We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alex House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alex House
Ranked #561 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Hostel Greci was an amazing find! The location is ideal for sightseeing and shopping in Florence.. everything is around a 10min walk from the hostel. My partner & I stayed 3 nights &had no problems. Staff were very friendly &helped us navigate our way around. The rooms were huge & clean! If we ever return to Florence, which I hope we do, we would definitely stay and recommend this place. One word of warning.. if you happen to get the room near where the main door opens, you will get woken in the night/early morning from people coming& going. We did& it was a bit annoying! Otherwise, lovely!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    10
    5
    16
See reviews for
13
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hostel staff is awesome! They really make you feel at home, and make it easy for solo travellers like me to meet new people. The hostel is very well located, it is within a walking range of all the main turistic attractions. I would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livorno, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

AMAZING time at Alex House. Feels like staying at a friend's house because the staff members are so young, friendly, and sociable. Small hostel with 1 main common area, where everyone pretty much has to meet each other. Rooms are spacious.Good wifi, cool people, great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The location is just wonderful. close to the Uffizi and everything else in Florence. And there are a great library in the hotel.
The room was clean and comfortable relatively spacious for a Florence hotel and well equipped complete with books, a Nespresso machine and decent water pressure in the shower. The staff was helpful when engaged .
I would recommend staying at this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the separate small apartment with adress Via Magalotti, just around the corner from the hostel itself. The standard was ok considering the price and our late booking (clean sheets, ok beds, two very cramped rooms and an interesting solution to building a bathroom in a very old house) and the location is very central. And of course you must accept some amount of night-time noise when staying in this kind of lodging. But - big but - after two nights we had itching bug bites and identified bed-bugs (vägglöss) in the bigger room. Also the hotelier did not show up to help out as promised with phoning for a cab on our departure (to be fair it was extremely early).

Room Tip: The apartment has bed bugs. Don't know about the hostel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Venice, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This place is awesome. On our Euro Trip we were used to taking the metro to the places we wanted to see, but not this one. You are in the middle of everything! The room was great and the price was affordable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us a map and started circling all the must-see things from the get-go.

Room Tip: apartment palazzo vecchio view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

The location was great. It's around the corner from one of the main streets for restaurants/bars and a few minutes walk from the major sights (Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Vecchio, etc.) The area is very safe and the room/bathroom is clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was no kitchen, but there was a table and fridge in the common area. Wi-Fi was slow and the room was cold, but other than that it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Fiorino
Hotel Fiorino
#219 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Duomo
B&b Casa di Dante
B&b Casa di Dante
#381 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Pitti
Soggiorno Pitti
Soggiorno Pitti
#488 of 659 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Cestelli
Hotel Cestelli
#211 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#22 of 297 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Uffizi
Nel Cuore di Firenze Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex House

Property: Alex House
Address: Borgo dei Greci 13, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #561 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing