We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”
Review of Hotel Crocini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Crocini
Ranked #92 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Ah Hotel Crocini. Not the most luxurious, not the most extravagant BUT overall it is a great place to stay in Florence. First of all the location is great. Very close on foot to the city center, but in a very quiet and safe street. Second, old but very clean. Third, staff and owner are very friendly. Fourth, has a very safe parking especially for people like me who travel by motorcycles. Have stayed there 3 times and plan to go again this summer, will never go to another hotel in Florence. The value for money is amazing. See you soon Lorenzo:)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bergos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    318
    86
    15
    4
See reviews for
162
360
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Hotel Crocini shares its street with the US Consulate and the community theater and by virtue of that fact is located in a pretty quiet area of the city. The people are charming and generally speak English which was helpful when discussing issues like where to park our rental car etc. The room had the highest ceilings I have ever seen (seriously, they were probably at least 20ft high) and the key was an honest to God skeleton key like you'd see at an antique store but it still locked the door no problem. Breakfast was a nice variety of pre packaged pastry, lunch meat, cheese and different drinks and aside from the hot water in the shower taking a very long time to warm up (a fairly common trait in old buildings) it was a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonelypassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2010

a very safe area, great location (about 15 min. walk from smn train station), very quiet, ask for a room facing the garden (although the street side is not noisy as well), breakfast is great, more than we expected, staff is very kind, welcoming, helpfull, all are speaking good english, they gave us great recommendations. lorenzo the manager is soooo cool and friendly. he gave us all the information we needed and more. we felt at home. rooms are cozy. toilette and shower small but very clean, towels are changed every other day, no big mirror in the room (normal size mirror in bathroom), but some big mirrors on the corridor. mattress are tooo soft. central heating, we have been told that some rooms will have air condition from december 2010, elevator for the suitcases was very helpfull. all in all it was absolutly a good surprise concerning the price we paid. we also liked the coffee shop- 1 minute away..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suztapuz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We stayed there for 3 nights. The staff was really helpful and this was the only best thing about the hotel. They tried to show us where to eat, where to visit in all time we asked. Wi-fi was also available in the rooms and that was also great! Room and the bathroom were always clean. Otherwise, I do not think the hotel actually have two stars since the corridor as well as the rooms need a real refurbishment such as bathtub with full of rust, broken window hinge, a mirror not even reflect an object right in front etc. I understand that the hotel is tried to be antiquated but a little refurbishment would definitely give the meaning of two stars. Breakfast, on the other hand, is poor enough like all in Italy. If oyu keep your expectations low, you may survive...But the coffee was nice. To sum, you just get what you pay for at the end of the day..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, 4 December 2010
Dear Guest,
I am very happy to know that you "survived" Hotel Crocini somehow :^)
I am pleased to announce that on december 8th this hotel will close for refurbishment, we will renew 7 of our 20 rooms with new forniture, new doors, LED 32" tv, air conditioning, minibar and other details, first step of a total refurbishment.
I'm happy also to know that you liked my suggestions for the restaurants, it is very important for me to give good hints to my guests.
Thank you for your feedback and for the opportunity you gave me to tell about the incoming refurbishment to the Tripadvisor's readers, I hope to accomodate you again in the future in our upgraded rooms.
Lorenzo Peroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

My sister and I went on our first ever Sisters-Only trip to Europe. Needless to say, we both loved the experience and Italy.

Staying in Florence for 4 days was a very good decision! And so was booking at Hotel Crocini, at the affordable price we paid! The hotel staff were very helpful; their breakfast buffet from 8am-10am was more than adequate (they served Tiramisu one morning that I could not get enough of), location can't be beat! It is far enough from the downtown area to avoid the throng of tourists, but still close enough to just walk to it and all the attractions as well.

Word of caution: This is an old building, and it smells like it. It has that old world smell, similar to when you open an old bookcase with old books in , sort of a musty smell. It did not bother us that much though because the smell is limited mainly in the corridors leading to the elevator and within the corridors to the rooms. Once inside the room, the smell is not as strong plus opening the windows eliminates it altogether.

Corso Italia, the street the hotel is on, also has the American embassy at the end of the street so there was always Military Police on post at any time of the day or night which made our walking back to the hotel, even in the evenings, quite safe and pleasant. Plus, the River Arno is just a stone's throw away, it's pretty nice to take a walk or run along the river and have the hotel within close walking distance. Picturesque as heck! =)

We stayed in Room # 21 which was very large, ultra high-ceiling (by american standards) , had a very cute little balcony good for 2 people to stand on, overlooking the garden/parking lot, our room was quite airy when you open the windows and most importantly it was very quiet. The beds were soft and comfy, enough table/counter space to put your stuff on. There is a small TV with basic cable (found only 1 channel in English) , the bathroom was well equipped, quite large in terms of square footage BUT the shower stall itself was very small. I could hardly fit in it and I am a relatively mid-sized Asian woman. Thankfully I was not traveling with my hubby, otherwise, he would not be able to get in that shower stall at all. This is definitely the one thing hotel management should look into improving.

Internet was a little bit pricey @ 1 euro for 15 mins, 3 euros for 60 minutes and 5 euros for 120 minutes. A few other hotels we looked in the area at were offering 1 euro per hour of internet use. However, if is worth noting that the hotel did offer free wifi connection for those who brought their own laptops. So that's a definite plus.

The hotel staff was great, very helpful with questions about where to go, where to eat, buy groceries etc. Having 24/7 staff manning the front desk is invaluable especially for us since we had an early flight out of Firenze and they kindly helped us with booking taxi ride arrangements at 4am. Over all a good experience and I would stay there again, if on the same limited budget. Other than the bathroom/shower stall being small, this is a property I would recommend to my friends/family.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lulai55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westende
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

When the airport was closed because of the erruption of the vulcano in Iceland the owner of this hotel was very kindly en helpfull to propose another date. We had, as we asked for, a very quit room and the staff was realy friendly. Every morning a very complete breakfast buffet. On walking distance the old city with a lot of restaurants and pubs and the river Arno. Also nearby the bus- and trainstation where you can by cheap tickets for going to Siena, Pisa, Luca...a.o. We stayed 10 days but there is so much to see that we'll go back! And than we'll take the same hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reizenwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The owner of the hotel gave us great advices, saved us plenty of time in the Ufizzi Museum.The hotel has its own privet and secured parking-specially important in a city like Florence-driving there is a nightmare.
Breakfast more that expected from hotel which is ranked 2 stars.
Should be renovated though- there are some building-problems.
Great value for money!should be ranked as 3 stars for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odedbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#95 of 422 in Florence
734 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#146 of 422 in Florence
302 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#141 of 422 in Florence
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#87 of 422 in Florence
888 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#175 of 422 in Florence
485 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#151 of 422 in Florence
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crocini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crocini

Property: Hotel Crocini
Address: Corso Italia 28, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#81 Business Hotel in Florence
#102 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#117 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crocini 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Crocini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing