Its within an old heritage structure and an excellent attempt at preserving the heritage (from the 18th century looking lift to the grand breakfast hall) is made. The breakfast is complimentary! Clean big rooms with old old furniture. We didn't get a double bed, 2 beds were joined instead! The service is fabulous. Since whole of Florence is walkable, distance is not such an issue. All in all for 100
euros a night... A little pricy!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nayakprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dera nayakprakash
thank you so much for your review, Eddy wants to thank you for your nice words :)
I look forward to welcome you again in our beautiful city!
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's the perfect place to stay in Florence. You are close to most of the attractions without getting caught in the ZTL. Staff is fantastic. They will help you with anything you need. On foot, you may have to walk a little bit more, but isn't this why you travel? To get to know the cities.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Dani Y
thank you for you nice review, you got exactly the right philosophy of our Hotel :)
I look forward to welcome you again here at the Crocini.
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We just returned from our vacation and would like to say that overall we are satisfied. First let me start with the location, a bit of a walk towards everything.(for a person like me who loves walking it is perfect, would not say the same for my wife though) Second, the rooms are nice,clean and huge. The bathroom though would need a little bit more cleaning and more water pressure. Next, the transportation options is limited but easily accessible. Finally, the Staff are nice and friendly, we got a lot of information from the reception.(courtesy of the ever so Famous Mr. Lorenzo). Although, we loved our stay there is one things that is worth mentioning a bit of information for travelers, the lift is pretty small it would only fit 3 luggage and a person, but most of the hotels in Europe are the same, so no biggie. For a family you might have to take multiple trips. I cant say this enough we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hostel to friends planning to visit Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0serichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear j0serichard,
thank yoy for your nice review, it has been a pleasure to welcome you and your family! Our elevator has been added many years after the palace has been builded, exactly in 1930: at that time they used to "insert" the elevators in the middle of the exixsting stairways. There is really no way to have a larger one :(
I hope to see you again the next time :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for a total of four nights. It was a rather long walk to station for senior citizen me and I walk lots. The tram near the hotel was great and took us to train station which is in the center of the city. Also walked to Duomo etc.from Crocini Loved that hotel was out of midtown as it was quiet and restful with seating in the courtyard for breakfast where a variety of selections were fair. It is near the Arno River and on the same block as a military facility so we felt very safe. The front desk folks were extraordinary, marking routes on maps etc. Two laptops available for guests to use in lobby area and free wifi in rooms. Florence was very HOT and the AC hung in there. I would return to Hotel Crocini.

Room Tip: I didn't see an elevator but we stayed on 2nd floor so it wasn't a problem. Wide carpeted s...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Colonial1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Colonial1607,
thank fo sharing your experience! Actually the "military facility" is only the U.S. General Consulate, and it makes the neighborhood really very safe and quiet, you're right.
I look forward to welcome you again!
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Everything you want in a hotel at this price. Breakfast is good, rooms a huge, staff are overwhelmingly friendly, location is good, not too far out of center town. A/C works well which you really need cause Florence in so hot in summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Luke
thank you so much for your nice review :) August is the warmest month on the year here in Florence and after one day walking up and down this wonderful town it's really necessary to find a cool place to rest, if this is at a reasonable rate it's even better!
I look forward to your next visit :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We loved the Hotel Crocini. Yes, the furnishings are a tad dated and spartan, but it was spotlessly clean! The A/C was divine, especially since we were in Florence during the hottest time of year! It was quiet, in a nice neighborhood. We walked everywhere. It's only a fifteen minute walk to most of the main sites in Florence. The breakfast was superb. I couldn't believe how much food they provided!--meats and cheeses, yogurt, cold cereal, fruit juice, fresh fruits, croissants, rolls, pound cake, etc. We filled up at breakfast so we wouldn't have to spend a lot of money on lunch while we were out exploring. The staff were all totally professional and really nice. In fact, one morning we had a reservation at a museum before the official breakfast time at the hotel. I mentioned it to the night staff and the next morning, the breakfast staff had put together a bag full of food for us! Also, they let us store our luggage in their lobby (which is very secure) on the day we checked out since we weren't actually leaving Florence until later in the day. This is a fantastic place! And very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thursowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear thursowick,
thank you very much for your very nice review, it's wondeful to read your satisfaction and it's really motivating all of us to do our best :)
Grazie Mille, I look forward to see you the next time here in Florence!
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#136 of 411 in Florence
674 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 411 in Florence
422 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 411 in Florence
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#107 of 411 in Florence
925 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#95 of 411 in Florence
788 reviews
Hotel Villa Betania
#86 of 411 in Florence
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crocini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crocini

Address: Corso Italia 28, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#79 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Business Hotel in Florence
#102 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £44 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crocini 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Crocini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing