We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved by the Staff”
Review of Hotel Crocini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Crocini
Ranked #92 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Saved by the Staff”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

After two full weeks of reasonable, comfortable accommodations all over Italy, I have to admit that we were expecting much more out of a stay for the price. The shower was incredibly tiny, the beds were uncomfortable, and the promised WiFi was intermittent at best. It was a hike from the city center and although reasonably priced, we just didn't feel like we got nearly the value we were promised. This hotel is saved from a 2 rating by its very friendly and accommodating staff -- they went out of their way to make this experience the best it could be -- and the on-site parking but we were decidedly underwhelmed by this place.

I recommend paying a bit more for a better night's sleep and a more convenient location in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Katie M
the Crocini Staff is proud to have saved the Hotel!! :)
Thank you for your visit and for your feedback... unfortunatly I really can't move the hotel closer to the pedestrian area where I understand you would have liked been to be hoste - but actually being arrived in Florence by car you could have not... without many, believe me, many troubles and crazy valet parking rates - but I thank you very much for your comment and your other critics, I will do my best to improve the Hotel as I always do since 18 years I am running it, promised!
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    318
    86
    15
    4
See reviews for
162
360
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heber City, Utah
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The staff was so helpful and friendly. The rooms are in need of some updating but overall it was great! It is just off the river and within walking distance to the center and Firenze activity. We went dancing one night and when we got back the place was dark and locked up; we had to wake up the night man to get in. Great rate and exactly what we were looking for!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenswag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Brenswag,
thank you very much for your feedback :)
We offer a 24 hours service but at night, when we know that everybody is arrived and all the guests are back in their room and sleeping, we close the main door, just to avoid noises and people entering the palace without title :)
This is the reason why we kindly ask to alla our guests to leave their room keys at the reception when they are out, just to know who's in and who's out, your key was not here, that's all.... but we opened the doors to you anyway, sorry for the time you had to wait :)
We are very happy to read that we met your expectations!
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamy, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in October and were very pleased. The rooms are very large and are furnished with antique and /or collectible furniture. The breakfasts were outstanding! In addition, the staff was excellent. The hotel is situated on a quiet street, yet you can walk to the center of the city in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Judy R
We are very proud to read your review, meeting your expectations is our best satisfaction.
I look forward to welcome you again at the Crocini.
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Noarlunga, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights in mid November. Arrived 2 hours before checkin but the staff were great and let us into our room straight away (twin room). We had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard, very large with high ceilings and extremly clean! The location of the hotel is about 15minutes walk away from the centre of Florence but we thought it was nice walking along the river at night and didnt mind it one bit! The staff were very helpful with giving directions and advice and there are computers in the hotel reception area you can use to book and print tickets which was convient! I would def stay here again and recommend to friends and family!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear AlisonCatherine
I think it's important to make our guests feeling like at home, computers and printers ready 24 hours and for free are an important part of this feeling :)
I look forward to see you again in my beautiful city
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My new wife and I spent 3 days here and were more than satisfied. Our room was HUGE and i mean HUGE! The ceilings were like 15 feet high! We had a window that opened to the back area which was quite and filled with birds. The hotel staff was very nice and spoke great english. The hotel if very secure and you can only get in if your buzzed in by the staff. The breakfast had meats, cheeses, coffee, breads, yogurt, fruit, juice etc... My only complaint is that it was a bit of a walk to the main attractions but you get to walk along the river which made it not seem so bad. Would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear M Z
thank you very much for your comments, our standard rooms are really 15 fts high, when this palace was builded space was not a problem at all ;)
I look forward to your next visit
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a double room with a private bathroom (with a tub - a nice bonus) just at the top of the stairs. It had a big balcony window that opened up into the court yard. The only downside of the balcony window was that the smokers sit just outside and the smoke drifts into the room. The room was basic, not modern, but good for our needs as it was quiet and comfortable. The staff were very good and helpful, giving us suggestions for dinner nearby (The Rotunda), holding our bags until our room was ready and we were able to pay the city tourist tax on our credit card rather than in cash. We were also impressed by the self-serve breakfast buffet. It was much more extensive than the usual Italian continential breakfast and included some hot food, meat, cheese, croissants and fruit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear LTLW
thank you for your review and your suggestions. This is a non smoking hotel so those who want to smoke are forced to go outside and sometimes they seat down at the tables in front of the breakfast room... I will think about a no smoking area outside.
Florence is looking forward to welcome you again ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We enjoyed our time in Florence much more this time around and having a nice place to return to in the evening was part of that. The walk from the train station was a bit more than we expected but in the end, the location was very good. We loved the old-world charm of the place. Our room was a bargain special so the bathroom was down the hall, although it was Priviato! It resembled a head on a small boat more than a hotel bathroom. This was especially funny since we had read a blog about such facilities just the night before. The shower head was positioned between the toilet and sink and the curtain sort of encircled the space but the entire bathroom got soaked when you showered. The hand held wand shower head was definitely a good idea! We had to think creatively to keep the towel and clothes dry while showering and a plastic grocery sack hung on the window knob solved the problem. For two nights you can live with anything that is clean and safe and it certainly has given us stories to tell! Breakfast was deluxe however, it was the first cooked breakfast food we had in 2 weeks. We had to check out early and were given a breakfast bag to take along - it was enough food for 2 meals!

Room Tip: If the bathroom is not your idea of fun, qualify what a private bathroom really is and go with a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parishfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear parishfm
thank you for your review, you are a real smart traveller and you perfectly understoud the philosophy of our budget rooms :)
I hope to welcome you again in this beautiful town.
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#95 of 422 in Florence
734 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#146 of 422 in Florence
303 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#141 of 422 in Florence
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#87 of 422 in Florence
888 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#175 of 422 in Florence
485 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#151 of 422 in Florence
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crocini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crocini

Property: Hotel Crocini
Address: Corso Italia 28, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#81 Business Hotel in Florence
#102 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#117 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crocini 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Crocini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing