We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location!”
Review of Alex House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alex House
Ranked #560 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome location!”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable facilities. Has everything you need to make your trip easy and hassle free., Great location ,walking distance to many tourist spots!!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jasmine187331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    10
    6
    17
See reviews for
13
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

It was completely awful. We arrived at 2:30PM after letting them know we'd arrive between 2 and 3. There was nobody there. We had to call the manager and wait outside for 15 minutes just to check in in the middle of the afternoon. We booked a double bed -- they gave us a room with two single beds of uneven height, so we couldn't even push them together to yield a bigger bed.

The room we stayed in was tiny, cold, and ugly. The building it was in -- a building separate from reception -- was downright scary. There were two books in the building -- an Italian White Pages and a Guidebook of Italy. The White Pages had a crushed cockroach on the bottom cover. The Guidebook was missing the pages on Florence. There were no towels. From the room we were in, you could hear everything occurring both outside on the streets and in the other rooms in the building -- and we had the window closed. I am not a light sleeper, and it was impossible to sleep for more than a couple hours at a time due to the noise from outside.

The woman working at the front desk was nice enough. The location is very good. That's about all there is to say on the positive side. The room cost 80 Euros. Buy a big cardboard box, station it outside the Duomo, and save yourself 78 Euros. The experience would be pretty similar. In all seriousness, do not stay here. Splurge an extra 20 Euros for a real hotel -- it will be worth it. We considered just packing up and finding a new hotel, and considering the 80 Euros sunk cost. If Florence weren't so amazing, this place would be enough to ruin a vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodofilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2005

Alex House, Florence, Italy.
Great location! Hundred steps from Uffizi and 300 yards from Santa Croce. A bit noisy in the night, when crowds were getting from one place to another. We stayed there in September 2005. Booked with HostelPlanet.
We met younger receptionist only when checking in and out. We had a key to the room and the gate, complete freedom. It is more the apartament than hotel room. Small living room with fridge (!) and two rooms plus bathroom. We paid for "ensuite" and "owned" the bathroom (locked). Second room was occupied only for one night.
Clean room and bathroom - no AC.
I also recommend Trattoria Anita, close by. Excellent food and nice service (closed on Monday).

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2005

I was a bit worried about this accommodation before we arrived because it was the cheapest hotel in our 5 week trip and it hadn't been reviewed in trip advisor. I need not have worried! the hotel was in a fantastic location, only steps from the Duomo and all the sights of Florence.

We had the family room with a double bed and 2 singles. the room was very large, spotlessly clean, had plenty of cupboard space and included a small table and chairs in an alcove. The bathroom was large with a shower big enough for two.
The room wasn't luxurious - the floor had tiles rather than carpet and wasn't airconditioned,( the fan didn't cover all 3 beds no matter how much we adjusted it!) There wern't many rooms and not all had ensuites so I would book early. I don't think there would be better value in Florence.

Helpful?
Thank rep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Fiorino
Hotel Fiorino
#202 of 411 in Florence
256 reviews
Hotel Alex
#232 of 411 in Florence
248 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#40 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Nel Cuore di Firenze Guesthouse
Uffizi
B&B San Remigio
B&B San Remigio
#42 of 640 in Florence
142 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B Righi in Santa Croce
B&B Righi in Santa Croce
#194 of 640 in Florence
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex House

Property: Alex House
Address: Borgo dei Greci 13, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #560 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing