We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long way out of Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Convitto della Calza
Ranked #351 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Dhaka
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Long way out of Florence”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

True to it's history of a Convent, the place offers basic accommodation. I would have thought that for the price we paid, it would be a bit nicer .... but I guess it was part of the Summer pricing madness.

The hotel is quite a bit away from the city centre. So, if you are arriving late to the train station, you may need to get a Taxi, costing you somewhere near 15 Euros. While everything in Florence is about 10 minutes away from each other, it may be a 20-30 minutes walk from the hotel to reach the city centre - just a measure of why I call it far from the city centre.

The rooms are tiny. The bathroom is quite large in comparison. But a striking feature was that the shower enclosure inside the bathroom was so small that even for a slightly built person as me, moving my arms around was a challenge. If you are big, either find out whether they have a room with a large shower area or you don't want to be in this hotel.

Breakfast is basic and served efficiently. Don't expect room service or in room mini bar. You can of course buy water from the reception desk where the staff are always helpful and friendly. Wifi is free and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzizDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    62
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
20
52
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is a long walk up hill from the center of Florence. The room was furnished in old basic style. The bath was one of those with the drain in the middle of the bathroom floor, so the whole floor gets wet when you take a shower. But it did have a heated towel rack! The front desk staff were sufficiently pleasant. To me, the best thing about this hotel was the breakfast. There was a fairly good selection and you could make your own cup of coffee which made refills easy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingon1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a horrible hotel. My husband's conference booked us at this hotel. Trust me it is not even close to three stars as listed. How do I start to list how terrible this place is? The hallways are dark and the rooms have very little light. They are more like cells than rooms. There is no ac this time of year so if you are hot, too bad. You can open your window and hear the charming sounds of constant traffic or close it and your room is hot and dark. This is more like a hostel and the worst place I have ever stayed. No amenities whatsoever. No shampoo, soap, tissues, etc. when i ask the front desk for tissues, he said they don't have any and to use toilet paper? Really? we had to ask for a glass for water. Breakfast was ok--cereal, yogurt, pastries, espresso machine. We are searching for another place to stay at this very moment. Did I mention the unpleasantness of the front desk? Also, the closet is in a small hall of the room and when you open the doors you don't have room to move. Currently, none of the lights in the room will turn on. Also, my husband took the room key with him when he went to work and you cannot lock the door without it so I asked the front desk for another key and was told they only have one key. We have stayed all over Europe and are aware the rooms are small and we can live with that, but this is ridiculous. If you decide to stay here, you have only yourself for your unhappiness. This place is a pit.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rp917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albatrax, Direttore at Convitto della Calza, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,
sono molto spiacente per il vostro sfortunato soggiorno nella nostra struttura , dove sembra che quasi tutto sia andato male! Di questo vi chiedo scusa, perchè un cliente non soddisfatto non mi fa certo piacere. Di fatto , noi siamo una Casa per Ferie (Holiday House) , che ha i servizi di un tre stelle (prima colazione, aria condizionata, asciugacapelli, cassaforte, bagno, ecc. ),particolare che i siti on line spesso non specificano. Le nostre camere sono state ricavate dalle antiche celle dei frati che hanno soggiornato in questa struttura per secoli in passato e pertanto - è vero come lei dice - non sono grandissime, tuttavia essenziali e spartane, ma dotate dei minimi comforts standard. Trovo strano che "nessuna" luce della camera si accendesse. Penso che bastava chiedere alla reception per sostituire una lampadina, cosa non impossibile. Spero di fare di tutto per evitare che in futuro il nostro hotel debba di nuovo essere definito una "fossa" da un cliente (forse è un errore di traduzione?). Mentre la ringrazio per le sue osservzioni, le chiedo anche di leggere le altre 51 recensioni che ci rendono un pò più giustizia. Grazie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Spent three nights here with my partner and we couldn't really fault it.

Staff were very friendly and the rooms (if a little basic) were clean. Breakfast was good with all the stuff you need to fuel up for the day (cereals, croissants, yoghurt, cold meats, tea/coffee etc.).

The hotel itself is about a 10 minute walk to the city centre with various shops on the way to pick up lunch supplies/ water etc.

Only minor issue was the generator in the courtyard which meant we had to sleep with the windows closed and air con on but given that it was sweltering this wasn't a massive problem.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the generator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichClarke1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Hotel Convitti della Calza is a former monastery & it showed from the minute you arrive at reception. Reception was warm & welcoming, though had very limited english. The first thing that you noticed was the width & size of the corridors they were huge. The room was very spatan with extremely basic furniture just as the monks would have had, however the room was clean & the bed comfortable. It had a flat screen TV & was also airconditioned. Wifi was unlimited & free. Breakfast was good & plentiful with cereals, croissants, breads, meat, cheese, yogut, fruit, juices & coffee. The Hotel seemed more of a convention/conference centre then a hotel proper & it was probally too far from the centre of Florence for most tourists. We stayed for the one night as our B&B was close by & were unable to stay their on that due day. However for a one night stay Hotel Convitto is not a bad option.

Room Tip: Rooms facing internal couryard garden are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This hotel used to be a monastery and it has a lovely internal garden with cloisters all around. The rooms were very clean, although basic, and the beds were comfortable. It is in a nice area about 15 minutes walk to the Ponte Vecchio. The breakfast was good with fresh croissants, youghurt, fruit, etc and excellent coffee! The only downside was mosquitos (even in May!) but the rooms had anti-mosquito plug-ins. Note that the hotel is used as a religious retreat so you may come across prayer groups in and around the hotel, but to us that just added to the charm

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room looking onto the internal garden as the rooms facing the road can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafrenchchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

It is a lovely place with a wonderful court yard. The rooms are spartan, but adequate and the whole place is clean. Corridors are very long and tiled, so anyone talking will echo down and could be an issue for light sleepers. Staff are lovely. Breakfast is ok, although we had a few times quite stale croissants/bread. But, and this is a big but, you can not get even a glass of water in the place and have to walk to a shop a few min away to purchase bottles or cans if you want any refreshment apart from breakfast. Not really what you want to do when you had a 12 hours journey getting there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2nightowl432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Annalena
#215 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Le Due Fontane
Hotel Le Due Fontane
#233 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#176 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Meridiana
#274 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Il Terrazzino su Boboli
#52 of 303 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
La Terrazza Su Boboli
#81 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convitto della Calza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convitto della Calza

Property: Convitto della Calza
Address: Piazza della Calza 6, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Convitto della Calza 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Convitto della Calza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing